We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“What a Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were there in May for 3 nights wıth with friends of ours. The riad was chosen from amongst many others as there seems to be many to chose from by recommendatıons

We certainly were not disappointed in our choıce and apparently chose wısely. The riad was calm, quiet and peaceful after a hard day of sightseeing and shopping. I do recommend a day trip to Ourika which was refreshing and away from the hussle of Marrakech.

The staff were all very attentive and polite.
The room positively spotless with fresh flowers and complimentary water very day which was refreshing considering the heat outside. So clean that it is done twice a day, both in the morning and then at night. Turndown service was a nice touch, but were where the chocolates !!

Breakfasts were plentiful and somewhat varied (at least the breads).
Dinner was far too much to eat, but very delicious.

We have not made use of the hamman and spa so cannot comment, but over all, I know one will not go wrong this choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review.
We always try our best to make our guests feel at home, but perhaps twice daily cleaning service is not so much like home! We don't do chocolates on the pillow case in case they melt!
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you all come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    58
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
438
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We so enjoyed the staff who were incredibly helpful. The Riad was an oasis from the outside world. We even got a chance to meet one of the owners and learn more about how he became the owner of the Riad. A beautiful place! Be sure to have dinner there at least once. The food was fabulous. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Heidi, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are very pleased that our staff were helpful, although after 8 years, we do know they are good!
Our dinners are good, and plentiful but just what the doctor ordered after a long day in the souls shopping!
We look forward to maybe hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The riad mansour is a lovely little gem in the heart of the old town ,very nice owners and there driver is a diamond, had a very nice weekend in Marrakech ,very safe place ,reading some reviews before going to Marrakech I though the place would be full of beggars and people driving us mad who wouldn't take no for a answer ,how wrong I was , the only down side to the whole trip was the food ,it's a real let down ,maybe it's a bit of a tourist trap so they don't try to hard with the food ,the stalls in the square are not to pleasing on the food front ,the restaurants that serve alcohol are more expensive but the food is no better , loved getting lost in the alleys

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Alfred,
Thank you for putting on such a good review for us.
Pleased that you found Marrakech exceeded your expectations along with Riad El Mansour!
Mustapha our driver is a diamond agreed! He is not just our driver, he represents us and all our staff.
Sorry the food in Marrakech did not live up to your expectations, I agree, the food there in restarts is very overpriced, even London prices for not great quality food.
I am not sure if you sampled the food with us during your stay.
We hope you will return to us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After searching for so long, we decided on Riad El Mansour, what clinched it was the speed of their replies and the helpfulness from the offset.
 
I arranged the hotels own private car to pick us up from the airport, and was met by their own driver Mustapha who also works in the hotel on the reception.
His big smile and welcome made us feel so at home.
 
The staff at the hotel are never intruding, always there to offer help and advise and for a chat if you wish, their knowledge of Marrakech is 2nd to none.
 
Our room was on the 2nd floor, it had fresh flowers and fruit and bottles of mineral water replenished daily, Moroccan biscuits and a free sample of the Argan oil.
 
The Riad is situated in the ancient medina, a superb place to wonder around, we loved the area as it is was away from all the touristy parts and was close to a genuine market for locals. The famous Jemma Fna square is around a 15 minute walk away, but we went once, and was not too impressed with it. The beautiful Majorelle Gardens was only a 5 minutes walk away.
 
The hotel is in a quite cul de sac and very quiet, no traffic noise or people outside.
 
The hotel has some beautiful local crafted furniture and artwork, absolutely beautiful and unique.
 
We had dinner twice in our stay and it has to be said it was the best food we ate in Marrakech. The restaurants in the town are very overpriced and overhyped.
 
I would return to Marrakech and Riad El Mansour in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Excellent Staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for thanking the time to leave us a review, I know form experience that many of our guests say they will leave us a review, but never do, and so it is much appreciated.

We aim to reply to all emails within 30 minutes of receiving them, sometimes a lot quicker!
And always here to answer any questions before yo stay with us regarding your up and coming trip.

Pleased you like the area we are situated in, yes it is away form the hassle of the touristy area, and this way our guests to do not get hassled as soon as they step outside the door to buy!! There wis indeed a local market within a two minute walk from our raid.

We hope you will return to us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The place is absolutely beautiful and it truly is a safe haven from all the hustle in town. But what impacted me still more was the warm-hearted service that surpassed all that could be expected by far. The helpfulness of Jamal and his colleague was just unforeseen. They really made our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review.

We do try to exceed our guests expectations at Riad El Mansour, and it seems it worked with yourself!

I am pleased we made your holiday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Abdess and the team are incredibly attentive. Nothing is too much trouble.

We were taken to and from the airport by a taxi which was provided by the Riad. In a way I am glad that we were because the little narrow alleys were a bit daunting to me at first. It didn't take long to get our bearings though!

Our room was on the first floor, and was beautifully furnished in a traditional style. The shower was fantastic and most welcoming as it was at least 40° every day. There is even a small gym if you so wish! We took advantage of the fact that massages can be arranged and both had a treatment whilst we were there.

Breakfast was taken on the roof terrace; although you can take breakfast wherever you like. Lunch and evening meals can be had at the Riad, or if you prefer then the staff will arrange or suggest restaurants for you. We ate lunch and dinner elsewhere (separate reviews).

As others have said, it's about a 15 minute walk to the souks etc, not that we found it a problem. We actually preferred to stay in the north of the City.

If we were to return to Marrakech then we would definitely stay at El Mansour again.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own merits, there is a ground floor one, we were in one of the first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Bev,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us such a positive review.

It is a good idea to use our driver for the airport transfer, as we are snuggled down a cul de sac away from all the noise and all the senses that Marrakech offers. A cool quite haven we like to think!

Next time you come, I do hope you will try our dinners at Riad EL Mansour!

Thank you again fro choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a very nice Riad a bit away from the main souk and difficult to find but comfortable rooms, good food and friendly and attentive staff.

Only downside was that my room was on the ground floor so it was a bit noisy with people returning late at night and if people decided to use the pool as a plunge pool (!).

The tours were also disappointing/ a waste of money and not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

Agreed our riad can be difficult to find, but for many this is part of the adventure of coming to Marrakech and exploring the ancient medina. We are not based in the full blown tourist area, just a good local area where guests are not hassled and we are in a quiet area.

Sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by people using the plunge pool outside your room on the ground floor. Yes that can certainly be an inconvenience, and I do apologise for this. we have 5 other rooms on the first floor, and to be honest, this is the first time ever a guest has mentioned any disturbance.

Surprised to hear the tours you went on you thought were a waste of money. we offer many tours to our guests, and know for a fact that we are very competitive in our pricing.
Many guests choose to find there own way around and go on their own tours, which we do not mind at all. It is for our guests to choose what they want to do. There is no pressure to do any tour or take any guide with us unless you wish to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.