We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Riad with 1st class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #26 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful Riad with 1st class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Riad El Mansour for 3 nights at the beginning of December. It was our 1st time to Marrakech and we weren't sure what to expect! Our flight was very delayed on the 1st night and the hotel sorted out our airport transfer and cooked a delicious meal for us when we arrived even though it was midnight plus upgraded our room which was a lovely suprise! Nothing was too much trouble.
On the 1st morning the lovely hotel manager marked everything on a map for us and pointed us in the right direction. We would have been totally lost with out him.
For the other 2 nights we were recommended fantastic local restaurants which were all booked for us by the hotel.
I can't recommend this Riad enough. The service was some of the best i have ever received. The fantastic staff at the Riad El Mansour made our trip to Marrakech a very special one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    58
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
88
438
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When the Taxi stopped at a fork in the bustling street within the Medina I would have never suspected that this little oasis of Calm would have been only a minutes walk away. After a brief wander with the driver through a couple of the medina's many narrow lanes we were greeted at the Riad's ornate wooden (and slightly hidden) door by the manager Abdess. Who after showing us to our fantastic room took time to talk us through a map he had prepared of Marrakesh highlighting places of interest, places to eat, the best walking directions from the riad to the Souks and square while teaching us a couple of very useful phrases, before serving us a complimentary Moroccan tea on the sunny terrace, which incidentally is where we ended up eating the lovely breakfast each morning. I cant emphasize how useful the map and directions were as the old city within the walls is a maze of busy lanes and streets which is very easy to get lost in if you don't have a map, and after a day of navigating these mazey lanes the tranquility and friendliness of this beautiful Riad is well appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights there just before Christmas. The Riad is beautiful. Food is delicious. Our room and bath were wonderful - beautifully decorated, comfortable and luxurious appointments - bowl of fresh fruit and nuts, fabulous bath products, bathrobes and slippers, and even a hair dryer! (could use more lighting by the sofa/single bed). The shower was heavenly! Abdes and all the staff were excellent, beyond compare! Very friendly, welcoming, and exceptionally helpful, including emails preparing for our arrival, arranging a guide, dinner suggestions, storing luggage, arranging for rides to/from train, dinner and airport. The guide they set up for us (Najib?) was perfect. We asked for more history, less shopping. He was a wealth of information and is a very peaceful man which was wonderful to counterbalance the high level of activity in the Medina. And when worn and weary after a full day of sightseeing, it felt great to be welcomed home by the Riad staff. I am telling everyone about Riad El Mansour! Don't be put off by it being located at the end of a dark alley in the Medina. It is a diamond in the rough. A heavenly oasis. The staff want you to have a memorable experieince; take them up on it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Your taxi from the airport will drop you a couple of minutes walk from the riad as the lanes are much too narrow for a car. When you approach the front door you start to wonder where you are but it opens into a very attractive reception and courtyard. The owners will greet you and show you to your room, which in our case was on the first floor. We settled in and were then offered a drink and given a map and a talk about how to find things without getting lost. The bedrooms are cosy and decorated in true Moroccan style. Towels are changed daily, a bottle of water is delivered each day, and a bowl of nuts is topped up. There is a plate of small cakes/ pastries on arrival and a well stocked fruit bowl. A bunch of roses were in a vase, and a welcome card.
Breakfast is served in rooms on the ground floor, and if they are full, there are other options on the top floor. When we first arrived it was rather chilly, and it was freezing eating breakfast. We ate with our coats and scarves on. The breakfast menu doesn't change, but consists of juice, cereal or yogurt, bread and jam, and either eggs or fruit salad.
It was an extremely pleasant stay. One thing you may wish to consider is that the stairs are very steep, especially from the second floor to the sunny roof area where the sun beds are. The roads are very chaotic and busy, and it's a good 20 mins walk. However it suited our needs very well and I loved Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We just spent four days in this wonderful Riad and cannot recommend it too highly. We thought we were on to a winner even before we arrived when our emails enquiring about this and that were answered almost immediately. Rare good service here!. The staff are welcoming, friendly and obliging and the facilities, excellent. The mark of an excellent establishment is, in my view, not that it gets everything right first time (after all hostelries are run by humans not robots), but its response when things are not quite right. I only had to mention something when it was put right... not that much was wrong, I hasten to add. We advise eating there the first night you arrive until you get your bearings. Staff are always happy to recommend good restaurants and the free map given to you will be annotated with helpful information by Abdess. Please stay here when you visit Marrakech. You will not regret it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Riad El Mansour was a very nice hotel. My Mum, Sister and I stayed there for the whole weekend.Staff were very friendly, Great breakfast every morning, Good size room, huge bed, exercise room and a computer. The style was very Moroccan tradition. The room came with a TV, Bottled water and a safe. Bathroom was very fancy. If I ever go back to Marrakech I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have recently come back from a 5 days trip to Marrakech; the riad was wonderful, my room was of a very high standard, there always was fresh anjd dryed fruit, a bottle of mineral water, and very good products in the bathroom .The downstirs typical Moroccon patio where you could have breakfast [ cooked to your specification] or a drink after a busy day was terrific, a real delight. I must mention the cook, the best omelettes ever, and certainly all the front of the house. All in all an unforgettable experience, I would certainly want to go back. By the way, I used a local chap[ Hashim] for a trip to the ATLAS MOUNTAINS, an absolute charming guy, and he spoke excellent english, highly recomended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.