We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Find of a Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
40% DISCOUNT
Ranked #21 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Find of a Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a great place Riad El Mansour is. Just six bedrooms, it is intimate and secluded. The roof terrace is a sun trap and great for soaking up the sun - a world away from our grey winters' days in England. All the staff are amazing, very easy going about breakfast times, the food is fantastic - Latifa makes a mean Morrocan salad that is hot - just what you need. Abdess on reception is amazing and Nadia and Wadjea (sorry about the spelling here) all made our short trip fun and safe. We will be back.

Room Tip: One bedroom is on the ground floor so I would choose one on the five on the first floor. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We at Riad El Mansour take time to read all of our reviews and respond to all of them, they are all important to us.
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on tripadvisor for us.
We are a small hotel with just 6 bedrooms, and because of this, we do feel that we provide the 'personal touch' unlike any of the larger chain hotels in Marrakech.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the sun in January rather than the snow you probably have now!
We have known since opening Riad El Mansour, that Latifa is a good cook, she has been with us since day one!
We look forward to welcoming you back again in magical Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    55
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
415
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Riad El Mansour during mid December 2012. What a way to be introduced to Marrakech! Mustafa came to fetch us at the airport and what an honour to be welcomed and served by such a loyal and humble character. He is the embodiment of what Marrakech is all about. Joyous, relater, loyal to his commitments made to us, abounding in energy. Finding our Riad through a myriad of alleyways and being invited by some shop owners to have some mint tea with them was exactly what I envisaged. The Riad itself was a haven of tranquility and authenticity from the maddening crowds and can one say more about the quality of the food, the beautiful rooms and helpful staff? We especially enjoyed the breakfasts on the terrace every morning. Home made yoghurt, moroccan style omelette, fresh orange juice and breads...to die for. Robert the owner and the rest of his staff went out of their way to accommodate us time and time again. thank you. We look forward to visit soon on a city break from London! Andre, Jackie and Cobus

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you Andre for the lovely review
We have just been notified that we have been awarded the 'Best Service Award' by trip advisor for 2013, and we are pleased of this award and the ongoing positive reviews we receive.
We are very pleased that you found everything as you envisaged and we now look forward to seeing you and your wife again in February for your birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wonderful and welcoming !!! Staff fabulous and rooms beautifully decorated and clean. Lovely breakfast on roof terrace and most importantly for us it was a peaceful haven after spending most of our time exploring Marrakesh. Also a special thank you to staff for arranging postage on the shoes we left behind !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you Siobhan for leaving us the review!
After having just been notified that we have been awarded '2013 Best Service award' I guess we are doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a cute and intimate hotel nestled in the Medina but totally calm and peaceful. The roof terrace is lovely and gets plenty of sun. The rooms are traditional and cosy. What makes this place however is the staff, who are friendly and helpful and cannot do enough to make their guests feel at home. The personal touch, insider tips, restaurant bookings etc. are fabulous. Highly recommend enjoying breakfast on the terrace and eating in the hotel one night (huge portions!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We thank you for leaving a positive review for us.
We have been praised many times for our staff here at Riad El Mansour.
We try to make all of our guests feel special and welcome without being too intrusive.
Our roof terrace certainly is a sun trap and its lovely to spend a day up there relaxing, reading, taking the sun and wit a chilled drink after a day day in the hectic souks!
It is a nice way to start the day having breakfast on the terrace to hear the birds singing and seeing clear blue skies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it! The rooms are cleaned twice a day, with free water, fruits and nuts and include breakfast! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, with restaurants advice, taxis and booking! There is also a hammam, which is fab! We eat here two nights and the food was great and very reasonable! All in all we really enjoyed our stay! Melanie

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. All reviews are important to us.
Christmas is certainly a special time to spend in Marrakech, not so much commercialism, but the Moroccans are catching on!
But at least you were in the sun which I am sure your friends could not have said the same on Christmas Day!
We do have a hammam which most of our guests use, it is preety unique to Morocco and you certainly come out well scrubbed after!
Pleased you ate with us twice and enjoyed!
Thank you again Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Where to begin? Within minutes of making our booking we had received a welcome email and this set the tone for our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the day we arrived we were given a ten minute orientation and talked through the map that we had been supplied with. Regardless of the time of day you were always greeted with a smile and on returning to the Riad from our explorations there was always an interested enquiry about what we had been visiting/doing, The staff arranged an excursion for us to the Ourika Valley and were helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay. The food in the hotel is fabulous if you don't fancy eating out! Overall I would thoroughly recommend the Riad and you can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome from Abdess, Wadi and the rest if the staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you Michelle for leaving a great review for us, we realise that many of our guests look at trip advisor to compare hotels, and we really appreciate it when guests do leave a review, as we are aware that in reality only a small percentage that say they will leave a review actually do!
We do pride ourselves on our Mangers Abdess and Wadi and are pleased to have them from our very first day of opening.
We do arrange trips to outside MArrakech with English speaking drivers who are always willing to stop for photo shoots along the way!
Our food is freshly prepared from food purchased on a daily basis from the local market.
Thank you for your recommendation for other guests to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fantastic Riad which I would highly recommend, Abdess and Wadi and the other staff were great. The Amber suite is beautiful and tranquillity of the Riad was welcome break from the craziness of the meandering streets and alleyways. On arrival we were given a map with loads of hand written notes, without which there is no doubt we would have we got lost. I would strongly recommend taking a compass, because all the streets look very similar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sally,
Thank you for making time to leave us a good review!
Marrakech and the souks certainly are a maze to get lost in, a complete warren of wonderful gifts!
We do not supply compasses (but a good idea!) I think the days of technology has moved on and people have mobile phones with compasses built in!
We do supply a mobile phone for our guests should they require it, and if they get lost, we will come and meet them, but to be honest in the 6 years we have owned Riad El Mansour, only one guest ever got herself totally lost!
We do supply a map, and our Managers will give you directions to your required destination, and also we supply a taxi service where the drivers will meet you at our front door and take you to your destination and then wait for you and walk you back to our front door if you should require.
We find many of our guests use this service when going out for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.