We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #21 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Jewel of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

El Mansour is an excellent hotel. It is really home away from home. The service is absolutely impeccable. Everyone from the hotel crew starting from the owner to cleaning ladies, are extremely hospitable, nice, and helpful. Every detail is thought through and customized as much as possible to reflect your needs - food, excursions, local advises, anything that you can wish for is taken care of. We stayed in the Amber suite and it was spacious enough for us and our 8 yo. Rooms are clean and all amenities are there. Food is great and plentiful. Place is very quite. There are no time restrictions for meals - you could have your breakfast at noon :-). Hotel is very kids friendly. Everyone speaks English, so there are no communication issues at all. Riad is located on a small residential street approximately 200m from the main road, but it is not an issue at all, as it helps you to feel the city as soon as you get out of a car. Our special thanks to Robert, Abbdes, Wadi and Mustafa.

Room Tip: Amber suite is the best room; all others are good as well :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    54
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
424
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
us
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I want to thank Abdess, Wadi, Mustafa, and the rest of the Riad El Mansour exceptional team . The most beautiful hotel. My husband and I were born in the former Soviet Union and have been US citizens for over 20 years. We travel quite extensively and stayed in too many hotels to remember. One hotel we will not forget is Raid El Mansour. We are yet to experience such hospitality and beauty combined. This, being our first time to Morocco we really did not know what to expect. Also, we were traveling with an 8 year old child. We were met at the airport by the hotel's driver and taken immediately to the hotel. My husband had mention to Robert and Abdess that it was my birthday trip. Once, we arrived in our room there was a beautiful flower arrangement in the room along with delicious fresh fruit, pastries, etc. Abdess arranged a few excursion in Morocco for us with Mustafa, the most amazing fun person who speaks perfect English. Since we were traveling with a small child we had dinner at the hotel almost every night. The food was delicious, home cooked. We could order from the menu or ask to cook something different which the hotel was happy to do. The breakfast is served in the upstairs deck and it is delicious and has quite a few choices. Our stay at the hotel reminded me of my childhood, careless, happy, everything is done for you :-)!!! I would very highly recommend to anyone going to Marrakesh to stay at the majestic Raid El Mansour. This is the very first review I have ever written. It is something that my husband always does. However, I just could not thank everyone for the most memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Amber suite. Definitely would recommended. Quite large, beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Abdess, Wadi and the whole Riad el Mansour team was fantastic. I cannot say enough about how great the customer service was. I have stayed in many 5* hotels, but this was by far one of the best experiences. It started long before I actually arrived in Marrakech. They arranged a car to pick me up from the airport (for a very reasonable 15 euros), booked me into their own hammam experience (I dont know about the other hammam's in town, but this was very convenient - you get off the plane tired, arrive at the hotel, change into a bathrobe and just go downstairs to the hammam and massage)! I arrived early before my sister joined me the next day - so they arranged a lovely home cooked meal on the rooftop restaurant. Sitting in the cool evening air, with free wifi, I felt very relaxed and calm about life (even if the beer was a bit warm...) Both Wadi and Abdess gave us great recommendations for places to go eat during our days out in the Medina... The hotel itself is very clean, very quiet, and the rooms are exactly what you need (no more/no less), with little touches like fruit and water when you return from the heat of the midday sun... Overall an excellent hotel, and I would come back if I was in Marrakesh!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Staying at the Riad El Mansour was a real treat of Moroccan hospitality.
This being our first visit to morocco we were unsure of what to expect so it was all a bit of an adventure.
The staff of the Riad went out of their way to make sure that our experience was wonderful arranging every detail prior to our arrival...airport transfers, meal on day of arrival etc...by email in the week before.Welcomed with a pot of mint tea and then a personalised explanation of the ways to get around the Medina, what not to do, and must sees as well as a map with restaurants and sights and routes back home all highlighted. All our questions were answered and we had a fantastic experience. Trips arranged to the Palmerie and to the mountains with a driver and also taxis and restaurants arranged for the evenings....nothing was too much trouble.
The Riad is beautifully decorated inMoroccan style and includes a Hamman which is an experience in itself.
We have no hesitation in recommending this Riad to anyone wanting to experience the Medina of Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited Marrakech at Easter
and had a terrific experience at this Riad. The building is lovely and the staff superb! The walk to the Riad was a bit off-putting as the cobblestones were in the process of being torn up and replaced, but it did not dampen the adventure of staying in a "local"area rather than in a huge hotel. All of the staff members went out of their way to make us feel welcome and anticipate our needs. Mustafah acted as our guide for several outings and took such wonderful care of us! We would certainly recommend that others choose this Riad for their stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It does not get much better than this !! Situated within the old walls of the city, this Riad is both traditional and well appointed. We stayed in the Amber suite situated on the first floor which had just about every comfort you could wish for. This was serviced twice per day and fresh fruit and flowers were always a feature. Everything you could possibly need was provided right down to cottonwool buds. TV, dock for your iPod and free WIFI were all included. Wadi, Abdess & Mustafa make sure you, with their help, make the most of your stay. In our case, they organised day trips to the Atlas Mountains, Essaouira and arranged for us both to have a massage on site in their well appointed treatment room and Hamman. It seemed that all services were at the end of their telephones. Everything was added to your bill at the end of your stay, so money changed hands.

We took breakfast every morning on the upper ( 2nd floor ) terrace.Very good choices, and more than enough to eat. There was a lunch time snack menu and you could have dinner cooked especially for you if ordered in advance from the menu. This was very reasonably priced and was of good quality. As is generally the case throughout the places we visited, food portions are very large so perhaps we should have considered dishes to share.

More than anything, we did feel 'at home' in Medina and the various souks where life unfolded everyday. One felt no sense of danger either by day or at night. Not a great deal of hassle either. Perhaps if you want a more 'western' environment, the area might not suit everyone. However in our experience, you are more likely to encounter 'locals' waiting to sell, offer services or pester you in front of the big hotels.

The two day trips that we did are definately not to be missed. Let Wadi & co arrange these for you. They know the best guides/drivers and by European prices the costs are reasonable.

One good piece of advice would be to order via the Riad a private car transfer from/to the airport. For around €15 you have peace of mind and get dropped off close to the front door. This can all be done in advance by e.mail directly to Wadi & Co at the Riad.

So five days of pure leisure and a real feeling of being pampered. What more can we say ?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

An oasis of tranquillity. Tucked away in some side street in Marrakech is this gem of a Riad. The hotel organised the transfer from the airport for EUR15, which was well worth it because we would never have found the entrance at night. Don't let that put you off, after a few minutes in daylight was found our bearing. The Riad also organised dinner for the night we arrived, which was superb. Dinner was very large portions, which we soon became accustomed to in Morocco.

The rooms were fantastic, cleaned twice a day with water, dried fruit and fresh fruit. Breakfast on the roof terrace was bliss, and a far cry from the snow we left behind in London. The service was excellent and Abdess and Wadi were real superstars and couldn’t have been more helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants and destinations were on the mark (PepeNero was fantastic), they booked dinner each night for us and organised a transfer to the coach that took us onto Essaouira. I left my tablet on a coach on the way back from Essaouira to Marrakech and the guys visited the lost property even after I’d left the Riad 4 days previously!

The only minor negative was poor Wi-Fi signal in the bedroom, but who needs it on holiday!
Location wise was perfect, and only a 10-15 minute walk to the Souks and Jeema el-Fna square.

I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.