We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #26 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed at the riad for four days in February, and agree with what has been written before. The rooms are very nice, with a wonderful Morrocan feel and decoration, although given the nature of any riad, I would expect, of somewhat irregular shape and not with ideal closet space or dresser space. The common areas are also beautiful (and the Riad has a nice selection of books on Morocco). It is hard to tell what is a good versus bad location in Marrakech, but the Riad is about 15 to 20 minutes by foot from the central square.
What sets the Riad apart, however, is the hospitality. I have never in all my years staying at hotels throughout the world had service this friendly and welcoming, and this hospitality stretches from the top, Abdess, down to everyone who works there. For example on our last day, our flight did not leave until evening. Most hotels and bed and breakfasts would hold your luggage. Here they not only did that but let us essentially stay in one of the rooms, almost appologizing for not letting us have two.
Such hospitality is particularly nice because one needs a place to relax after all the sensory overload (and hassle) that is Marrakech, it is nice to have somewhere that no one is trying to sell something or take advantage of you (by which I do not mean haggling in the souks--you strike your own bargains--but where, for example, restaurants in our experience routinely inflated prices or made things up to jack up the bill when they thought they could get away with it)--you can truly let your guard down and enjoy.
We ate several nights at the Riad, and the food is fantastic (and there is too much of it, in a good way). Although we generally never eat in hotel restaurants, here is a place to make an exception (see previous paragraph).
We took two day trips arranged through the Riad., one to the Ourika valley and one to Essouria (the Riad has a set list of excursions and prices). Yes, the prices are a little higher than you could probably get elsewhere, but you get the convenience of asking for something and having it happen. Yes, the driver will stop at this or that place on the way where he is almost certainly getting his comission, but if you don't want to stop, you can just say so, and if you do stop, you really don't have to buy if you don't want. to. Both places are definitiely worth visiting, although the trip to Ourika definitely gives you the feeling that you are on the tourist trail. In the valley, which has waterfalls to hike up to, you probably do not absolutely need a guide if you are a good hiker and can follow a path. If you have children under age 10 or are not at all good at climbing, a guide is essential. My wife and I did fine on the trail, but for fair stretches the guide more or less carried our young daughter. Essouria is also fascinating and a welcome respite from Marrakech.
We am glad we went to Marrakech. We are not sure how soon we would return. If we did, we would absolutely do whatever we could to stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    58
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
443
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madrid
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Just a few words to tell you haw we enjoyed our stay in Raid el Mansour. We were a group of ten people who boooked the Riad full for 3 days & nights. Service and staff is more than wonderfull they are smiling all over the day, any enquiry you ask for, they get it for you in a sec. Rooms are lovely and bigger than expected (photos at the web do not help much) and food is also very nice.
If you are thinking in going to Marrakech do not hesitate to stay in Riad el Mansour... promise they are not paying me anything for this!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Marrakesh hits you full on and for the first time western visitor it can be a bit overwhelming. Once you arrive in this Riad, however, you can relax and feel immediately taken care of by Abdess and his wonderful team. Nothing is too much trouble. For example, as soon as I mentioned an interest in a Moroccan cookery school recommended on TripAdvisor, I was offered the chance to observe Latifa, the Riad cook, at work in her kitchen and to help out-all for a fraction of the cost of the other school. They also produced a delicious cooked late lunch for us on our day of departure. Other reviews i read on TripAdvisor seemed lukewarm about the food in the Riad but we ate at two top-rated restaurants, as well as in the Riad, and had nothing better than Latifa's delicious home cooking. Considering the portions, it was excellent value. The location of the Riad could cause a problem for somebody who needs literally door-to-door taxi service as you have to walk down some narrow passages from the road. They soon become familiar, however, and people were always friendly. My advice would be to take a guide for your first visit to the Northern Medina then set out on your own (the Riad provides a map). It really isn't too difficult. We took a half day tour of the Medina and a day excursion to the Atlas Mountains, organised by the Riad. They seemed expensive at first but we saw exactly what we wanted to see and not too much of the 'added extras' described in other reviews; you undoubtedly learn more about the way of life and about the people by talking to a guide. I'm not sure Marrakesh is a destination for a lone female unless she is very intrepid, or for families with young children but it's a real adventure for everyone else made wholly pleasurable by the staff of Riad El Mansour.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weybridge, england
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

A stunning, beautifully restored riad. A impeccable staff, polite, accomodating and very professional. First rate food, don't miss out on dinner.
While El Mansour is an oasis of calm and beauty it is located in a poor section of Marrakech.
Having said this we recommend El Mansour to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Liked — The riad is beautifu, the staff superb
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

Had a great stay here at Riad El Mansour, and found it to be a very calm and relaxing place after the chaos of walking around the busy streets and souks. All the staff are very friendly and always smiling - they cannot do enough for you.

I also found the riad to be very clean - there was nearly always someone washing the floors, and the room got cleaned twice a day with a turn-down service and fresh towels.

I booked this through hipmarrakech.com, which lists english-speaking riads in Marrakech.

  • Liked — Decor and friendliness of staff
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

We recently spent five nights at Riad el Mansour on the recommendation of a friend and it lived up to expectations.

The hotel is decorated in a traditional Moroccan style rather than a minimal or modern style that decorates many similar hotels. It was filled with beautiful art, paintings and furniture, with a great attention to detail. The staff were more than helpful and made us feel very welcome. The recommended some restaurants to visit and I would recommend Al Fassia. The breakfast was served on the roof terrace and was delicious.

We stayed in double room which was actually much larger than it looked on the website. The bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom well fitted out and some lovely surprises were waiting for us (which I won’t give away). Again, I was impressed with the attention to detail, even the soap was beautiful!

I was surprised to find that the riad was located at the end of an alley but soon discovered this is the case with most riads in Marrakech. It turned out to be easy to find and we didn’t get lost. The hotel is situated in the medina in a less touristy area, but close to the main sites. This was an advantage because it was full of local life and colour rather than people trying to sell you things. Everyone seemed very friendly.

My friend was right, I would recommend Riad el Mansour.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We also stayed over the New year for 5 days in total, split over two periods as we wanted to spend a couple of days on the coast. A truly lovely Riad with service that was second to none.

The staff couldn't have been any more obliging - it was like having our very own concierge service. Many thanks to Robert, Abdess and the whole team there who made our entire stay stress-free and very memorable.

Thanks again, Natalie & Elliott

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.