We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #21 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

My wife and I chose the Riad El Mansour as our first place to stay in Morocco and our honeymoon and were delighted with the choice. From the email correspondence prior to our visit, to Mustapha the driver being at the airport despite our flight being 2 hours late, everything was perfect. Complimentary wine was provided as it was our honeymoon, the food prepared is delicious and the terrace is perfect to eat both breakfast and dinner.

All the staff are wonderfully pleasant and on hand to help, especially Abdess and Wadi who are available at any time to answer questions, recommend restaurants etc. We had a great day with Mustapha in the Ourika Valley and driving around other sites.

Look no further than this Riad for a place to stay in Marrakech, the location is just a short, and interesting, walk from the square and Souks. Book it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    55
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
436
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We found this hotel via tripadvisor, and were pleased with our find.
The hotels staff are superb, Mustapha the driver was at the airport to meet us, then we were whisked to the hotel.
Met by Abdess the manager, lovely man.
We were shown around the hotel and offered a complimentary drink on the terrace as he told us all about Marrakech and gave some pointers for our stay.
We had a free massage which was superb!
Our room was on the 1st floor, and as it was our Anniversary we were even upgraded. Nice touch by the hotel!
The rooms are quiet, there is no traffic noise. The rooms are furnished well in true Morrocan style and the bathrooms were lovely with lots of smellies and gels in the rooms!
The most memorable part of our stay here was the romantic dinner we had on the terrace with the stars shining above us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mas, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We travel often and know the best and worst kind of service, and the staff and owners of this chic little jewel box of an inn score top marks! We enjoyed everything about our stay. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable, with lots of thoughtful extras. The dinners were delicious, and I highly recommend taking your meals next to the fireplace there in the gorgeous little library. We also enjoyed the hammam, (a new experience for me!) and a fine massage. The staff just got every detail right, and I enthusiasticly recommend this wonderful riad!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

My husband & I spent six nightsat the wonderful Riad el Mansour. We had such a magical time. Abdess and Wadi were fantastic and ensured that our experience in Marrakech was something that we would
remember. However it just wasn’t Abdess and Wadi: the entire team was
gracious and attentive.  The property itself provided everything that we needed and we loved the location: it allowed us to be relatively unobtrusive(my husband is very
tall and I’m blonde!) in allowing us to see the way of life in the medina away from the masses of tourists and the walk to and from the main sights was always an experience in itself. We will always have brilliant memories of our stay at Riad el Mansour.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Riad El Mansour is a fantastic little Riad in Medina. The service is impeccable and you get exactly what you see/read on their website. I have booked this hotel after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed.
It is true that the riad is about 15-20 mins walk from the main square, but the walk is very well posted from the hotel to the main street, so it is impossible to get lost there. The Riad is quiet, clean with lovely interior, amazing food (you must try their dinner!!), small refreshing pool and great hamam and massage room. The service is one of the best I've encountered, very personal and very attentive.
I would highly recommend it. Many thanks to Robert, Abdess and everyone else there for making my stay in Marrakech so lovely.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This riad is beautiful. Modern rooms overlook the tiled courtyard. This riad really takes care of its guests. They picked us up at the train station and brought us to the house in the middle of the medina. Walid and Abdess were always available to help. They had breakfast on the terrace, drinks on the second floor, and laundry service. They made dinner reservations and answered all our questions. The first night, one of the maids walked us to and from a restaurant in the medina.
The riad is quiet and cool in the middle of the hot and hectic medina. If you want to experience life in a medina, this is a great place.
It is not close to the Jemaa el Fna square. We walked to a taxi stand at the edge of the medina to go to the square or into the new town.
The cost is reasonable for the level of service you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We had the bad luck of being stuck in Marrakech due to the volcanic cloud, but it actually turned into being very lucky having stayed at this hotel!

We had planned to come for just 3 days, but ended up staying an amazing 6.

The owners of this hotel really should pat themselves on the back they have created a true oasis of calm, there are so many small touches that make this place unique.

After a full day of haggling in the souks, it was a relief to come back ‘home’ and sit on the terrace and relax.

The food at the hotel was the best we had in our stay in Marrakech, and there is a lot of it, we never went hungry!

The hotel is a haven, when we first arrived we were offered a complimentary drink on the terrace whilst Abdess spoke of the things to do, to see and to be aware of in Marrakech. He told us to treat Riad El Mansour as our home.We could have breakfast whenever we wanted, which we took advantage of, as one day we got up at 11.30 am, and we still had breakfast on the sun drenched terrace!

We had a late evening departure to Paris, and then on to London, and although our room was booked for that night, Abdess let us have use of another room to put our luggage into and have a shower before leaving. We were also allowed to use their phone and fax to sort out our flights home.

I picked this hotel due to all the comments here, and can honesty say that the vast majority are true. I liked the area the hotel is in, it is down a quiet cul de sac so and no mopeds trying to run us down! It is in the ‘real’ Marrrakech, and you see real life here, people going about their day to day business. It has to be seen to be believed.

I have told my friends all about this hidden gem and I know a couple that have already booked. If you are lucky enough to find a room at Riad El Mansour, I would highly recommend it.

A big Thank you to Abdess, Wadi, Mustapha (the hotels’ smiley driver) and Latifa the cook who fed us too much!

All the staff deserve a huge praise but unfortunately I can’t remember all the names!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.