We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #26 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elche, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Staff are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

I have to go along with the other reviews and say that the staff at the El Mansour are just great, always helpful and cheerful. The Riad is nice and quiet, although I really enjoyed the walk through the bustling alleys around it, which gave one a real insight into the lives of the amazingly cheerful locals.
I was a bit disconcerted to find I was the only guest for the first 2 of my 4 nights there, but it was the quiet season. I ate there once and the food was fine, but being the only diner rather detracted from the experience. It was too hot to make much use of the sun terrace and on a couple of days I sought out hotels in the new town which had pools.
I ate mainly around the plaza, as I couldn't see the point in going to Morocco to eat in European restaurants. The food was always good and never cost more than 10 euros.
Marrakesh itself is a little strange, as there is not actually that much to see - the city could be done in 1 day. A trip to the nearby mountains made a pleasant change and the Berber market en route more than interesting, although not for the squeamish as animals are slaughtered in the building next to the meat market and brought straight out - still, I got some good photos of fresh goats' heads! The nights in the plaza are just great fun, seeing the snake charmers, etc, with the accompanying sights and smells all around - I went there every night.
Back to the El Mansour - it's not the height of luxury,but certainly comfortable enough - just lacking tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms (where you can't smoke either) and wifi does not work in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    58
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
443
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We undertook so much research on tripadvisor trying to find the perfect romantic hotel for our anniversary.
We were certainly pleased with out decision to stay at the Riad El Mansour.
We were met at the airport as arranged by Mustapha, the hotel's driver, and the taken straight to the hotel.
We were greeted by Abdess who welcomed us as our suitcases were whisked off upstairs to our room by another member of staff.
Our room was room 2, it was on the 1st floor, the room was so pretty, lovely furniture, there was a welcome card wishing us a ‘Happy Anniversary’ and a bottle of complimentary wine.
We unpacked and were then shown around the hotel by Abdess and had an amazing orange juice, coffee and some home made Moroccan biscuits.
We had dinner at the Riad on our first night on the terrace, it was so beautiful up there. The food was the best we had in Marrakech. There was a musician playing Moroccan music while we were having dinner. It was certainly an evening I shall never forget.
Breakfast was every day on the terrace, once again, all the staff seemed so happy, all smiling and so helpful.
The one thing that stood out for us so much staying at this hotel was the service. I have never ever come across such service from hotel staff , nothing was too much trouble.
Wadi the night manager booked us into restaurants and arranged for a driver to pick us up from the hotel and to be waiting outside for us when we were ready to leave the restaurant.
It has to be said, restaurants are expensive in Marrakech, our favourite was Dar Moha.
A word of warning, avoid Nikki Beach, we went there to relax and chill out, the place was expensive, the attitude of the staff there left a lot to be desired, the music was far too loud, and the place was full of posers!
Marrakech is an exciting place, it takes your senses away.
If you are going to go, make sure you try and get booked into Riad El Mansour, it comes highly recommended by me!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We just finished the most amazing week in Marrakech at the Riad El Mansour. My husband and I decided to celebrate our fourth anniversary in Morocco. After much debate, we chose Marrakech and then discovered through Trip Advisor a wonderful gem called the Riad El Mansour. Trip Advisor's reviews on this place were a little unbelievable until we arrived and experienced the wonderful hospitality of this hidden treasure. Our room was small, but a bit of paradise with its air conditioning and cool shade from the hot sun. The room was cleaned twice daily and always seemed very fresh. We were upgraded mid-trip for our anniversary and that was also a wonderful surprise. The riad has a small plunge pool and a small basic gym (treadmill, rowing machine, multi-flex machine and free weights), as well as two quiet reading rooms and a wonderful terrace for sunning and for taking breakfast. There is also a computer available to check email.
More than anything else, it is the people of the Riad El Mansour that make the place so terrific! From handling small questions and requests to answering larger cultural questions, the staff is very helpful! You truly feel like you are visiting friends, rather than staying at an industrial hotel. The riad is set in a local neighborhood, so lots of local color and friendly faces. You have total peace in the riad-no one disturbs you, but everyone is at your disposal. The kitchen is phenomenal and is not to be missed! We had our anniversary dinner here and it was definitely in our top 10 meals of all times! Abdess and Wadi are gracious and friendly hosts and always have a smile for you. Safa, Latifa and the other ladies of the riad are friendly and cheerful.
To put it most accurately, it is not a question of if we will come back to the Riad El Mansour, it is a question of when!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I am writing this 8 months after our stay here as I got busy but never forgot the hospitality of this Riad. The staff MAKE this place exceptional. We came with our 2 children who are 5 years. Not an easy task to accomodate and they were amazing with them. They showed them around like they were their own kids. Also, Mustapha, Abdess and fatima, etc. were especially helpful with our multitude of questions of where to go, eat, shop, tour, etc. My husband and I had one of the best meals EVER there with the in-house cook. Amazing! ...and we have eaten at some of the top restaurants in Paris and NYC so that really is a compliment. Lastly, I lost my wedding ring and called after we left. They found it under the tapis ( small mat) in the room! The honesty......we were incredibly thankful and they would not take a reward or anything from us. Truly wonderful experience here. The location is in the heart of the medina. The room is small for a family as we had, but great for a couple. The breakfast was great! Very exotic settings.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

What made our trip to Marrakech so relaxing was that we had a very relaxing stay at the Riad El Mansour. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Highly Recommended

Stephen

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We spent 4 nights in Morocco in mid-May, 3 in Marrakesh and 1 in Essaouira. The three nights in Marrakesh - which were the 1st 2 and the 4th nights of our visit - all were spent at El Mansour. It is truly an oasis. It's so hard to believe, as you walk toward the end of the alley, that you are going to encounter such a lovely hideaway; but it's there. Abdess is a superb host. The meals are terrific, and we highly recommend that you reserve 1 night for a dinner at the Riad. The remainder of the staff is likewise terrific, as are the independent guides that Abdess will arrange.

Abdess arranged for "Smiley" to take us by grand taxi for a day trip. After debating between Ourika Valley and the High Atlas Mtns at Imlil and Kasbah du Toubkal, we opted for the latter. But, upon picking us up in the morning, Smiley told us we'd do both. It was a long day, but well worth it. There were a couple touristy-trappy stops on the way to Ourika Valley - craft and rug shops, herb and spice garden - but, given the distances we wanted to cover, we made clear that we had to cut that stuff out and we did - though we bought enough stuff to make everyone happy. At Ourika, Smiley set us up with Mohammed, a fantastic guide who took us farther up the hills than most others went. We are athletic, and not averse to some rock climbing, so we got up pretty high, which made the views of the waterfall that much better. All in all it was a great day, and even though we didn't return to the Riad until almost 8 at night, the tab for Smiley's guide service for the whole day was only about 1400 dh. [excluding tips]. We then used him to drive us to/from Essaouira, for our 1 night stay there.

Not surprisingly, Abdess's recommendations for places for dinner and drinks also can be relied on. We would absolutely love to return to Morocco and to stay at Riad El Mansour again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

I traveled with my son to Marrakech for a week of discovery together. We wanted a "special" week to share, talk, experience and create lasting memories; the one that last a life time.
The selection of our Riad was therefore very important. We wanted a place with "character" great service but not intrusive, help when needed and of course great food. We were so lucky to discover Riad El Mansour. Everything was just perfect and the friendliness of the team under the management of Abdess a joy. It was better than my best expectations. I highly recommend the Riad. The cook, Mrs Latifa creates wonderful dishes and I recommend highly a couple of dinners at the Riad and don't miss her pigeon or chicken pastilla. So, I am a seasoned world traveler and I am happy to put the Riad El Mansour among the world best places were I ever stayed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.