We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #21 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just got back home after a 3 night stay at Marrakech and only have very good things to say about this hotel and it's members of staff. We booked the place direct after some searches on tripadvisor and other homepages from other various Riads in Marrakech. The staff are completely concerned about your satisfaction and customer service here leaves us british somewhat embarrassed about our standrads at home! Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace is scrumptious. There are always fruits and nuts and always a bottle of fresh water in the room. Fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    52
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
402
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at Riad El Mansour for 5 nights and had the best experience. Even though it was Ramadan and the staff must have been tired and starving due to the fasting, they always greeted us with a smile and were as helpful as can be. We were welcomed with a detailed lesson on the do's and don'ts in the Medina as well as a complete guide of recommendations on places to visit, restaurants to dine and how to navigate through the hectic Medina.
The rooms were spacious, impeccable and full of small details like a huge bottle of water (perfect for the hot summer days), fresh fruits and nuts. Also loved the body lotion and the soaps.
The rest of the Riad is just lovely, full of small details and decorated with absolute taste. The place is a gem and a perfect escape after a full day out on hectic (but lovely) Marrakech.
We had dinner at the terrace one night and it was amazing. Definitely one of the tastiest meals we had during our stay plus we were served on the terrace on a starry night... can't ask for more.
Can't compliment Abdess, Mustafa, Wadi and the cleaning lady (forgot her name) enough. They were just superb and really know about service (I wish I could bring them all home with me!!)
We also had the pleasure of meeting Robert (one of the owners) and could clearly understand why the place is so special. Can't thank you enough Robert!
Feeling at home when you are thousands of miles away is priceless. Definitely would recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent three amazing nights at the Riad El Mansour. Buried down the small alleys of Marrkech, and through a small wooden door, you're greeted by an amazing oasis away from the hussle and bussle of central Marrakech.

The staff were amazingly attentive to our needs and questions. They helped arrange a great day out to the Atlas Mountains and explained everything we needed to know about making the most of our time there. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the main square or souks. You get a good chance to soak up some of the atmosphere on the walks. If I ever go again I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The service at Riad El Mansour is outstanding. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome and at completely at home in this hidden oasis. On our first night we received a ‘lesson’ on navigating the craziness of Marrakech. This was followed by several more ‘lessons’ during out stay, all of which we were very grateful for as it’s not an easy city to navigate. Nothing was too much to ask for and all the staff were very helpful.

The Riad is lovely. From the exterior it’s unassuming, just a small door in an alley. But inside it’s a luxurious oasis with all the modern conveniences. There is a fast wifi connection throughout the whole Riad and a good selection of TV channels. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and there were fruit and nut platters for our entire stay.

The roof terrace is a fabulous place for the tasty breakfast or a quiet drink in the evenings. And the plunge pool is a great place to cool down in.

It's well located and is only a 10 minute walk from the top of the Souks and a 20 minute walk to the main square.

On the whole a fantastic stay. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent three glorious days at the Riad El Mansour (July 2-5), and I can't recommend it enough. If you want to stay in the Medina (the only way to truly experience Marrakech, in my opinion), then this is the place to stay. It's beautiful, impeccably maintained, and the employees are beyond helpful. You get the feeling that you could ask for anything, and they would make it happen.

While Riad El Mansour is difficult to find (hidden in a back alley), it's also conveniently located a couple blocks from a major taxi stand and bus station. The first day, we attempted to explore Marrakech on foot and got lost a dozen times, all while melting in the 105+ degree heat. After that, we took advantage of the nearby taxis and hopped in a cab to go wherever we needed to go. You have to negotiate the rate, and we managed to get most places for less than $5.

The breakfast (included in your stay at Riad El Mansour) is substantial and seriously delicious. We also had dinner at the Riad one night, and it was the best meal of our trip. The lovely woman who cooks is a genuine Moroccan grandmother, and you can taste the love and pride in her food.

I'm so glad we chose Riad El Mansour. I don't think our trip would have been half as special if we picked a different hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Azure room, which was beautiful. It did, however, receive a good amount of direct s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Riad El Mansour was magnificent. Marrakech was our first stop in Morocco and we were a bit shell shocked (the heat, the winding alley ways, the sounds and smells, the motorbikes whizzing by at high speed, the overall exotic nature of the city). This riad was a perfect home base for our family. It is tucked away, yet close to all the action in the medina. The riad itself is beautiful; the rooms impeccably decorated. The courtyard, the rooftop deck and the sitting areas provided a perfect spot to unwind and relax after a busy day.

While the beauty and tranquility of Riad El Mansour would be enough to warrant a top score, what really makes this place special is the service. Everyone was incredibly helpful, welcoming and went out of their way to see to it that we were taken care of. In a place as far away and different as Morocco, it was a comfort to know that we had a helpful team of people who were committed to ensuring a wonderful trip.

We were greeted at the airport by a driver to take us right to the riad (this is a small cost and is money well spent since there is no way we would have found it on our own). After a tour of the riad and settling into our room, we were given a detailed explanation of our surroundings, including a map and directions to local attractions.

Throughout our stay, the helpful and attentive staff took care of us. In particular, our 11 year old daughter had an upset stomach one day, and the entire staff was extremely kind and helpful--to her and to us. Then there's the food. In addition to the hearty breakfasts, we ate dinner at the riad twice. All our meals were wonderful. We had cookies and tea in the afternoon. They helped us with reservations to restaurants, transportation, and arranged for an on-site henna artist for our daughter.

Marrakech itself is an exciting and fascinating place. We enjoyed exploring and learning about this incredible city. I highly recommend Riad El Mansour as perfect place to experience the hospitality and warmth that this amazing city has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

An original Riad is the only place to stay when visiting Marrakech and the Riad El Mansour must be one of the best of them. Tucked away in a tiny back alley (impossible to find by yourself so take the very reasonable transfer from the airport provided) it provides the perfect base. Wander down the bustling streets and in 15 minutes you are in the Souk, and return (exhausted) and you are back in haven of peace and tranquility. With only 6 rooms the service is exemplary and there is nothing that is too much trouble for the amazing manager, Abdess, and his staff, from taxis ,maps and directions to arranging your own special dinner. This is an amazing place.

Room Tip: The Suite is with the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Hotel
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list