We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
40% DISCOUNT
Ranked #22 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Riad El Mansour. Both Wadi and Abdess were extremely knowledgeable and helpful about what to do/ what not to do in Marrakesh. They made us reservations at a fantastic restaurant (Al Baraka) our first night and we ate at the riad for dinner our second night, which I highly recommend doing. We were seated in our own private dining room and the food was very fresh and absolutely superb. The riad itself was very cute- had a great little rooftop terrace, perfect for sunbathing. We were given complementary Moroccan tea every afternoon, and a hearty breakfast every morning. The rooms were extremely clean, and the maids came to change the bedding twice a day. My only complaint is that the riad itself was a bit hard to find in the maze-like streets, but Wadi offered to walk us to the main road himself every time we went out. We felt very at home at Riad El Mansour and would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine room, which had one large bed, but was fine for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating with all your positive points.
We like to hear all of our guests positive and negative reviews, this way we can work better.
Unfortunately we can do nothing about our location, The Medina in Marrakech is certainly a warren and the majority of our guests have no problems finding us, most enjoying the quietness of the hotel rather than mopeds and locals outside their window.
Our managers will always walk you to the main road until guests do familiarise themselves with the area, and we give all of our guests a free map, and use of a mobile phone should they need it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    55
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
413
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple during February and the end January. The riad is quite hard to find but once you do this really is a nice place and the service here is excellent. Rooms are cleaned twice daily and everyone in the riad is very helpful. The sun terrace is a great place to relax and they even bring you breakfast at the time you wish. One minor nitpick would be that the hotel internet is not very stable but other than that pretty much everything worked as well as one could wish.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We do like to hear such positive feedback form our guests and thank you for leaving us a review.
The riad is down a dead end street which does add to the calm and tranquility of the road.
All our guests are given a complimentary map, and if they require, use of a mobile phone should they get lost, however in the 6 years we have owned Riad El Mansour, only one guest got lost and had to telephone us.
The internet is normally not problem, as we use it 24/7 to check our emails, however, should the wi-fi signal be weak, we do have a computer for all of our guests to use (complimentary of course) in the hotel lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Riad El Mansour. The service was first class, thanks Abdis, Waddi and lovely cook and cleaners: not imposing but nothing was too much trouble. We loved our room (Amber Suite), loved breakfast up on the roof terrace, and loved the whole experience of a holiday in Marrakech. The Riad was so quiet and peaceful, a welcome retreat after our visits to the Souks etc.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Paul,
For taking the time to leave us a positive review, we thank you very much.
We are aware that guests like the area of Riad El Mansour as it is away form the madness of the souks, a short walk to the local market, yet far enough not to hear any street noise and mopeds.
Breakfast is normally our guests favourite time, as you can sit outside and soak up the sun first thing in the morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Riad El Mansour for 4 days in February. It is very conveniently situated in a very atmospheric part of the old Medina - close to everything and a short walk to taxis and the French quarter. The staff are so helpful and welcoming, making recommendations and booking taxis and a mountain excursion. Lovely breakfast and an amazing chicken pastilla, comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms - all in all a great place to stay in Marrakech. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
As always we are very pleased to get reviews and feedback form our guests, and take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay at Riad El Mansour was a delight! British owned, and with really excellent staff everything was first class. The location near the edge of the Medina was far enough inside to be exciting, near enough to the road to easily get a cab. The Riad itself is just the right size and very clean and tidy with lovely rooms and good room facilities and a lovely secluded terrace for meals and relaxation. The main asset is the staff. They could not have been more helpful and all have good English. From the emails covering anything we needed beforehand from managers Wadi and Abdess, to the hand annotated map on arrival, to the cookery lesson with Fatima, to the Riad's excellent driver Mustapha, you could not choose better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a positive review.
Yes, one of our main assets are our staff, most have them have been with us since our first day of opening.
We hope you will return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We visited Riad El Mansour for my birthday in January 2013 and were well and truly spoilt!! All the staff were lovely - Mustafa, Latifa, Abdess, Nadia, Wadjia (excuse the spelling!?) - and very accommodating! Latifa made some amazing hot Moroccan salads - yum! - and the breakfasts were gorgeous. In fact, I wanted the recipes for the salads but forgot to get them :-(! She also made a birthday cake for me for breakfast :-)! My friend has a severe nut allergy too and it wasn't a problem. Would highly recommend the Riad El Mansour!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Many thanks Grace for the positive review!
We pride ourselves on our customer service and have loyal and wonderful staff.
If we are made aware of any food allergies we will always cater for them, and pleased to hear your friend was indeed catered for.
I will ask Abdess to send you a copy of the recipes for the salads today!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Riad El Mansour over New Year and had the most fantastic
time. It is a beautiful Riad and is an absolute oasis of calm and beauty compared to the
craziness that is Marrakech. The rooms are welcoming, comfortable and
each has its own style. The staff were wonderful. We felt extremely
well looked after and they helped us organise anything we requested.

One of the members of our group had recently been diagnosed with
coeliac disease and so is unable to eat any food containing gluten
(bread, pasta, cous cous, beer etc) and we were anticipating lots of
trouble with this is Marrakech. The chef at the Riad however was not
fazed by this in the slightest.. she made a variety of gluten free
breads for us - all of which tasted better than any we have yet tried
in the UK! I would advise anyone with a gluten intolerance to take
some gluten free flour with them and the chef will ensure you are
sorted!

We celebrated New Year at the Riad - with dinner and entertainment and
this was a perfect way to spend New Year! We had lots of fun and
really got to know the members of staff - who were a delight.

I couldn't recommend this Riad enough.. thank you to all there who
ensured our stay was perfect.

Charlotte.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you Charlotte for taking the time to leave us a review, we realise that many of our clients use tripadvisor to make their decisions, and many of our guests say they are going to leave a review, but unfortunately do not.
New Years Eve in Marrakech is a preety unique experience and good to hear that you enjoyed the buffet and group we had for that special evening.
We always cater for all our guests and ask them at time of booking if they have any special requests, and then we can prepare in advance for any special diets. Sometimes it is easier of the guest brings in their own flour for example as sometimes the specialist foods are not available in Marrakech, and our cook can then prepare all the foods using this flour.
Thank you for recommending us also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.