We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #21 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a charm! A haven of tranquility among the hustle and bussle and dirt of Marrakech!

We have recently left there after a few days break, at Riad El Mansour which was reccomended by a friend, we had a transfer from the airport to the Riad which we were very pleased about, as the airport was very busy and chaotic.

The Riad itself is beautifuly done in hues of green which carried on into our room which although had a fireplace, I personally felt its prescence took valuable space away from the room which was long and narrow.
Still beautifully decorated and with a TV, DVD and docking station.

Although a bathrobe was provided, we found an additional one on our bed along with a single rose so that we could go downstairs to the hammam and massage, I suggest having one before dinner as it totally relaxes you and gets your appetite up for the huge meal to follow.
We opted for the 3 course fixed price menu which was delicious but extremely plentiiful, slightly less volume would have been nice, but we still could not complain as the chicken tagine with lemon was the best we had (although we only ate it at a restaurant La Fondouk)

Many compliments to the staff Abdess, Wadi and especially Nadia as she was the least fluent in English, but made the most effort to try and help, all were very attentive but not intrusive.

In our opinion this is a very well run riad that is deserving of the ranking on tripadvisor.

An establishment that I would not hesitate to reccomend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    55
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
436
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this Riad based on the reviews from Tripadvisor, because we wanted to live the real Marrakech experience instead of the fancy european new town.
Location: it's 3 blocks from the Medina entrance and a bit hidden inside some passways, you can't arrive by car to the door but Abdess was waiting for us to show the way! At first it may freak you out, but once you walk in/out a couple of times you get used to and everytime seemed safe. It was about a 20 minutes walk to the Jeema El Fnaa, 15 from Jardin Majorelle and the new town.
Room: we got the Amethyst room on the ground floor. It was very nice, with a double bed and a big bathroom. The only disadvantage was that you heard people coming in/out of the riad and the kitchen during the morning.
Service: Abdess and Wady were very kind and helped us in any way they could, even before we arrived. We received bottled water every night and some wine because of our honeymoon! We stayed 2 nights for dinner which was very good and large portions but 300dhs per person seemed a bit expensive. Also, the people who cleaned and helped during dinner were very friendly and nice.
Other: wifi was good but not inside the room so we couldn't use it unless we were outside in the courtyard. So, a small TV would have been nice because of this but only the big suite has one. Breakfast was good, homemade and on the roof. One evening, we called the riad to get a taxi to pick us up from the new town and the taxi left us 2 blocks from the riad, which was kind of unsafe as the streets were dark. We thought someone would be waiting for us to walk with us, that's why we stayed the other nights in for dinner.

Overall, an interesting experience which we recommend for young and adventurous people.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Riad El Mansour over the easter long weekend. From the moment we booked Abdess was in constant communication and the service was better than you would receive from a 5 star hotel. As i knew virtually nothing about Marrakech i asked Abdess for some suggestions on activities. He suggested hiring a private driver for the day (80 euros, bargain!) to take us to the Ourika Valley at the base of the Atlas Mountains. The driver (ask for Hicham if you want to do this, he's a top bloke!) is a local who is super friendly and this was easily one of the best days i've ever had on holidays. Make sure you bring some sturdy footwear and comfortable clothes to hike in as once you get to the Ourika Valley, you can go on a hike up to see some waterfalls (takes about 1.5-2hrs depending on fitness) and some of the uphill parts can be semi-challenging. We also visited a traditional berber house and had berber whiskey and some freshly baked bread with home made butter, and some honey and oil. Lunch was by the Ourika river and was excellent.

We had dinner at the Riad one night and it was amazing. Highly recommend the Pastilla and the Lamb Tangine. All the staff at the Riad were so friendly and welcoming. I cannot recommend this Riad enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you're visiting Marrakech, you've got to stay in the Medina--and I can't imagine there are many better places to stay than the Riad El Mansour. You're within easy walking distance of the main attractions but you're also in the heart of a residential district where you'll have the opportunity to experience life in the Medina at first hand. The Riad itself is beautiful and the staff are all lovely. Don't hesitate to order dinner--the food is delicious, the portions are huge, and the wine is reasonably priced. It doesn't feel like eating in a restaurant--more like a special treat laid on by friends. Abness and Wadi are incredibly helpful--they'll take care of restaurant reservations, ordering cabs, etc. It's worth using the car service to and from the airport--it may be slightly more expensive than a cab but it's money well spent and the driver (whose name I can't remember) is charming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've just returned from our four night stay in Marrakech and highly recommend Riad El Mansour as a great place to experience the city from. It's so peaceful and relaxing inside which was welcome after our days out exploring the busy medina. Our room, Jasmine, was beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable and the complimentary bottled water and fruit each day was a nice touch. The staff here are fantastic - so helpful and friendly, booking taxis and restaurants for us and walking us to and from the main street on our first day so we didn't get lost in the winding alleys! Mustafa was great - he met us off the plane with a huge smile and warm handshake, kindly waited whilst we changed our money at the airport, and showed us around the riad when we arrived. We also really appreciated Mustafa and Abdess showing us the routes into town on the map, giving us tips on what to do and pointing out the "must-sees". The food at the riad was also excellent - we ate dinner there twice and couldn't finish the huge portions! Highly recommend trying the fish pastilla which was my favourite dish. Back in chilly London, I'm definitely missing the generous breakfasts on the sunny roof terrace! Also have to mention the great service from Wadi and the young girl whose name we didn't catch. The only thing I can think of that might be a possible down side for some people is that it is located near the edge of the medina - but this meant it was quiet and we enjoyed walking (only about 20 minutes) to the centre each day, taking in the sights, sounds and smells along the way, so really it was a plus point for us. The only thing I regret is not getting around to trying out the hammam! Thank you to the staff at Riad El Mansour for making our stay in Marrakech so special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not a great hotel a FAB hotel.
It surely has to the best hotel we have ever visited, it certainly ranks amongst the friendliest and intimate we have ever been.
The staff are genuinely there to make your stay special, they care about you and always smile, it seems they are happy to be part of such a good team.
Our room the Amber Suite was beautiful, with a wonderful wooden ceiling. The riad has wonderful original features and a lovely sunny peaceful terrace.
There was a welcome card and map and complimentary Argan Oil in the room.
There are bathrobes and slippers and the room is made up twice a day.
There is a small gymnasium upstairs wit a running machine and weights along with a hammam and massage room
Food was great and large portions, we ate there for lunch and dinner, and of course breakfast.
You will leave Riad El Mansour happy and dreaming to go back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went two weeks ago for a 3 day long weekend. The riad is gorgeous inside. We stayed in the Amber Suite which was equally enchanting.

About the riad - Abness and Wabi on the front desk were incredibly helpful from before we arrived and even emailed us when we got home. They made sure we had everything we needed, gave us maps and told us where to go and avoid, helped us by booking restaurants and ordering taxis. We tried the traditional hammam treatment - quite an experience! We ate dinner there one night as we were tired but I would probably spend the money and venture out instead. Breakfast on the rooftop was lovely every morning in the sun.

About Marrakesh - we dressed modestly outside the riad, it's also quite dusty so carry water around, you walk A LOT so comfy shoes are more important that stylish for day time, at night in the tourist places you can dress up, best to eat in tourist places.

Things to see/do - the souk is nicer than I imagined and the sellers weren't too aggressive, go to Cafe France for great views of the sunset, stick to the tourist routes in the Medina. In the new city - lots of walking and parks, the Yves St Laurent garden and more modern places to eat. Everything is closed in the new city on a Sunday.

Overall I would highly recommend Riad El Mansour for a fantastic way to experience Marrakesh.

Room Tip: The Amber Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.