We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here - It's Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #20 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Stay Here - It's Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent three glorious days at the Riad El Mansour (July 2-5), and I can't recommend it enough. If you want to stay in the Medina (the only way to truly experience Marrakech, in my opinion), then this is the place to stay. It's beautiful, impeccably maintained, and the employees are beyond helpful. You get the feeling that you could ask for anything, and they would make it happen.

While Riad El Mansour is difficult to find (hidden in a back alley), it's also conveniently located a couple blocks from a major taxi stand and bus station. The first day, we attempted to explore Marrakech on foot and got lost a dozen times, all while melting in the 105+ degree heat. After that, we took advantage of the nearby taxis and hopped in a cab to go wherever we needed to go. You have to negotiate the rate, and we managed to get most places for less than $5.

The breakfast (included in your stay at Riad El Mansour) is substantial and seriously delicious. We also had dinner at the Riad one night, and it was the best meal of our trip. The lovely woman who cooks is a genuine Moroccan grandmother, and you can taste the love and pride in her food.

I'm so glad we chose Riad El Mansour. I don't think our trip would have been half as special if we picked a different hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Azure room, which was beautiful. It did, however, receive a good amount of direct s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    55
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
436
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Riad El Mansour was magnificent. Marrakech was our first stop in Morocco and we were a bit shell shocked (the heat, the winding alley ways, the sounds and smells, the motorbikes whizzing by at high speed, the overall exotic nature of the city). This riad was a perfect home base for our family. It is tucked away, yet close to all the action in the medina. The riad itself is beautiful; the rooms impeccably decorated. The courtyard, the rooftop deck and the sitting areas provided a perfect spot to unwind and relax after a busy day.

While the beauty and tranquility of Riad El Mansour would be enough to warrant a top score, what really makes this place special is the service. Everyone was incredibly helpful, welcoming and went out of their way to see to it that we were taken care of. In a place as far away and different as Morocco, it was a comfort to know that we had a helpful team of people who were committed to ensuring a wonderful trip.

We were greeted at the airport by a driver to take us right to the riad (this is a small cost and is money well spent since there is no way we would have found it on our own). After a tour of the riad and settling into our room, we were given a detailed explanation of our surroundings, including a map and directions to local attractions.

Throughout our stay, the helpful and attentive staff took care of us. In particular, our 11 year old daughter had an upset stomach one day, and the entire staff was extremely kind and helpful--to her and to us. Then there's the food. In addition to the hearty breakfasts, we ate dinner at the riad twice. All our meals were wonderful. We had cookies and tea in the afternoon. They helped us with reservations to restaurants, transportation, and arranged for an on-site henna artist for our daughter.

Marrakech itself is an exciting and fascinating place. We enjoyed exploring and learning about this incredible city. I highly recommend Riad El Mansour as perfect place to experience the hospitality and warmth that this amazing city has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

An original Riad is the only place to stay when visiting Marrakech and the Riad El Mansour must be one of the best of them. Tucked away in a tiny back alley (impossible to find by yourself so take the very reasonable transfer from the airport provided) it provides the perfect base. Wander down the bustling streets and in 15 minutes you are in the Souk, and return (exhausted) and you are back in haven of peace and tranquility. With only 6 rooms the service is exemplary and there is nothing that is too much trouble for the amazing manager, Abdess, and his staff, from taxis ,maps and directions to arranging your own special dinner. This is an amazing place.

Room Tip: The Suite is with the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Marrakech was not going to be our first choice for a holiday but we are so glad that we did choose Marrakech and the Riad El Mansour!

Riad El Mansour is on the North West edge of the Medina and if you were to form your opinion of it from the local surroundings you would have no idea what awaits you.

We were greeted by Abdess, the manager, as we got out of the courtesy transport from the airport and he led us through a few narrow streets to a black door that, when opened, led into an incredibly peaceful and beautiful haven away from it all.

Abdess explained to us in perfect English some very much appreciated knowledge that makes your stay in Marrakech much more enjoyable and stress free. He supplied us with a very detailed map of the Medina, the New Town and surroundings which is marked out by him showing the main points of interest, places to visit and eat that avoid you having to search them out for yourself.

I am not going to go into detail about the inside of the Riad as it would spoil the surprise that awaits you.

We were actually on a belated wedding anniversary holiday and to our delight the Riad's cook had made an incredible chocolate cake, the quality of which you would only find in an upmarket patisserie, and this was served to us along with the traditional mint tea on the terrace area that afternoon. We had also pre-ordered a meal for that night to save us going out for one.
Word of advice, take a healthy appetite with you as the courses are huge!

The staff of Abdess, Wadi, Nadia, Zoudia, Mustapha and the cook cannot do enough for you to make your stay as memorable as it it could be. My wife took an immediate liking to Zoudia who must be at least 65 years old and works tirelessly all day, she is a little gem of a lady!
Abdess and Wadi have encyclopaedic knowledge of Marrakech and if you have no definite plans, they can assist you with any itinenary you can think of. Nadia always has a smile on her face as she serves breakfast every morning.

Flowers, fresh fruit and bottled water are always in your room and if you are only used to supermarket fruit, then you are in for a treat as it is purchased fresh everyday. The peaches and oranges are so sweet and juicy!

Would I recommend this Riad to anyone?

I certainly would because of the perfection of service from the incredibly kind and attentive staff that it offers. I have stayed in all types of hotels all over the world and have never experienced one that leaves you feeling so relaxed and 'holidayed' afterwards.

Our thanks to Abdess and his staff for such an incredibly relaxing holiday, it would not have been the same without you all!

Room Tip: The first floor is to be recommended purely for the view to the ground floor from it's terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just arrived home from a 5 night stay at Marrakech and only have positive things to say about Riad El Mansour and it's staff. We booked this place directly after some searches via tripadvisor and other homepages from different Riads in Marrakech. The staff are totally concerned about your satisfaction and customer service here leaves us swiss somewhat embarrassed about our standrads at home! Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace is delicious. A lovely extra touch was a bunch of roses, fruits and nuts and always a bottle of fresh water in the room. The total pleasant surprise was the perfect city map with great tips and the drawn way from/back the sights to the Riyad made by Abdess.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just arrived home from a 4 night stay at this riad and only have positive things to say about Riad El Mansour and it's staff . We were on the last leg of our honeymoon and had booked this place via a hotel search website.

The staff are totally concerned about your satisfaction and customer service here leaves us british somewhat embarrassed about our standrads at home! The bar is set - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace is delicious, the in house hammam is a must and the selection of books, dvds and board games is great if you want to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of the medina. The staff even posted my postcards!!! A lovely extra touch was a bunch of flowers and wedding candle and note in the room on arrival, as the staff knew that we were on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Riad El Mansour for 5 nights - a mother and daughter trip. I cannot fault this Riad. At the start we were given a short overview of the local sights and customs and a quick training session on how to say 'no thank you, not today' should we need to in the souks. The staff have expert knowledge of the area and customs and were on hand to help at all times. I could talk through my own ideas from the guidebooks and internet research and they could then give hints and tips and help put together a suitable itinerary. You would not get this in a chain hotel. Wadi in particular was professional and helpful at all times, and always there to welcome us home after a busy day out. A real highlight for us was our day out with Mustapha, the Riad's own driver/minder/satnav/encyclopedia. We visited the Orika Valley and stopped in (on my request) at a girls' School called Dar Taliba. This is a fantastic project aimed at helping rural girls continue their education into secondary school, with a focus on learning Berber traditions, crafts and botany. I am a teacher so I decided to deliver a gift of books, pens and other practical items to the school and they were grateful. We even got a tour of the school and botanical gardens. You need to go right to the end of the Orika Valley for the lovely bubbling mountain river and scenery, but the journey was interesting, and punctuated with fun and interesting facts from Mustafa, including a run down on how to care for my new tagine (which I use all the time). Thank you so much Mustafa, a brilliant day to remember.
Now for the nitty gritty. This is a Riad. The whole entire point of a Riad is to experience the real Marrakech. And if you stay at Riad El Mansour - you will experience the real Marrakech. Real life, all around you. Yes, when you leave the intricately carved door of the fabulous oasis that is your Riad you will be confronted by every day people going about their every day life - butchers butchering, chickens squarking, children playing (and saying 'Bonjour Madame'!), mopeds whirring. Dust noise, the smell of spices. Be under no illusion - this is busy, bustling Marrakech medina, and no, it won't stop for you, no matter how much you feel like royalty while inside the Riad. I went out every morning and drank tea in the local cafes, watching the donkeys and locals bartering. But that's what we signed up for! I went out alone day and night and did not feel physically threatened, although I did feel a bit hassled at times, but c'est la vie. I do recommend practising saying 'pas aujourd'hui' which means 'not today', and is a firm way of saying I'm not interested thank you. I got the hang of it in the end.
We had a day at Jnane Tamsna, a 15 min taxi ride away. It's a fabulous restaurant/pool retreat with botanical gardens run by a retired French lawyer who has won awards for design. Fabulous and surprising, not bad value considering how exclusive it felt (80E for lunch, wine, drinks, all day by pool and gardens for two).
Le Foundouk is a great restaurant - hard to find, but worth it. Do not ever go with anyone/kids offering to show you the way. They may well take you the wrong way and then demand money. Always better to ask a local shopkeeper.
The Riad breakfast was a delight, the service was calm, pleasant, helpful and never pushy. The roof terrace is pretty and relaxing. The beds were comfortable.
When can I come again?

Room Tip: This is a 200 year old building. The rooms are narrower than you would expect for a conventional hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.