We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay, friendliest staff ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #26 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay, friendliest staff ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Myself and my wife took a trip to Marrakech for a few days, just to see someplace different and it didn't disappoint. We wanted to stay in a Riad in the Medina, rather than some faceless chain hotel and this was the right decision for sure. Once we entered the big door into the Riad, we found a calm and peaceful oasis. I have never stayed anywhere quite so charming and full of character. It is absolutely beautiful as the photos show. We stayed in the Amethyst suite which was great. Also the breakfast was amazing with some nice choices, all served with a smile on the roof terrace.

The staff are so friendly and polite and would do anything for you. We took a hammam in the Riad too on the last day, to unwind after the craziness of the Medina. I would highly recommended it. When it was time to leave, we said goodbye to Wadi, Abdess, Merika, Nadia and all the other staff and I felt I was leaving friends.

If you are going to Marrakech, don't stay in some hotel in the new town as you could be anywhere. The Medina was overwhelming on our night of arrival. The derbs/lanes are full of hustle and bustle and very unfamiliar when you arrive but you get used to it. In fact this becomes part of the charm that makes you love Marrakech before you leave.

I would thoroughly recommend Riad El Mansour.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    58
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
442
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travelled with my two children and we stayed in the Amber Suite which can accommodate two extra single beds. The Riad staff were wonderful and arranged airport transfers, a guide for our first day, booked restaurants and arranged taxis to and from where needed. We felt very safe in their hands.
The Riad is a gem hidden away at the end of a derb (alley). Gorgeous from the moment the door opens. Our suite had everything we needed and more, with fruit, water and pastries renewed each day. The toiletries smelt amazing and were loved by all of us. My 10 year old couldn't wait to try out the plunge pool - even though it was freezing! He also made use of the DVD selection after a long day spent in the mountains.
We ate at the Riad on our first evening and the food was very good and there was so much of it! Breakfasts were plentiful and it was lovely to be able to enjoy them in the sun on the roof terrace.
Overall - a trip to Marrakech is a cultural experience, which my children and I adored, although my 15 year old daughter did encounter a lot of 'banter' and was once filmed on our way back to the Riad - Adbess was out like a flash, taking the offender to task on her behalf and we had no other issues. I am glad we chose to stay at Riad El Mansour and would highly recommend it for an authentic Moroccan experience.

Room Tip: The Amber Suite is spacious enough for a family and is on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Mamma T for taking the time to leave such a positive review.
Many of our guests do you use trip advisor as a reference and come and stay with us, but unfortunately do not take the time to leave a review after the have stayed with us.

I think most of our guests are surprised what they find behind the big black door at the entrance! It certainly is a retreat away from what can sometimes be, 'madness' outside!

All of our toiletries, (shower gel, black soap, shampoo, body lotion and bars of soap) are all locally made products, and we are pleased you liked them!

It is lovely to have breakfast on the terrace in the sun in February, guess you can't do that too often at this time of year in York!

Thank you for highly recommending us, and perhaps yourself and your children will return again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Marrakech a couple of weeks asgo when the weatrher was very cold but the riad's staff made our stay warm and inviting. The fires were lit and the extra electric fires working over time. This with the staff's friendliness and caring ways helped make our stay memorable and very comfortable. The hotel is lovely and very clean. Our room was fitted out with many amenities and comforts such as an extra duvet due which was given out due to the cold spell, I suspect.
We had dinner there on two occasions, one a very substanial meal and the other a much lighter one as we found the portions the first night quite substanial. The beef and date tajine and various Moroccan salads, especially the grated courgets where gorgious and highly recommended. I did use the gym on a couple of occasions. Although not massive, it had both a running machine and rower which I made use of. Freindly and knowledgable staff who seem to go the extra mile. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: My recommendation is to get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the review Jane, you said you would do one, and you did!

We like to keep our guests comfortable at all time's wether it be with extra blankets and fires or cold drinks on the blazing terrace and the air conditioning on full blast in your room!

We do pride ourselves on our Chef Latifa, she is a great cook, and fills our guests up be it Breakfast,
Lunch or Dinner!

The in house gym is used by a few of our guests, and I believe you used it in training for the Marrakech marathon.

All of our staff will go the extra mile, and this is what we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to seeing you next year for the Marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having just returned from Marakesh. We stayed at the Ryad once again as we liked it so much the first time and it did not disappoint. The staff very helpful, especially Wadi and Abdess.
Still spotlessly clean and service fantastic.
We had dinner in the lounge with a roaring fire, breakfast was substantial and we really cannot fault the Ryad.
I can really can recommend this place if you ever come to Marakesh.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Peter for leaving the review, it was a pleasure to meet yourself and your partner.

Staying with us in February it will be colder, mainly at night though, the days tend to be clear and sunny.
We always have the fire in our lounge to keep you warm and the heating of course, throughout the riad.

We do hope you will now return for your 3rd visit as promised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viladecáns, Catalonia, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and myself have just returned from a refreshing short break in Marrakech and so pleased that we picked Riad El Mansour, It really is worthy of all the reviews.
The hotel is in a good area of the town, peaceful and within easy walking distance of all the attractions.
We stayed in a room on the 1st floor. The amenities provided were superb, fresh water daily along with flowers and home made biscuits. It was exactly what we wanted, a few days of being spoilt. We took advantage of the massage and the hotel's hamma,a truly 'must do' experience whilst in Marrakech.
I wholeheartedly recommend Riad El Mansour and look forward to a return visit in the summer months.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Amanda, We thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing and positive review, it must have impressed you as I notice you have already booked with us for another visit in the Summer.. It will be HOT here then!
Staying with us can be a pampering experience and a getaway form all the stress of work, and amazingly only 2 hours away form UK or Spain, but a few centuries difference and culture difference.
We look forward to your return in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 via mobile

Great place for an authentic small Riad. The service was just outstanding - every member of staff was helpful, kind and looked after our every need. Location is within the medina, around 15-20 mins walk from the main square and souks. Like most places in the medina, the narrow dark maze-like alleyways can be overwhelming and quite frankly terrifying at night, with kids hanging around every corner, but after 24 hours you assimilate and realize that there is no danger whatsoever and everyone is super friendly...just need to leave our western preconceptions at home. The Riad itself is very quite and peaceful...a welcome retreat from the bustle of Marrakesh street life. I can whole heartedly recommend Riad El Mansour...great place.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your detailed review.

An interesting point you made.. 'leave all your Western preconceptions at home' So true!
Morocco is a culture shock for sure, you either love it or hate it!
You will realise after a while it is extremely safe, and almost all roads are located in dark alleys, but it certainly is much safe walking around dark alleys here than it could be in Exeter!

I am pleased you did enjoy your stay with us and will recommend others to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

I stayed here with my Sister for 7 nights in January this year, we had a fantastic time, the Riad is beautiful and no request is too much for the helpfull staff. It is located down a couple of narrow streets off one of the main throughfares in the Medina (Old City) its very easy to find once you get your bearings and is close to Bab Souk (think thats right) just on the old city wall.
It can be a bit of a culture shock when you arrive, especially if at night, but one day walking around and you will feel different. It is as if the ancient and modern worlds have colided, truly amazing Getting to and from the souk (market) and the main square is also easy once one of the wonderful staff has drawn a few locations on the map they provide, they will also escourt ou in and out on your first couple of trips from the mednia just so you know your way. Mustapher their taxi driver is great and will take you on a tour wherever you would like to go, he as both Wadi and Abdess speakes excellent english. Be sure to keep their phone number with you as if your out anywhere and need some help with the lingo you can just phone them up to translate.
Its worth spending some time in the new town as well which is easly accessed from the Riad as its the right side of the Medina.
We were given some good advice by Mustapher which was dont buy anything on the first couple of days, this gives you time to get used to the locals as they are quite proactive in selling to you. They are however very kind and its worth knowing their bark is worse than their bite. They will truly enjoy a haggle even if you dont buy! we had some interesting conversations!
I can thouroghly recomend Riad El Mansour, and Morroco in general.

Room Tip: Amber room is the biggest and they put an additional single bed in there for us FOC for which there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David,

Thank you for recommending Riad El Mansour and leaving us such positive review.

Our riad is, as you mentioned located down a peaceful alley, and once you get the bearings is easy to find. We do give all our guests a complimentary map and use of the mobile phone should they feel they need it.

Giles the new town is close by as is the Majorelle Gardens, and as you say, it is interesting to see the difference between ancient and modern.
Haggling is a form of art here, and makes it all the more fun to buy and get a good price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.