We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just got around to writing this review having stayed at this Riad in May with my best friend celebrating her birthday. This was our first experience of Marrakech and our stay at this Riad really made it special. The staff were so helpful particularly emailing me prior to arrival to arrange dinner and excursions. They recommended Mustafa as our guide and again he made our trip special, ensuring that we were looked after in the busy streets. Thanks everyone and I have already given your card to another friend strongly recommending they visit you! Sue B

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Many thanks for taking time out and leaving a review for us Sue, it is always good to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

We do answer any questions however small or detailed via email or phone, and at the Riad we have staff available 24/7 to help, and just as importantly to make our guests feel at home.

I hope you will visit us again with your friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    58
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
447
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just spent 4 days at Riad El Mansour. The riad is a great friendly and refreshing break from all the chaos found outside. The staff were brilliant from the time of welcome to the time we left. We had a little orientation and arrangement of a city guide and dinner reservations. We thought about an excursion out of town, but as it was so hot, decided to take things easy and just hang around the small pool. Not big enough for swimming, but it was perfect for cooling off with drinks.
Marrakech can be a bit stressful and the riad was a perfect antidote to it. Our room was comfortable and clean, actually it was cleaned twice a day making a very nice change.
Both breakfast and dinner was very good and very filling. Breakfast is included in the price, dinner is extra and we had it only once while there as we wanted to check out the local restaurants.
We did not have a hammam, although Morocco is famous for this as it was just too hot, but I had a massage which was very good. They do not have a masseur on the premise, but they arrange one to come to their massage room when required. We arranged it in the morning for the afternoon.
All in all this riad is a perfect place for your holiday and we are very pleased we had chosen it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Matt,
Thank you for taking time out to leave a review, as we all know, it is a very low percentage of guests that actually do stay, do actually leave a review, so it is much appreciated!
I am pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us at the hottest time in Marrakech. a great time to laze about and relax!
Good to hear you enjoyed the massage, we have a variety of massages for our guests, and along with the hammam (if you can stand the heat!) a truly cleansing and relaxing Moroccan experience.
I know you are coming again to us next year, and all the staff look forward to seeing you again. Meanwhile look forward to those lazy hot days in the sun again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Even before we left for Marrakech, the staff at the Riad El Mansour were incredibly helpful answering any emails and making sure our airport transfer and first meal were organised. When we reached the Riad the staff provided us with a map and gave us help and advice on where to go, how best to get there, what to say etc which helped us a great deal when getting around.

Marrakech can be a busy and chaotic place, especially in the old town, so returning to the Riad after an evening out was very relaxing.

The Riad El Mansour is well located in the old town and a short walk to the main square. We were also able to walk about 20 minutes to the new town and also about 15 minutes to the Majorelle Gardens from the Riad.

The dinner we enjoyed on our first night was an excellent introduction to Moroccan food. Very tasty and very filling. Also the staff were happy to provide a tasty salad and ice cream when we were peckish; all reasonably priced too.

Much like the Riad, our room was beautiful. (We were lucky enough to have our room upgraded at no extra cost) The room was cleaned twice a day, with fresh water, fruit, robes, slippers etc provided. We couldn't really ask for more.

We also enjoyed a massage on our final evening which was very much welcomed before our flight back to England. Well worth the money.

All staff were helpful from beginning to end and made our holiday that more enjoyable; I can't recommend the Riad El Mansour any more. The Trip Advisor awards are well deserved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you David for the charming and positive review you took time to leave us.

We are very proud of our in-house cook, Latifa, she has worked with us since we very first opened and is a great cook!
We do nit like to think we rip guests off, I personally have stayed at many hotels, and hate the thought of paying for overpriced food and drink, we know we are very competitively priced for our food and drink and in house massages and hammam.

We have been given many awards by trip advisor, and our staff work hard to make our guests feel at home and comfortable.
Reading such a positive review like this is great.

We do hope you will consider coming back to us again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our first time in Marrakech and it was for my partners birthday and a surprise for him.

So much research was undertaken by myself, so many reviews and hotels to choose from. I should have stopped searching and gone straight for Riad El Mansour. So pleased I did.

So many hotels could learn a thing or two from Riad El Mansour, the complimentary items in your room, twice daily maid service, slippers, bath robes, shoe shine service, I could go on and on!

It was initially the communication that made me choose this hotel. From the 1st email they were helpful. I mentioned it was my partners birthday and asked if they could bake a cake for him as a surprise and which of course I would pay for. To my surprise they emailed me back and said that it would be complimentary. On his birthday there was a card from the staff and as for our dinner at the riad that night along there was a special gift of a candle from Riad El Mansour along with the birthday cake.

We used the in-house hamman and had a massage, certainly an invigorating experience and well worth the money.

They really have thought of everything at this hotel and superb value for money and outstanding staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the review David,

So pleased you and your partner enjoyed your stay here.

There are, as you say, many hotels to choose from out there, and good to hear you felt you chose the correct one!

We try and do things different from the mass of hotels and Riads out there, we have service and like our guests to feel at home, not that they are staying in a faceless hotel which could be anywhere in the world.

It seems you took advantage of the hammam, I bet you still feel clean!

Thank you for your kind comments, and we know you will be coming back again to us next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Really enjoyed our 3 day stay at this beautiful Riad. The hosts were great, food delicious and the place really beautiful and relaxing. Do not expect a 5 star hotel, but rather a charming 200 years old+ full of character and history. I'd highly recommend to have Mustafa drive you around the city instead of walking on your own as it will make your experience a lot more enjoyable. The price was very reasonable and we got to see all the major historical attractions without 100F+ heat all day long:)

Room Tip: All rooms are similar size and setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time of posting pictures and writing a review for us.
You came in the hot season for sure, and a great idea to use the air conditioned car for a guide!
Pleased you found the price agreeable and enjoyed your stay with us.
There are no records to be sure how old Riad El Mansour is, but we believe it to be around 300 years old, and there are many stories and legends that come with the Riad, but all good of course!!
Hope you see you again at Riad El Mansour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were there in May for 3 nights wıth with friends of ours. The riad was chosen from amongst many others as there seems to be many to chose from by recommendatıons

We certainly were not disappointed in our choıce and apparently chose wısely. The riad was calm, quiet and peaceful after a hard day of sightseeing and shopping. I do recommend a day trip to Ourika which was refreshing and away from the hussle of Marrakech.

The staff were all very attentive and polite.
The room positively spotless with fresh flowers and complimentary water very day which was refreshing considering the heat outside. So clean that it is done twice a day, both in the morning and then at night. Turndown service was a nice touch, but were where the chocolates !!

Breakfasts were plentiful and somewhat varied (at least the breads).
Dinner was far too much to eat, but very delicious.

We have not made use of the hamman and spa so cannot comment, but over all, I know one will not go wrong this choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review.
We always try our best to make our guests feel at home, but perhaps twice daily cleaning service is not so much like home! We don't do chocolates on the pillow case in case they melt!
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you all come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We so enjoyed the staff who were incredibly helpful. The Riad was an oasis from the outside world. We even got a chance to meet one of the owners and learn more about how he became the owner of the Riad. A beautiful place! Be sure to have dinner there at least once. The food was fabulous. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Heidi, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very pleased that our staff were helpful, although after 8 years, we do know they are good!
Our dinners are good, and plentiful but just what the doctor ordered after a long day in the souls shopping!
We look forward to maybe hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.