We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Paradise? YES” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Marrakech le Riad to your Saves list
Club Med Marrakech le Riad
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A piece of Paradise? YES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just returned from what has been an amazing week at Le Riad.
It was my second stay at Club Med Marrakech, having spent a week at la Palmeraie in March.
Le Riad is not a Club Med, it is a luxury hotel. The rooms are huge, the roof terrace is to die for (a super king-size bed as a lounger is a dream come true), the swimming pool is beautiful and peaceful, champagne is served from 6pm everyday with delicious canapés, breakfast can be delivered to your room (hence to your roof terrace..), a maid looks after your room twice a day, leaving it immaculate.
But the Riad has also something that other luxury hotels do not have: you feel at home. Chawki, the manager, and Saad, the man who will take over from him when he leaves in November, will do everything they can to make you love this place. And they are successful. I have to admire them because they have to deal with seriously nasty people. Yes, Le Riad, with all its beauty, unfortunately attract a lot of guests whose greatest pleasure is to moan, criticize and complain. Here are a couple of things I overheard: “the pool was supposed to be at 28C and it is actually only 26”, “the table clothes are not ironed properly”, “the mash potato shouldn’t be served with a spoon but with a pastry-cutter to have a nicer shape” etc… At 1500£/pers including flight, champagne, all you can drink and eat, you already get more than what you paid for. If you want 3* Michelin food presentation, go to Hotel de Paris in Monaco and eat at the Ducasse restaurant inside the hotel. The bill might hurt a bit more.
All the activities (except for the pool) are located on La Palmeraie’s grounds (3minutes walk). I have a passion for flying trapeze and got to spend a lot of time with the Circus team. Flora, who runs it, managed to create a fantastic atmosphere with the people she works with (Jules, Laura and Khalid). These 4 people are not only unbelievably talented (you should see them during their weekly shows), they make you feel like you can achieve anything, they make you believe that you can forget your troubles and fly as they do. And the best thing is: you actually do it. And after talking to other guests, it seems that you will get the same feeling if you join the tennis, golf, archery, fitness etc.. classes.

The only things I think Club Med could improve are:
-> the food in the main restaurant; the quality is very cafeteria-like and below the usual Club Med standards (Le Riad doesn’t serve food in the evening, which is a shame because lunch is absolutly divine)
->one barman at Le Riad who should remember that he is talking/serving clients, not animals. Very rude person, but the managers Chawki and Saad already apologies for this incident.
-> The snobish/nasty guests maybe :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    59
    33
    20
    8
See reviews for
85
132
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Far from the Medina with it's souks and it's casaba lies the oasis which is Club Med le Riad.
This is my first experience of a 5 trident accommodation and I liked it.
The room was spacious, sophisticatedly dark and moody and complete with mod cons - even our own nespresso machine. The mini bar was welcome but sadly soft drinks only. All the frills - bathrobes, turn down service, little chocolate on the pillow and breakfast in bed if you want it.
We had a shaded terrace and our own private garden with orange trees and sun loungers.
The public areas are beautiful and reflect the best Morocco has to offer from original artworks to landscaped water gardens.
Breakfast and lunch around the pool were served together with cocktails or wine all very pleasant. Come 6pm out came the champagne which was then served through to bedtime if you wanted it.
Unfortunately le Riad did not serve an evening meal and so we had to venture across to the 4 trident Palmerarie. The restaurant here was unfortunately below par compared to Club Med's normal high standards. It did however reinforce that we made the right decision in booking le Riad.

Room Tip: Ground floor is probably best when it is hottest and the first floor when it is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at le Riad for a week. The set-up, the garden, the pool, the food at le Riad in the morning and for lunch are exceptional. All the staff from the Riad manager to the reception manager, the waiters, the house keeping staff, they were all professional and had very good customers service skill. The Riad is connected to the main clubmed la palmeraire. The only negative point is that in the mina dinning room at la Palmeraie the outside chairs are not cleaned and full of bird drops. I don’t understand why they don’t clean them every day with pressure water. Aside from that the ranch (Pony’s, Camels) on site, the Trapeze, bicycle rides were perfect. We also went for day trips in the mountains with a guide, arranged through the club. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Riad part of this club med is extremely exquisit.
Everything is super clean, service is beyond super.
For the children there is every sort of entertainment they can wish even in their own language.
Food in this resort is also superb. Occasionally there are even dressed parties between the olive tree's.
"Every day" food is a buffett of everything you could wish for and everything is made fresh on the spot.

Room Tip: If you have the money, go for the RIAD part of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed in this supposed 5-forkthing Club Med and I must start by reminding you this is the highest rating a Club Med can get.
The Riad is actuially a part of another 4-forkthing Club Med, surrounded by walls to exclude the 4-forkthing people. The general concept seems nasty the way I put it, but it's actually quite nice.
We had a garden room on the ground floor, staying with my wife and young child (which is why we chose Club Med to start with). Starting with the good sides: the 4-forkthing Baby and Kids' Club is really satisfying. We felt very secure leaving our child there and she loved it. The babysitter suggested by the Club (who is an independant baby-sitter who comes to the Club to do her stuff) was great. Really great in fact. She was by far the best thing that happened to us during our stay.
Problem 1: hygiene, cleaning, room amenities: The room was not cleaned on the third day after our arrival. The complementary coffee bar stayed uncleaned and dirty from day 1 to our departure. The coffee was never replenished so I hope you're not a coffee fan. The kettle did not work and took 3 days to get replaced. They gave us a complementary cocktail upon arrival, The tray with all the trash, including leftovers from our first room-service breakfast was left in the room for an extra day, then spent 1 day IN FRONT of our door once someone had taken it out. 2.5 days to get rid of a food tray with everything nasty that goes with meal trash. The welcome cocktail itself spent 3 days in the room and was literally growing mold when they took it out.
Problem 2: Service: The staff lost some of our child's baby bottles and we were told in response that, "we should have picked them up faster." During one of our meals, the waiter spilled some grease on me. We therefore paid for dry-cleaning and the clothes came back dirty. There was, however, no explanation as to why we had to pay for this non-service. We were so fed up by then that we were simply happy to pay to leave.
Problem 3: infrastructure: impossible to use the bath. The hot water was a trickle and is therefore cold by the time you fill your bath (takes about an hour to do so). Took 3 days with "technicians" in and out of our room to replace a fixture (this was clearly not the cause) so we just gave up and boiled water in the kettle (once we had a working one) to fill the bath. Quite an uncanny thing in a supposed luxury hotel. The room itself needs some work: burnt-out lightbulbs, loose power switches, broken lighting fixtures, joinery and general millwork in relative bad shape, some closets do not close, all are shifty, broken window frame, etc...
The Riad's pool is not heated, so if you're not staying over the Summer and are a bit frisky, do not expect to dive in. Wifi only in entrance and around the pool, none in rooms.

Now, all of these things would not necessarily be a problem... if we had not paid €6'000.- (that's euros, not dollars) for a week's stay. We were told this was the top of the top. This is simply not so. As an architect, I actually build 5-star hotels, work on their amenities, look for the quality needed for the 5-star rating. The Riad is not a 5-star hotel. The director actually admits to it, hiding behind the 5-star / 5-forkthing excuse. My wife and I asked him what quality he was aiming for: 3, 4 or 5-star. We told him the question was a trap and he should not say 5-star as that would just be ridiculous. He answered "a good 4-star". Unfortunately the Riad is worth 3-star at the moment. Again, this is not a problem... if we are told so when we book and when we pay. Needless to say, nobody in their right mind would pay €6'000.-/week for a 3-star.
That's pretty much the bottom line: the hotel isn't bad, the Director is actually a nice guy who's trying his best, but the staff is simply poor, the head housekeeper (gouvernante) is a joke and the Club Med sales office are a bunch of liars. They will say anything to sell you the package, even lie to your face with a smile on theirs. We were told that someone could shop small things for our baby when needed but we had to take a taxi into town and shop on our own. Not a problem for us, but another lie from sales.
So, the Riad is a 5-forkthing Club Med with a 3-star hotel, a fibbing sales technique, an under-qualified (and probably under-paid) staff but with a whopping international luxury 5-star pricetag. Club Med totally unwilling to make the slightest commercial gesture, even if that means forever losing their target clientele (that's us).
Oh yeah, I forgot, the bartender and the chef are extremely pleasant guys to be with. Thought it would be nice to end on a good note but let's face it: never ever going back there and suggest you don't either unless you pay less than half what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not close to the tennis courts or you will be hearing Wimbledon all through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

In the middle of the Palm grove, The hotel is 60 suites with either their private garden or private terrace on the roof top. The hotel is decorated with a Moroccan contemporary style. Peaceful and luxurious atmosphere.
Le Riad show a complete new way of enjoying all included package. And as far as I am concerned Club med has adapt is business model brilliantly

Hotelixir.com

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've been going to Club Med for years, but Le Riad is a cut above everything they've done before. Tucked away in the back of the main resort, it's really an oasis of calm and sophistication.
First the rooms: they're wonderful, with either a roof terrace or a small garden. Comfy beds, a coffee machine and a soft-drink mini bar.
The Riad pool is divine - deep and quiet, with bar staff to take your orders.
We nearly always took the simple lunch served here - so nice sometimes to be served rather than face another buffet. On saying that, the food in the main restaurant was always wonderful with a great choice.
You get the best of both worlds here... you can take advantage of all the activities Club Med has to offer (great tennis teachers btw) but you can escape to the peace and calm of Le Riad. And as we always do at Club Med, we met loads of fab, interesting people; it helps if you speak a little French.
Look, Five-Star Club Med is not going to match up with Five-Star Four Seasons. But the staff, led by Florian, were always friendly, smiley and always ready to say hello and help with any problems. And they try desperately hard to create a five-star atmosphere. They also work very very hard.
If I were to point out a weak link, it would be house-keeping. This was not a five-star service. A couple of times we had to ask for fresh towels and shampoo (after a couple of days). One day our room wasn't done at all - this also happened to a friend we met there. The mini-bar was rarely properly stocked up. When they got it right though, it was great, with rose petals on the bed and a turn down service.
So, thanks Club Med for another fabulous holiday. As I said earlier, I've been coming to Club Med for twenty odd years and was always the only gay in the village. It's really great to see a lot more gay couples / singles using the company. It's all-inclusive in more ways than one.

Room Tip: We took the roof terrace with a big bed and outside shower - nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florent F, Resident Manager at Club Med Marrakech le Riad, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Mr Newsman ;)

thank you to have spent your holidays with us.

It was a great pleasure to have you and you partner here at the Riad and we also have a fantastic week due to your enthusiasm and you happiness.

We hope to welcome you again soon and don't forget something: the Riad is your Home now!

Warm Regards,

Florent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Marrakech le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Address: Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#127 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#182 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Club Med Marrakech le Riad 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad, which is surrounded by private gardens, has sixty Suites which combine a Moroccan setting with every comfort imaginable. With its swimming pool and its rooms each with a fireplace, Le Riad is an intimate and princely place. You can sample a privileged lifestyle relaxing in the Bar-lounge, enjoying the cozy atmosphere in the piano bar or unwinding in the library. The more curious amongst you can treat yourselves to the exotic flavours and spicy dishes on offer at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Marrakech le Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Marrakech Le Riad Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech le Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.