We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for first timers to Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #23 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay for first timers to Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stopping at the fork in the road to a little lane did not seem like a good start to our first time in Marrakech. It was bustling and overwhelming, dark and a little uninviting until we were greeted by a friendly face, a reassuring word and a delicious meal once we reached the Riad.

The first time walking down the narrow lane ways with doors in walls; passing children playing, women with babies, young men gathered on corners was like entering a totally new world and the Riad staff did every thing they could to assist us to feel at home, help us to orient ourselves to moving around the medina and selecting good places to eat. The rooms themselves transported you to a different world. They were comfortable, clean and had good facilities.

I recommend going up on to the terrace when you return from a day of exploring and have a pot of tea or some other drink drink of choice as you hear the call to prayer. It's quite magical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    54
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
424
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I would simply endorse all the 5 star reviews. The riad is immaculate, with fantastic attention to detail in the decor, and also touches like water and fresh fruit (constantly topped up) in the room. Excellent breakfasts, and the dinners at 300 dirhams were better than anything else we ate in Marrakech - really good home cooking, in enormous portions. All of the staff without exception were friendly and most helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We found a routine where we did sightseeing in the morning, return to the riad late afternoon for tea on the terrace. Frankly, it was such a pleasant place to stay, that when we had had enough of the bustle and confusion of the city, to simply retire there and chill, dine, have a wine, in the 23 degree sunshine on the terrace (in January!) was very tempting indeed. Fantastic help with navigating the city - it really is the most confusing place I have ever seen - and the guidance in the booklet in the room is better than any guidebook I ever saw - they should publish it! One tip - on arrival for the first time, arrange with the riad to be dropped off whwere they will meet you, you will have difficulty finding it otherwise - which is part of the experience! Once you know the way, it is straightforward - about 15 minutes on foot into the main square at Jamaa el Fna.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Traveling with three teenagers who had never been in the Medina of Marrakech before can be daunting for them. Yet, this Riad ended up feeling like our home, or our oasis within the Medina. The location could not be more colorful, and the narrow alleyways leading to your hotel start making you wonder if you made the right choice. Fortunately the staff came to the car to meet us so no chance of getting lost. When the door of the Riad opens you realize that you have arrived at a unique location.
An amazing, quiet, genuine Riad, with only six rooms (and a staff of 6), with a service you don't even find in top 5 star hotels.
Parents stayed in the Amber suite with an extra bed for one of our boys. Beautiful, spacious, clean, with a number of small details like fresh fruit basket every day, dates/dry figs/nuts plate, bottled water, robes, slippers, special soaps, iPod dock, DVD player & TV (discreetly located), etc. Spacious bathroom with very large shower area. Other two teenagers stayed in the beautiful and cosy Jonquil room with their own bathroom and shower area as well.
We had read so much about the service you get here that we were curious. And boy is it true. There is nothing that they cannot help you with or arrange for you, starting with the map and directions introduction which assures that you will never get lost. Wadi, Abdess and Mustaffa are top professionals, and very warm people as well. They simply want you to have the very best experience in Marrakech. They are helpful, but discreet, never too much.
Arranging airport transfers and taxi to and from restaurants at any time was particularly useful.
We arrived late from the desert and had ordered a dinner beforehand. The chicken Pastilla and Tagines were outstanding, huge portions though. Breakfast, which is included, was also very good and plentiful. We all decided to experience the Hamam (1 or 2 people at a time) which in itself is a unique experience. You get rubbed down with special rough glove and soaps, washed with hot water, in a steamy room by a professional. Relaxing and invigorating at the same time. Bathing suits would be recommended but boys did it in boxer shorts and ladies don't need anything (the professional is a lady herself).
Just 150 meters from the Riad is a very colorful fruit/veg/meat/fish where locals shop. The noise, colors, and smells are something unique, as if you had walked into a National Geographic magazine article. We were never approached by anyone in this area, and felt very safe on our own. The main square is a good 20 minute walk (they will order a taxi for you if you prefer), and the Majorelle Gardens, in the new part of the city, is a 15 minute walk away.
If you want to experience a comfortable, authentic, and safe Riad in the heart of the real Medina, with an outstanding staff that is there to help you 24/7, then this Riad is worth considering. We had stayed in fancier Riads in the past but they are expensive for a family of 5. This place is outstanding value.
Like all Riads the center courtyard has an open air roof. We went in late December where early morning and evenings are quite cool and you tend to stay in your room instead of sitting in the terraces or balconies. During the day it was warm. Still, you will enjoy the actual Riad even more as soon as the colder winter days are over.

Room Tip: We liked the spacious Amber suite and would request it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Riad El Mansour for 3 nights at the beginning of December. It was our 1st time to Marrakech and we weren't sure what to expect! Our flight was very delayed on the 1st night and the hotel sorted out our airport transfer and cooked a delicious meal for us when we arrived even though it was midnight plus upgraded our room which was a lovely suprise! Nothing was too much trouble.
On the 1st morning the lovely hotel manager marked everything on a map for us and pointed us in the right direction. We would have been totally lost with out him.
For the other 2 nights we were recommended fantastic local restaurants which were all booked for us by the hotel.
I can't recommend this Riad enough. The service was some of the best i have ever received. The fantastic staff at the Riad El Mansour made our trip to Marrakech a very special one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When the Taxi stopped at a fork in the bustling street within the Medina I would have never suspected that this little oasis of Calm would have been only a minutes walk away. After a brief wander with the driver through a couple of the medina's many narrow lanes we were greeted at the Riad's ornate wooden (and slightly hidden) door by the manager Abdess. Who after showing us to our fantastic room took time to talk us through a map he had prepared of Marrakesh highlighting places of interest, places to eat, the best walking directions from the riad to the Souks and square while teaching us a couple of very useful phrases, before serving us a complimentary Moroccan tea on the sunny terrace, which incidentally is where we ended up eating the lovely breakfast each morning. I cant emphasize how useful the map and directions were as the old city within the walls is a maze of busy lanes and streets which is very easy to get lost in if you don't have a map, and after a day of navigating these mazey lanes the tranquility and friendliness of this beautiful Riad is well appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights there just before Christmas. The Riad is beautiful. Food is delicious. Our room and bath were wonderful - beautifully decorated, comfortable and luxurious appointments - bowl of fresh fruit and nuts, fabulous bath products, bathrobes and slippers, and even a hair dryer! (could use more lighting by the sofa/single bed). The shower was heavenly! Abdes and all the staff were excellent, beyond compare! Very friendly, welcoming, and exceptionally helpful, including emails preparing for our arrival, arranging a guide, dinner suggestions, storing luggage, arranging for rides to/from train, dinner and airport. The guide they set up for us (Najib?) was perfect. We asked for more history, less shopping. He was a wealth of information and is a very peaceful man which was wonderful to counterbalance the high level of activity in the Medina. And when worn and weary after a full day of sightseeing, it felt great to be welcomed home by the Riad staff. I am telling everyone about Riad El Mansour! Don't be put off by it being located at the end of a dark alley in the Medina. It is a diamond in the rough. A heavenly oasis. The staff want you to have a memorable experieince; take them up on it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Your taxi from the airport will drop you a couple of minutes walk from the riad as the lanes are much too narrow for a car. When you approach the front door you start to wonder where you are but it opens into a very attractive reception and courtyard. The owners will greet you and show you to your room, which in our case was on the first floor. We settled in and were then offered a drink and given a map and a talk about how to find things without getting lost. The bedrooms are cosy and decorated in true Moroccan style. Towels are changed daily, a bottle of water is delivered each day, and a bowl of nuts is topped up. There is a plate of small cakes/ pastries on arrival and a well stocked fruit bowl. A bunch of roses were in a vase, and a welcome card.
Breakfast is served in rooms on the ground floor, and if they are full, there are other options on the top floor. When we first arrived it was rather chilly, and it was freezing eating breakfast. We ate with our coats and scarves on. The breakfast menu doesn't change, but consists of juice, cereal or yogurt, bread and jam, and either eggs or fruit salad.
It was an extremely pleasant stay. One thing you may wish to consider is that the stairs are very steep, especially from the second floor to the sunny roof area where the sun beds are. The roads are very chaotic and busy, and it's a good 20 mins walk. However it suited our needs very well and I loved Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.