We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Riad, but avoid ground floor room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
40% DISCOUNT
Ranked #21 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Riad, but avoid ground floor room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a very nice Riad a bit away from the main souk and difficult to find but comfortable rooms, good food and friendly and attentive staff.

Only downside was that my room was on the ground floor so it was a bit noisy with people returning late at night and if people decided to use the pool as a plunge pool (!).

The tours were also disappointing/ a waste of money and not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

Agreed our riad can be difficult to find, but for many this is part of the adventure of coming to Marrakech and exploring the ancient medina. We are not based in the full blown tourist area, just a good local area where guests are not hassled and we are in a quiet area.

Sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by people using the plunge pool outside your room on the ground floor. Yes that can certainly be an inconvenience, and I do apologise for this. we have 5 other rooms on the first floor, and to be honest, this is the first time ever a guest has mentioned any disturbance.

Surprised to hear the tours you went on you thought were a waste of money. we offer many tours to our guests, and know for a fact that we are very competitive in our pricing.
Many guests choose to find there own way around and go on their own tours, which we do not mind at all. It is for our guests to choose what they want to do. There is no pressure to do any tour or take any guide with us unless you wish to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    54
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
418
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I read the reviews before booking this hotel and hoped it would be a good choice, however when we arrived it exceeded all expectations. We stayed in the Amber Room with our 2 children and the room was simply stunning, as was the rest of the Riad. Breakfast can be taken on the roof terrace in the morning sun or if you wish can be taken wherever you like, just ask them and they shall set a table up for you in the courtyard by the beautiful Moroccan tiled Jacuzzi with palms and open air balconies looking up to the blue sky. The food is wonderful, served with top class service, freshly squeezed juices and even English Breakfast Tea if you so wish (almost impossible to find in Marrakesh). In our room was plenty of drinking water, a huge complimentary bowl of fruit, a selection of small pastries and a bowl of dates, walnuts and dried fruits. The complimentary shower gel, shampoo and moroccan oil for you skin is just to die for (I came home with a large bottle of Oil which I purchased from them). They made our children feel so welcome and our son who is 10 years old is a fussy eater and they could not have been more accommodating. There are robes for you to wear in the room or around the Riad and they have even left a child size robe for our 10 year old which he loved. Slippers are left out every evening when they come to turn your bed down and a fresh bottle of drinking water is always available.
Free Wifi is available throughout the Riad which our children loved.
The hotel arranged transport from and to the airport which is the same price as a taxi, which I would highly recommend as I don't think we would have found the Riad without being escorted to the door by someone who knew their way.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the market area with a lot of interesting sights on the way. The people are very friendly as you walk to and from the Riad and as a family we felt very safe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you Amanda for leaving us such a wonderful review and taking pictures too!

Food can be taken anywhere you wish and at any time you wish, we do not have a set time table for breakfast for example, you get up when you want and eat when you want!
Yes we have good old builders tea and some speciality teas too, our guests do like their cuppa tea!
We do cook for many diets, and can offer children's meals, our cook has been known to make chicken nuggets but not the packet variety, REAL chicken nuggets with real chicken!

We do try and provide what our guests want, and offer complimentary local made bathroom products such as shower gels, personalised soaps, body gel and shampoos, and even a free sample of Argan oil.

So pleased yourself and your two children enjoyed you stay, and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We spent a few days in Marrakesh area. Two days in the High Atlas, recommended and booked by the hotel. A very special experience of walking, a cosy small hotel without electricity in the main building but fires in the rooms and a wonderful dinner and good breakfast - unique? Riad has exceptional rooms - all plushly different with bathrooms to literally "write home about". Excellent location and guide to sights/shops in Medina, photographic exhibition up street (roof top luncheon), dinner in the Medina # 21, exceptional staff - nothing is too much trouble. Our steam room bathing/exfoliating experience was both exhilarating and restfully exhausting. The staff are there to help and standards are consistently high. A special pleasure to retreat to after the hustle of the Medina. Guest care at it's best.

Room Tip: It's not a view sort of place, each room is work of art, your own "den" with all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The riad was a fantastic choice for us, Abdess and the team provided a very special experience for our first trip to Marrakech. From a fabulous terrace meal or drink to a map pre-populated with sites to see and do, a really amazing time. Abdess provided drivers, dinner reservations and help as needed. The riad is a hidden gem, off the beaten path was easy walking to all the main attractions. A lovely experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine room, very quiet at night - but the neighborhood rooster was a bit noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My friend Robert and I stayed at Riad El Monsour for 7 days in May of 2014. The staff at this Riad made our stay incredibly memorable. The building itself is 300 + years old, well maintained, and charming but service is the star here. Mustapha, was our personal guide for a trip to the Atlas Mountains, camel rides, and for a guided tour of the Medina. He is charming, knowledgable, and he seems to know everyone in Marrakech. His motto is "No Problem". Abdess and Wadie run the front office and they attended to everything. When the airline lost my luggage, they helped me track it down, when I misplaced my phone, they tracked it down, when we wondered about sightseeing or restaurants, they made recommendations and reservations. Mustapha, Abdess and Wadie offer a local insight and connection that you will not get elsewhere. We ordered a private dinner that was beautifully prepared by Latifa. Latifa also prepared the complimentary breakfast each day and the lunches we purchased (delicious). Nadia and Sana served meals with grace and warmth and they kept the rooms tidy. The Riad is located in the Medina and it is very safe but it is at the end of a relatively dark alley and is not for those who require curb appeal. It is, however, a wonderful retreat in a city that is absolutely alive with activity and charm.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor and my companion stayed on the second floor. I think I preferred the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in Marrakesh, and the driver was waiting for us at the airport. Half an hour later we were sipping our first glass of Moroccon wine with amazing couscous and tagine made personally for us by the riad. The riad is very tastefully decorated with beautiful colours and decoration. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

The second day we had an amazing breakfast on the terrace. Abdess then walked us through the map of Marrakesh and advised of where to go and what to see. With such advise, you do not need any guides! Over this discussion he also booked us a restaurant for the evening as well as taxi there and back.

We decided to book a trip to Atlas mountain through the riad. This trip was the highlight of our vacation! Our driver, Mousse, was exceptional! Everything was perfectly organised, and we would highly recommend this trip!

If you are thinking of where to stay in Marrakesh, you cannot go wrong with this riad!!

Olya and Fred

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoonhoven, Nederland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a very nice, clean en cosy riad. I went here with my sister and we had a great time! Room, food, people and service: fabulous! When i go back to Marrakesh i would choose Riad el Mansour again to stay over!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.