We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My friend was right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #22 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My friend was right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

We recently spent five nights at Riad el Mansour on the recommendation of a friend and it lived up to expectations.

The hotel is decorated in a traditional Moroccan style rather than a minimal or modern style that decorates many similar hotels. It was filled with beautiful art, paintings and furniture, with a great attention to detail. The staff were more than helpful and made us feel very welcome. The recommended some restaurants to visit and I would recommend Al Fassia. The breakfast was served on the roof terrace and was delicious.

We stayed in double room which was actually much larger than it looked on the website. The bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom well fitted out and some lovely surprises were waiting for us (which I won’t give away). Again, I was impressed with the attention to detail, even the soap was beautiful!

I was surprised to find that the riad was located at the end of an alley but soon discovered this is the case with most riads in Marrakech. It turned out to be easy to find and we didn’t get lost. The hotel is situated in the medina in a less touristy area, but close to the main sites. This was an advantage because it was full of local life and colour rather than people trying to sell you things. Everyone seemed very friendly.

My friend was right, I would recommend Riad el Mansour.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    54
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
424
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We also stayed over the New year for 5 days in total, split over two periods as we wanted to spend a couple of days on the coast. A truly lovely Riad with service that was second to none.

The staff couldn't have been any more obliging - it was like having our very own concierge service. Many thanks to Robert, Abdess and the whole team there who made our entire stay stress-free and very memorable.

Thanks again, Natalie & Elliott

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We booked a 5 night break to the Riad El Mansour after reading the glowing reports on Tripadvisor. Our trip was absolutely fantastic and the Riad is well worth the excellent feedback it has received. We pushed the boat out and stayed in the Suite, which was a beautifully decorated, spacious room. The Raid was a great balance of Moroccan style with Western luxuries - Satellite TV, iPod dock, power shower, air con, large soft towels, bottled water, fresh fruit etc

The Riad staff went out of their way to make sure the experience was a good one. The complimentary airport transfer was greatly appreicated - it was quite daunting stepping out of the airport after dark into the full frenzy that is Marrakech - but the driver walked us right to the door.

On the first morning, the Riad organised a guided tour of the city for us. I would NOT recommend it! We have both seen the funny side now, but at the time we were just baffled and quite annoyed. We hadn't done our research on the guides, but it turns out that these guides earn up to 50% commission on anything you buy. We were shown a couple of tourist sites, then taken to a 'carpet museum' (i.e. a carpet shop) and given the hard sell on carpets. After about 45mins, we managed to escape this one, but were then taken to a pharmacy and given the hard sell on various oils and spices. Again, after about 25mins, we escaped, but lastly, we were taken to a hotel for lunch where they tried to tell us we had to have the set menu for 400 Dirums each (approx £33 each)! We kicked up a fuss as we only wanted something small.. the guide got annoyed, lost interest when he realised we weren't going to buy anything and took us back to the Riad. The annoying thing is that we had paid 400 Dirums for the guide (approx £33), which was more like a forced shopping expedition. In the afternoon, we took to the streets with a map and had a fantastic time!

Food-wise, we ate in the Riad twice and the food was stunning - beautiful, delicate flavours and excellent authentic menu. Portions are HUGE though, so don't eat too much beforehand! On the other 3 nights Abdess recommended and organised restaurants for us. Each one was fantastic. Abdess organised Taxis to take us door-to-door so we didn't have to negotiate the streets late at night. The only down-side was the cost of the taxis - the Riad settled all taxi bills direct and billed us for them upon departure. According to the guide books one taxi trip should cost no more than 10 Dirums in the day (with a 50% surcharge at night). We were charged 100 Dirums per night by the Riad (but the trips should have been no more than 30?). OK, you pay for convenience, but this seemed like a steep mark-up and we only realised when we came to settle the bill.

We also did the Atlas Mountains trip with the Riad's driver. I'd highly recommend this, although you pay a premium to use the Riad's driver rather than a taxi. The trip cost 800 Dirums (approx £65), plus another 200 (£16) for the guide at the mountains. The guide books state that a grand taxi will set you back around 400 Dirums. Great trip though and although we were offered the 'opportunity' to visit the carpet shops, ceramics shops etc on the way... we declined!

Overall we'd highly recommend the Riad. It's a fantasic place to stay and the staff can't do enough for you.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

My friend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Riad El Mansour and had a wonderful time. When the staff discovered it was my birthday we were immediately upgraded into an even more beautiful room than our original one.

We didn't venture out until after dark on our first day and although the Riad is down some slightly quieter and darker passageways we never felt uneasy.

We didn't eat in at the Riad in the evenings which we perhaps should have done because the reviews of the food on here are amazing. However,when we returned after our nights out staff were always happy to oblige us with our desires for mint tea, hubbly bubbly pipes and an extra heater!

The weather warmed up considerably by day 2 and we were able to enjoy breakfasts and lunches on the sunny terrace.

The only possible negative aspect was the amount of noise from the cats on the terrace at night (apparently it was mating season) they did make a terrific noise but really it was just another one of the many colourfui and bizarre memories I have of this wonderful city.

I am planning a return trip very soon with my husband and will definitely stay at the Riad El Mansour again.

  • Liked — Everything was so beautiful to look at
  • Disliked — Was a little chilly to start with
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed at the Riad for 4 nights over the New Year period. The Riad is worthy of all of the high ratings on this site as the service is excellent and the staff are so friendly and helpful (especially Abdess). The Riad is well located and the staff will help with directions and organised trips if you want them. The food in the Riad is worth sampling and the Hamman is definately worth a try and an experience you won't forget. The rates are higher than others places but I think it is worth it for the personal attention that you are given.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed over the new year period and had an amazing time.  We arrived at the riad around lunchtime having been travelling since 1am.  We had pre booked a hamman at the riad and what an experience, be preapared to get scrubbed to the bone! It was followed by a lovely massage and after a sensational meal in the lobby, we were well and truly refreshed and ready for Marrakech.You HAVE to eat at the riad, the chef is fantastic and you wont eat anywhere better for the money you pay.  We did go out one night to the Cafe Arabe which is well within walking distance (DONT GAT A TAXI) and reasonable with a lovely bar (which sells alcohol).  The breakfasts a substantial.We would recommend eating in the souks one night as it is an experience, and drinks at the Kosy bar are worth a visit.The Riad is a little further out of the medina than others rated highly on trip advisor but the service is immpecable and well worth the extra yards!
If staying over the newyear period the party is highly recommened includes all the food and drink you can consume as well as live music. A must!!

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Staying at the Riad El Mansour enhanced my overall visit to Marrakech. I truly felt as though I were a guest in their home.

The environment was charming and impeccably maintained. Our room was always clean, with turn-down service and fresh bottled water provided. There are great views from the terrace. The riad is located in the medina, beside local residents homes, which I quite liked as I felt like I was seeing the real Marrakech. Still, I felt secure inside the riad and it was a quiet oasis from daily life in the medina.

The staff (Abdess, Waadi, and Fatima in particular) was exceptionally friendly and professional. They were so helpful, always anticipating our needs and organizing a guide a transportation.

I suggest visitors take their meals at the riad before trying local restaurants - the riad cook is so good you may never veture outside! The menus offer a wonderful selection (the chicken tangine was my favorite) and the staff took the time to give some background on the specialty dishes.

Checkout was organized and efficient.

I cannot recommend this riad more highly. It is one of the best places I have stayed in the world, from bed and breakfasts to 5 star luxury hotels.

  • Liked — The service/hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.