We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the heart of the old medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE RETURN AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #20 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the heart of the old medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Riad El Mansour during mid December 2012. What a way to be introduced to Marrakech! Mustafa came to fetch us at the airport and what an honour to be welcomed and served by such a loyal and humble character. He is the embodiment of what Marrakech is all about. Joyous, relater, loyal to his commitments made to us, abounding in energy. Finding our Riad through a myriad of alleyways and being invited by some shop owners to have some mint tea with them was exactly what I envisaged. The Riad itself was a haven of tranquility and authenticity from the maddening crowds and can one say more about the quality of the food, the beautiful rooms and helpful staff? We especially enjoyed the breakfasts on the terrace every morning. Home made yoghurt, moroccan style omelette, fresh orange juice and breads...to die for. Robert the owner and the rest of his staff went out of their way to accommodate us time and time again. thank you. We look forward to visit soon on a city break from London! Andre, Jackie and Cobus

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you Andre for the lovely review
We have just been notified that we have been awarded the 'Best Service Award' by trip advisor for 2013, and we are pleased of this award and the ongoing positive reviews we receive.
We are very pleased that you found everything as you envisaged and we now look forward to seeing you and your wife again in February for your birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    55
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
436
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wonderful and welcoming !!! Staff fabulous and rooms beautifully decorated and clean. Lovely breakfast on roof terrace and most importantly for us it was a peaceful haven after spending most of our time exploring Marrakesh. Also a special thank you to staff for arranging postage on the shoes we left behind !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you Siobhan for leaving us the review!
After having just been notified that we have been awarded '2013 Best Service award' I guess we are doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a cute and intimate hotel nestled in the Medina but totally calm and peaceful. The roof terrace is lovely and gets plenty of sun. The rooms are traditional and cosy. What makes this place however is the staff, who are friendly and helpful and cannot do enough to make their guests feel at home. The personal touch, insider tips, restaurant bookings etc. are fabulous. Highly recommend enjoying breakfast on the terrace and eating in the hotel one night (huge portions!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We thank you for leaving a positive review for us.
We have been praised many times for our staff here at Riad El Mansour.
We try to make all of our guests feel special and welcome without being too intrusive.
Our roof terrace certainly is a sun trap and its lovely to spend a day up there relaxing, reading, taking the sun and wit a chilled drink after a day day in the hectic souks!
It is a nice way to start the day having breakfast on the terrace to hear the birds singing and seeing clear blue skies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it! The rooms are cleaned twice a day, with free water, fruits and nuts and include breakfast! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, with restaurants advice, taxis and booking! There is also a hammam, which is fab! We eat here two nights and the food was great and very reasonable! All in all we really enjoyed our stay! Melanie

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. All reviews are important to us.
Christmas is certainly a special time to spend in Marrakech, not so much commercialism, but the Moroccans are catching on!
But at least you were in the sun which I am sure your friends could not have said the same on Christmas Day!
We do have a hammam which most of our guests use, it is preety unique to Morocco and you certainly come out well scrubbed after!
Pleased you ate with us twice and enjoyed!
Thank you again Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Where to begin? Within minutes of making our booking we had received a welcome email and this set the tone for our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the day we arrived we were given a ten minute orientation and talked through the map that we had been supplied with. Regardless of the time of day you were always greeted with a smile and on returning to the Riad from our explorations there was always an interested enquiry about what we had been visiting/doing, The staff arranged an excursion for us to the Ourika Valley and were helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay. The food in the hotel is fabulous if you don't fancy eating out! Overall I would thoroughly recommend the Riad and you can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome from Abdess, Wadi and the rest if the staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you Michelle for leaving a great review for us, we realise that many of our guests look at trip advisor to compare hotels, and we really appreciate it when guests do leave a review, as we are aware that in reality only a small percentage that say they will leave a review actually do!
We do pride ourselves on our Mangers Abdess and Wadi and are pleased to have them from our very first day of opening.
We do arrange trips to outside MArrakech with English speaking drivers who are always willing to stop for photo shoots along the way!
Our food is freshly prepared from food purchased on a daily basis from the local market.
Thank you for your recommendation for other guests to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fantastic Riad which I would highly recommend, Abdess and Wadi and the other staff were great. The Amber suite is beautiful and tranquillity of the Riad was welcome break from the craziness of the meandering streets and alleyways. On arrival we were given a map with loads of hand written notes, without which there is no doubt we would have we got lost. I would strongly recommend taking a compass, because all the streets look very similar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sally,
Thank you for making time to leave us a good review!
Marrakech and the souks certainly are a maze to get lost in, a complete warren of wonderful gifts!
We do not supply compasses (but a good idea!) I think the days of technology has moved on and people have mobile phones with compasses built in!
We do supply a mobile phone for our guests should they require it, and if they get lost, we will come and meet them, but to be honest in the 6 years we have owned Riad El Mansour, only one guest ever got herself totally lost!
We do supply a map, and our Managers will give you directions to your required destination, and also we supply a taxi service where the drivers will meet you at our front door and take you to your destination and then wait for you and walk you back to our front door if you should require.
We find many of our guests use this service when going out for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

To experience Marrakech then you will not do better than staying in a Riad inside the Medina, the old walled town. For me, the El Mansour was better than I hoped for. Located in a busy part of the north-east area of the Medina, it was down back alley (which they helped us to find our way about at first - no lost guests!). Although it was good walk to the main square, this meant it was also a short walk into the European-style town - the delightful Majorelle gardens were just 20 mins away, so we could benefit from both aspects of the town. Even though we were inside the Medina, it was a tranquil haven detached from the bustle outside; the only noise from outside was the dawn chorus from the birds (finches and house bustards), and the call to prayer. But above all, the staff made it a delight - they kept it spotless and well-run, with fantastic hospitality and charm, and were very attentive without being intrusive. They also got reliable drivers who could speak good English, and provided good advice. I had warned them in advance that one of us has special dietary needs, and they went out of their way to work with us on this, which was a great relief. They provided a great breakfast that set you up for the day, and very generous evening meals. The top floor was also a great place to eat or settle down and read or plan the day, basking in the warm December sun.
I don't know what more we could have asked for...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.
Once we have received a booking, we always ask our guests if they have any special requirements, or needs, or wishes, and were pleased that you informed us of your special dietary needs, and we were very pleased to have been able to cater to your needs. As you know Morocco is not well versed in this particular need and so I am very pleased that you were well looked after and did not go hungry.
Sun and warmth is rare in UK in December and pleased you took some rays for the return of snow and Ice and rain and wind, and perhaps you will come again in those bleak mid winters you have in London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.