We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb ın All Detaıls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #35 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb ın All Detaıls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After searching for so long, we decided on Riad El Mansour, what clinched it was the speed of their replies and the helpfulness from the offset.
 
I arranged the hotels own private car to pick us up from the airport, and was met by their own driver Mustapha who also works in the hotel on the reception.
His big smile and welcome made us feel so at home.
 
The staff at the hotel are never intruding, always there to offer help and advise and for a chat if you wish, their knowledge of Marrakech is 2nd to none.
 
Our room was on the 2nd floor, it had fresh flowers and fruit and bottles of mineral water replenished daily, Moroccan biscuits and a free sample of the Argan oil.
 
The Riad is situated in the ancient medina, a superb place to wonder around, we loved the area as it is was away from all the touristy parts and was close to a genuine market for locals. The famous Jemma Fna square is around a 15 minute walk away, but we went once, and was not too impressed with it. The beautiful Majorelle Gardens was only a 5 minutes walk away.
 
The hotel is in a quite cul de sac and very quiet, no traffic noise or people outside.
 
The hotel has some beautiful local crafted furniture and artwork, absolutely beautiful and unique.
 
We had dinner twice in our stay and it has to be said it was the best food we ate in Marrakech. The restaurants in the town are very overpriced and overhyped.
 
I would return to Marrakech and Riad El Mansour in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Excellent Staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for thanking the time to leave us a review, I know form experience that many of our guests say they will leave us a review, but never do, and so it is much appreciated.

We aim to reply to all emails within 30 minutes of receiving them, sometimes a lot quicker!
And always here to answer any questions before yo stay with us regarding your up and coming trip.

Pleased you like the area we are situated in, yes it is away form the hassle of the touristy area, and this way our guests to do not get hassled as soon as they step outside the door to buy!! There wis indeed a local market within a two minute walk from our raid.

We hope you will return to us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    60
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
452
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The place is absolutely beautiful and it truly is a safe haven from all the hustle in town. But what impacted me still more was the warm-hearted service that surpassed all that could be expected by far. The helpfulness of Jamal and his colleague was just unforeseen. They really made our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review.

We do try to exceed our guests expectations at Riad El Mansour, and it seems it worked with yourself!

I am pleased we made your holiday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Abdess and the team are incredibly attentive. Nothing is too much trouble.

We were taken to and from the airport by a taxi which was provided by the Riad. In a way I am glad that we were because the little narrow alleys were a bit daunting to me at first. It didn't take long to get our bearings though!

Our room was on the first floor, and was beautifully furnished in a traditional style. The shower was fantastic and most welcoming as it was at least 40° every day. There is even a small gym if you so wish! We took advantage of the fact that massages can be arranged and both had a treatment whilst we were there.

Breakfast was taken on the roof terrace; although you can take breakfast wherever you like. Lunch and evening meals can be had at the Riad, or if you prefer then the staff will arrange or suggest restaurants for you. We ate lunch and dinner elsewhere (separate reviews).

As others have said, it's about a 15 minute walk to the souks etc, not that we found it a problem. We actually preferred to stay in the north of the City.

If we were to return to Marrakech then we would definitely stay at El Mansour again.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own merits, there is a ground floor one, we were in one of the first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Bev,

Thank you for taking time out to leave us such a positive review.

It is a good idea to use our driver for the airport transfer, as we are snuggled down a cul de sac away from all the noise and all the senses that Marrakech offers. A cool quite haven we like to think!

Next time you come, I do hope you will try our dinners at Riad EL Mansour!

Thank you again fro choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a very nice Riad a bit away from the main souk and difficult to find but comfortable rooms, good food and friendly and attentive staff.

Only downside was that my room was on the ground floor so it was a bit noisy with people returning late at night and if people decided to use the pool as a plunge pool (!).

The tours were also disappointing/ a waste of money and not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

Agreed our riad can be difficult to find, but for many this is part of the adventure of coming to Marrakech and exploring the ancient medina. We are not based in the full blown tourist area, just a good local area where guests are not hassled and we are in a quiet area.

Sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by people using the plunge pool outside your room on the ground floor. Yes that can certainly be an inconvenience, and I do apologise for this. we have 5 other rooms on the first floor, and to be honest, this is the first time ever a guest has mentioned any disturbance.

Surprised to hear the tours you went on you thought were a waste of money. we offer many tours to our guests, and know for a fact that we are very competitive in our pricing.
Many guests choose to find there own way around and go on their own tours, which we do not mind at all. It is for our guests to choose what they want to do. There is no pressure to do any tour or take any guide with us unless you wish to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I read the reviews before booking this hotel and hoped it would be a good choice, however when we arrived it exceeded all expectations. We stayed in the Amber Room with our 2 children and the room was simply stunning, as was the rest of the Riad. Breakfast can be taken on the roof terrace in the morning sun or if you wish can be taken wherever you like, just ask them and they shall set a table up for you in the courtyard by the beautiful Moroccan tiled Jacuzzi with palms and open air balconies looking up to the blue sky. The food is wonderful, served with top class service, freshly squeezed juices and even English Breakfast Tea if you so wish (almost impossible to find in Marrakesh). In our room was plenty of drinking water, a huge complimentary bowl of fruit, a selection of small pastries and a bowl of dates, walnuts and dried fruits. The complimentary shower gel, shampoo and moroccan oil for you skin is just to die for (I came home with a large bottle of Oil which I purchased from them). They made our children feel so welcome and our son who is 10 years old is a fussy eater and they could not have been more accommodating. There are robes for you to wear in the room or around the Riad and they have even left a child size robe for our 10 year old which he loved. Slippers are left out every evening when they come to turn your bed down and a fresh bottle of drinking water is always available.
Free Wifi is available throughout the Riad which our children loved.
The hotel arranged transport from and to the airport which is the same price as a taxi, which I would highly recommend as I don't think we would have found the Riad without being escorted to the door by someone who knew their way.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the market area with a lot of interesting sights on the way. The people are very friendly as you walk to and from the Riad and as a family we felt very safe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you Amanda for leaving us such a wonderful review and taking pictures too!

Food can be taken anywhere you wish and at any time you wish, we do not have a set time table for breakfast for example, you get up when you want and eat when you want!
Yes we have good old builders tea and some speciality teas too, our guests do like their cuppa tea!
We do cook for many diets, and can offer children's meals, our cook has been known to make chicken nuggets but not the packet variety, REAL chicken nuggets with real chicken!

We do try and provide what our guests want, and offer complimentary local made bathroom products such as shower gels, personalised soaps, body gel and shampoos, and even a free sample of Argan oil.

So pleased yourself and your two children enjoyed you stay, and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We spent a few days in Marrakesh area. Two days in the High Atlas, recommended and booked by the hotel. A very special experience of walking, a cosy small hotel without electricity in the main building but fires in the rooms and a wonderful dinner and good breakfast - unique? Riad has exceptional rooms - all plushly different with bathrooms to literally "write home about". Excellent location and guide to sights/shops in Medina, photographic exhibition up street (roof top luncheon), dinner in the Medina # 21, exceptional staff - nothing is too much trouble. Our steam room bathing/exfoliating experience was both exhilarating and restfully exhausting. The staff are there to help and standards are consistently high. A special pleasure to retreat to after the hustle of the Medina. Guest care at it's best.

Room Tip: It's not a view sort of place, each room is work of art, your own "den" with all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The riad was a fantastic choice for us, Abdess and the team provided a very special experience for our first trip to Marrakech. From a fabulous terrace meal or drink to a map pre-populated with sites to see and do, a really amazing time. Abdess provided drivers, dinner reservations and help as needed. The riad is a hidden gem, off the beaten path was easy walking to all the main attractions. A lovely experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine room, very quiet at night - but the neighborhood rooster was a bit noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.