We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #20 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Manjimup
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A truly wonderful experience from the moment we arrived by train in Marrakech. Mustapha arranged to collect us after a fabulous experience on the 2nd class carriage from Casablanca to Marrakesh. We arrived at Riad El Mansour to complete luxury and wonderful hospitality. We met Robyn the owner who was visiting, and Abdel who is a truly wonderful Manager. Our room was gorgeous and very traditional, lovely and clean. Bottled water, moroccan tea, fresh fruit. All the staff were gorgeous. Breakfast was enjoyed on the roof. Fresh juice, cereal, omelette, toast, tea and coffee - a fabulous start to the day. Location was perfect for us, in the centre but far enough away to enjoy the peace and serenity of Marrakesh. Their is a refreshing spa which is fabulous to return to after a day at the market. A very detailed map and explanation was given on check in to ensure you make the most of your time here. We had a lovely half day with Mustapha touring some sites of Marrakesh, showed us the best shopping spots and giving us some good tips. We also had a Hamman at the Raid - for my birthday which was magnificent ( I still talk about it). We arranged a trip to the Sahara with Desert Majesty. I can highly recommend this as well. We truly cannot speak more highly of Riad El Mansour. Thank you to Robyn, Abdell and Mustapha.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. The room was awesomely perfect.I LOVE this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you Jeremy and Kelly for the kind review.
You certainly did squeeze in a lot of the Moroccan experience in your stay with us!
The hammam is certainly a thing to remember, all the dead skin being scrubbed off is quite a memorable experience, that hopefully made something of a Birthday to remember for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    55
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
436
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Riad El Mansour for the last few days of our holiday, we wanted to stay there longer, but unfortunately they were full for the dates we wanted.
The reviews really reflect the superb service and style that this small hotel has.
Our room had a lovely huge painting by a local artist and the bed was a gothic dream, all hand carved by local artisans, I must say it is the quality of the furniture and lighting that really stands out when being there.
Abdess was the manager along with Wadi, they were both superb, always smiling and always available for any questions we had.
They even went to the local market and bought us two tagine dishes at a fraction of the cost we were quoted!
Breakfast and lunch was filling and so good.
Don’t bother looking at other Riads, stay here

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
A positive review is always nice, thank you!
Yes, our furniture is all crafted by local tradesman, we did not want our rooms to look like an Ikea showroom! Thank you for noticing the small details of our hotel, we do like to feel we have thought of most things that our guests appreciate.
Also all the artwork in the hotel is from Local Artists.
We are always happy to give advice on prices and the cost that things should cost! Haggling is a serious business in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two days and felt so welcomed and we were treated so wonderfully. We were immediately greeted with morrocan tea and a map to get around the bustling streets of Marrakesh. The room was spectacularly decorated, clean, quiet, and had everything you would expect and more! We had breakfast next to the pool and it was delicious. Thank you to Abdes and all the staff at this hotel. The location is close to the souk and square but far enough to have peace and quiet after a long day of haggling and getting lost in the souk! We loved this place. We will be back soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you Raphaela for your review.

Breakfast is a special time for most of our guests, they can take it whenever and wherever they choose, we have no set times here, it is YOUR holiday and time to be pampered!

We are close to the souk and to the Majorelle Gardens and many of the tourist spots, but thankfully away from all the noise and mayhem that the busy main streets outside!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I am sitting here back home in Scotland looking at the rain pouring down the windows and the grey clouds in the sky and wishing I was back in Riad El Mansour where it was warm and the sun shone, and I was treated so well.

I went to Marrakech for 4 days with my wife and 3 children; we had two rooms on the first floor.

Mustapha bought us from the airport straight to the hotel (around a 15 minute drive), upon arrival took our cases for us and walked us to the riad. It was a scene to remember forever, walking through the local market, seeing the produce for sale, the smells, the sights. Not to be forgotten our first impression of Marrakech!

The rooms were beautifully decorated with quality furniture and original works of art by local artists.
We arrived to bottled water, fruit and flowers in our rooms and a welcome pack.

After unpacking we met Abdell the Manager on the terrace he offered us all complimentary drinks as he told us all about the surrounding area and what to see and things to avoid!

Breakfasts were sumptuous and a menu with a choice was offered every morning with freshly squeezed Orange juice and home made yoghurts, breads, cakes, eggs, cereals and even good old British Tea!

We had lunch twice at the riad and the food was excellent, it did take a while to come but we did not mind as we know the chef went out to source the ingredients form the local market and cook it fresh. The lunches were very good value with much to eat.

We never ate dinner at the riad, but talking to other guests, we wish we had.

The riad is at its most beautiful at night with the candles lit and the peacefulness and calming aura.

I so wish I was there now and it would stop raining here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
It was so lovely to meet you and your family.
And you did pick a beautiful sunny period to be here!

Marrakech certainly has a magical effect on most people and I know your children enjoyed their stay here too. The staff do miss you all!

Our lunches do take a while to prepare, and I do hope that Abdess did warn you of this, but as we buy all of our food fresh form the market outside, it takes a while longer to prepare and cook from fresh.

I hope you see some sun there too soon, if not you will have to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Riad El Mansour in May this year. The place is full of charm and tradition. The small touches and decor make it feel authentic whilst the facilities available give it a modern feel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helped book restaurants and taxis for our dinner every evening. They really made the whole trip relaxing and enjoyable.

We loved being able to wake up at any hour and have our breakfast anywhere we wanted. Our room was kept clean throughout the stay and the bottled water and snacks on our table were greatly appreciated after a long day of walking in the Moroccan heat.

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad if you want to stay somewhere authentic, be in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina, but be able to escape somewhere calm and relaxing at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to leave us a review.

It is good to know you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
We like to make all our guests feel as they are staying at somewhere special, and that certainly came across in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Marrakech is a beautiful and interesting city, but crazy and chaotic! Riad El Mansour is tucked away in the old medina - a tranquil oasis to return to after a busy day in the souks. Situated at the end of a myriad of alleyways, you enter a low wooden door to the most wonderful surprise; a magical mix of Moroccan architecture, vibrant colours, and tasteful artwork. It is interesting and full of surprises - from the tiled jacuzzi, the sunny roof terrace, to the intimate sitting rooms.

I contacted the staff at the riad prior to our visit to arrange a couple of tours and to ask for suggestions for a special meal for my partner's birthday. Communication was excellent and most helpful. We arranged to be met at the airport; all went well and we received a warm welcome with tea and cake and helpful advice on orientation. A very nice touch was that they had baked a special birthday cake for my partner's birthday!

Our room was comfortable, quirky and immaculately clean. Fresh flowers, fruits, water, robes and slippers all added to the riad's charm. Riads are typically small, but our room (Verbena) was adequate with a luxurious feel.

Breakfasts on the roof terrace were a mix of fresh fruit and yogurt, home made bread and pancakes, eggs and cakes.

We ate dinner one night in the intimate candle lit dining room - cooked especially to order - a typical Moroccan meal which was delicious and very reasonable priced. Wine was available, good, and also reasonably priced.

Some people have commented that the riad is a little far from the main part of town. We actually found this to be a benefit as the town is very noisy and chaotic. Were also enjoyed the interesting walk back from the main square and souks.

One thing to be aware of in Marrakech is the pressure to buy. We were taken as part of our city tour, to a few shops where we felt pressured to buy. We arranged shipping through the antique shop, but after many months the goods never arrived. I contacted the riad to ask for their help. They couldn't have been more helpful. Through their persistence in visiting the antique shop several times on our behalf, we have now received our purchases and are very grateful to Abdess and Robert.

During our stay we went on a tour of the Atlas Mountains, which are amazing and beautiful, and our guide took us to a typical market then a walk to the waterfalls. A lovely day out!

One of the highlights of our trip was a hot air balloon ride. Imagine seeing the sun come up over the Atlas mountains to one side, and full moon over the Marrakech skyline to the other side. A truly magical experience.

On our last night we booked a hamman at the riad. Wow! If you would like the fantastic and invigorating experience of a true Moroccan hamman - go for it! Followed by a wonderful relaxing massage

All in all, we loved Marrakech. A vibrant city full of history, charm and colour. But our main thanks go to the staff at Riad el Mansour for making our stay extra special. Helen and Chris x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Helen and Chris,
Wow, what a long and informative review! THANK YOU.

I am pleased you did receive all of your purchases ln the end, and we were very pleased to have helped and got them to you in the end. We are not a hotel that cares about our guests when they are there, we also care prior and after your trip. We want all of our guests to be happy with the whole Riad El Mansour experience as we know this way the guests will recommend a stay with us to all of their friends when visiting Marrakech.

We are indeed that you found in the ancient medina and most of our clients prefer this as it is away from the maddening crowds! We are situated in a quit cup de sac and only a minutes walk to the real Marrakech. The most common question we get asked is 'How far away are we from Jemaa Fna Square' and we are around a 15 minute walk from the famous square, but there is so much more to see other than the square, most guests walk there once and then they have seen it, done it and got the tshirt!
We are close to the Majorrelle Gardens and other well known spots in the medina. We do not pretend to be a modern soulless hotel in the new town, a hotel where you could be anywhere in the World, we are based in the ancient medina. And if guest want a modern chain hotel, there are many of those to be found in Marrakech.

All of our food is freshly cooked and purchased the same day from the local market, we do not freeze or use ready made foods and that is one reason that we do ask all of our clients if they would like to eat at Riad El Mansour to let us know that day in order for us to purchase the fresh food and let the tanginess cook for hours to envelop the amazing sates of Morocco.

Our in house Hammam is a thing most of our guests try, it is a unique experience, and you certainly do get hot and well scrubbed, a relaxing massage is recommended after for that all over fresh feeling!
All of our staff were very happy to hear that you had such great time, and we would love to welcome you back, along with your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just got around to writing this review having stayed at this Riad in May with my best friend celebrating her birthday. This was our first experience of Marrakech and our stay at this Riad really made it special. The staff were so helpful particularly emailing me prior to arrival to arrange dinner and excursions. They recommended Mustafa as our guide and again he made our trip special, ensuring that we were looked after in the busy streets. Thanks everyone and I have already given your card to another friend strongly recommending they visit you! Sue B

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Many thanks for taking time out and leaving a review for us Sue, it is always good to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

We do answer any questions however small or detailed via email or phone, and at the Riad we have staff available 24/7 to help, and just as importantly to make our guests feel at home.

I hope you will visit us again with your friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.