We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate holliyday experince” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Save Saved
You added Club Med Marrakech le Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Marrakech le Riad
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Deurne, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ultimate holliyday experince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Riad part of this club med is extremely exquisit.
Everything is super clean, service is beyond super.
For the children there is every sort of entertainment they can wish even in their own language.
Food in this resort is also superb. Occasionally there are even dressed parties between the olive tree's.
"Every day" food is a buffett of everything you could wish for and everything is made fresh on the spot.

Room Tip: If you have the money, go for the RIAD part of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    49
    23
    17
    7
See reviews for
74
109
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed in this supposed 5-forkthing Club Med and I must start by reminding you this is the highest rating a Club Med can get.
The Riad is actuially a part of another 4-forkthing Club Med, surrounded by walls to exclude the 4-forkthing people. The general concept seems nasty the way I put it, but it's actually quite nice.
We had a garden room on the ground floor, staying with my wife and young child (which is why we chose Club Med to start with). Starting with the good sides: the 4-forkthing Baby and Kids' Club is really satisfying. We felt very secure leaving our child there and she loved it. The babysitter suggested by the Club (who is an independant baby-sitter who comes to the Club to do her stuff) was great. Really great in fact. She was by far the best thing that happened to us during our stay.
Problem 1: hygiene, cleaning, room amenities: The room was not cleaned on the third day after our arrival. The complementary coffee bar stayed uncleaned and dirty from day 1 to our departure. The coffee was never replenished so I hope you're not a coffee fan. The kettle did not work and took 3 days to get replaced. They gave us a complementary cocktail upon arrival, The tray with all the trash, including leftovers from our first room-service breakfast was left in the room for an extra day, then spent 1 day IN FRONT of our door once someone had taken it out. 2.5 days to get rid of a food tray with everything nasty that goes with meal trash. The welcome cocktail itself spent 3 days in the room and was literally growing mold when they took it out.
Problem 2: Service: The staff lost some of our child's baby bottles and we were told in response that, "we should have picked them up faster." During one of our meals, the waiter spilled some grease on me. We therefore paid for dry-cleaning and the clothes came back dirty. There was, however, no explanation as to why we had to pay for this non-service. We were so fed up by then that we were simply happy to pay to leave.
Problem 3: infrastructure: impossible to use the bath. The hot water was a trickle and is therefore cold by the time you fill your bath (takes about an hour to do so). Took 3 days with "technicians" in and out of our room to replace a fixture (this was clearly not the cause) so we just gave up and boiled water in the kettle (once we had a working one) to fill the bath. Quite an uncanny thing in a supposed luxury hotel. The room itself needs some work: burnt-out lightbulbs, loose power switches, broken lighting fixtures, joinery and general millwork in relative bad shape, some closets do not close, all are shifty, broken window frame, etc...
The Riad's pool is not heated, so if you're not staying over the Summer and are a bit frisky, do not expect to dive in. Wifi only in entrance and around the pool, none in rooms.

Now, all of these things would not necessarily be a problem... if we had not paid €6'000.- (that's euros, not dollars) for a week's stay. We were told this was the top of the top. This is simply not so. As an architect, I actually build 5-star hotels, work on their amenities, look for the quality needed for the 5-star rating. The Riad is not a 5-star hotel. The director actually admits to it, hiding behind the 5-star / 5-forkthing excuse. My wife and I asked him what quality he was aiming for: 3, 4 or 5-star. We told him the question was a trap and he should not say 5-star as that would just be ridiculous. He answered "a good 4-star". Unfortunately the Riad is worth 3-star at the moment. Again, this is not a problem... if we are told so when we book and when we pay. Needless to say, nobody in their right mind would pay €6'000.-/week for a 3-star.
That's pretty much the bottom line: the hotel isn't bad, the Director is actually a nice guy who's trying his best, but the staff is simply poor, the head housekeeper (gouvernante) is a joke and the Club Med sales office are a bunch of liars. They will say anything to sell you the package, even lie to your face with a smile on theirs. We were told that someone could shop small things for our baby when needed but we had to take a taxi into town and shop on our own. Not a problem for us, but another lie from sales.
So, the Riad is a 5-forkthing Club Med with a 3-star hotel, a fibbing sales technique, an under-qualified (and probably under-paid) staff but with a whopping international luxury 5-star pricetag. Club Med totally unwilling to make the slightest commercial gesture, even if that means forever losing their target clientele (that's us).
Oh yeah, I forgot, the bartender and the chef are extremely pleasant guys to be with. Thought it would be nice to end on a good note but let's face it: never ever going back there and suggest you don't either unless you pay less than half what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not close to the tennis courts or you will be hearing Wimbledon all through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

In the middle of the Palm grove, The hotel is 60 suites with either their private garden or private terrace on the roof top. The hotel is decorated with a Moroccan contemporary style. Peaceful and luxurious atmosphere.
Le Riad show a complete new way of enjoying all included package. And as far as I am concerned Club med has adapt is business model brilliantly

Hotelixir.com

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've been going to Club Med for years, but Le Riad is a cut above everything they've done before. Tucked away in the back of the main resort, it's really an oasis of calm and sophistication.
First the rooms: they're wonderful, with either a roof terrace or a small garden. Comfy beds, a coffee machine and a soft-drink mini bar.
The Riad pool is divine - deep and quiet, with bar staff to take your orders.
We nearly always took the simple lunch served here - so nice sometimes to be served rather than face another buffet. On saying that, the food in the main restaurant was always wonderful with a great choice.
You get the best of both worlds here... you can take advantage of all the activities Club Med has to offer (great tennis teachers btw) but you can escape to the peace and calm of Le Riad. And as we always do at Club Med, we met loads of fab, interesting people; it helps if you speak a little French.
Look, Five-Star Club Med is not going to match up with Five-Star Four Seasons. But the staff, led by Florian, were always friendly, smiley and always ready to say hello and help with any problems. And they try desperately hard to create a five-star atmosphere. They also work very very hard.
If I were to point out a weak link, it would be house-keeping. This was not a five-star service. A couple of times we had to ask for fresh towels and shampoo (after a couple of days). One day our room wasn't done at all - this also happened to a friend we met there. The mini-bar was rarely properly stocked up. When they got it right though, it was great, with rose petals on the bed and a turn down service.
So, thanks Club Med for another fabulous holiday. As I said earlier, I've been coming to Club Med for twenty odd years and was always the only gay in the village. It's really great to see a lot more gay couples / singles using the company. It's all-inclusive in more ways than one.

Room Tip: We took the roof terrace with a big bed and outside shower - nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florent F, Resident Manager at Club Med Marrakech le Riad, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Mr Newsman ;)

thank you to have spent your holidays with us.

It was a great pleasure to have you and you partner here at the Riad and we also have a fantastic week due to your enthusiasm and you happiness.

We hope to welcome you again soon and don't forget something: the Riad is your Home now!

Warm Regards,

Florent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

From the day before out trip when Nicholas phoned us to check we were happy with arrangements to the day we left with a big bunch of Moroccan roses, we couldn't have had better service. Thank you to Nicholas,Michael and all the team for the ever present smiles and helpfulness.
Le Riad is tucked away inside the larger Club Med grounds. These are extensive with many sports activities and a spa. The weather wasn't great but we enjoyed the 9 hole pitch and putt course and the golf instruction. Our accommodation was as described and clean and with rose petals scattered on the bed every night - a nice touch! Food was of usual Club Med standard and we enjoyed breakfast and lunch served beside the pool. The setting was beautiful.
Great first time experience of Marrakech. Next time we would like a bit more sun :)

Room Tip: Would have enjoyed the roof terrace if weather had been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Marrakech le Riad, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this great review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Marrakech le Riad Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your partner had such a good time, and that you enjoyed the dedication and friendliness of our staff, the comfort of your room and practising golf with our well trained G.O.s!

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts, hopefully next time with more sun!

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I could of course have stayed in any 5* hotel in Marrakech but chose Club Med as I thought the very "raison d'etre" of their holidays was the whole "Club" thing - being included and having fun with like minded people. What a joke. From the moment I arrived, no-one could have cared less that I was on my own or made any effort to include me, introduce me to any other single folk (English or French) or care that I was having a good time. I sat on my own nearly every meal time and no-one cared. I had a thoroughly miserable holiday and was pleased to get home.
The English rep was a joke and only interested in his own good time - it took him 48 hours to introduce himself, then he excused himself from talking to me (when I was complaining about the lack of inclusion) and organised an English dinner on the Wednesday nioht - I had arrived Saturday. What use was that?
The General Manager who I complained to said it was because I was English and most of the clientelle French (why encourage English guests then?) but this was rubbish because I spoke to a single French gentleman who was so disgusted with the lack of attention, he was planning on leaving.
Yes - nice rooms, resort quite acceptable, food ok (though much better at the main restaurant - Le Riad was pretty basic/poor so why pay extra?) etc etc but that is not all one wants from a holiday.
And don't bother complaining to Club Med as I did. I waited over a month for a 2 page load of waffle which basically said "we couldn't care less about you/your experience". Plenty of "repeat French Club Med" bores without bothering about attracting new customers I guess.
Not a good experience and I most definitely won't be going on another Club Med holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Marrakech le Riad, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday experience at Marrakech Le Riad Club Med Resort.

For your information, our Marrakech le Riad Resort is a recommended Resort for couples, families and friends. Although our friendly atmosphere allows our GMs to meet people, we are afraid that we cannot ensure such meetings.

As far as the attitude of our staff on site is concerned, we were sorry to read that you found our staff to be rude and unhelpful. I can assure you that this kind of attitude is just the antithesis of what Club Med staff should personify i.e kindness, generosity and sense of service.

Kindly note that we are trying to provide as many English speaking staff as possible in our Marrakech le Riad Resot and that it is highly recommended by UK customers.
Indeed, whilst it is true that Club Med is a French company, rest assured that we are doing our utmost to satisfy our international clients.

I hope that despite your misgivings regarding your stay at the above Resort we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you again in one of our Resorts in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Lovely hotel in Marrakech, removed from the city, it felt like a safe place to relax and enjoy evenings.
Staff was pleasant, though really geared much more towards French patrons.
Went on tours provided through Club Med, the ATV , the Market and Essoura, which were all terrific. We would have felt uncomfortable in the markets otherwise, without a guide.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Marrakech le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech le Riad

Address: Sidi Yahya, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Club Med Marrakech le Riad 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad, which is surrounded by private gardens, has sixty Suites which combine a Moroccan setting with every comfort imaginable. With its swimming pool and its rooms each with a fireplace, Le Riad is an intimate and princely place. You can sample a privileged lifestyle relaxing in the Bar-lounge, enjoying the cozy atmosphere in the piano bar or unwinding in the library. The more curious amongst you can treat yourselves to the exotic flavours and spicy dishes on offer at the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Marrakech le Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Marrakech Le Riad Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech le Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.