We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
40% DISCOUNT
Ranked #21 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Excellent Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it! The rooms are cleaned twice a day, with free water, fruits and nuts and include breakfast! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, with restaurants advice, taxis and booking! There is also a hammam, which is fab! We eat here two nights and the food was great and very reasonable! All in all we really enjoyed our stay! Melanie

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. All reviews are important to us.
Christmas is certainly a special time to spend in Marrakech, not so much commercialism, but the Moroccans are catching on!
But at least you were in the sun which I am sure your friends could not have said the same on Christmas Day!
We do have a hammam which most of our guests use, it is preety unique to Morocco and you certainly come out well scrubbed after!
Pleased you ate with us twice and enjoyed!
Thank you again Melanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    55
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
416
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Where to begin? Within minutes of making our booking we had received a welcome email and this set the tone for our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the day we arrived we were given a ten minute orientation and talked through the map that we had been supplied with. Regardless of the time of day you were always greeted with a smile and on returning to the Riad from our explorations there was always an interested enquiry about what we had been visiting/doing, The staff arranged an excursion for us to the Ourika Valley and were helpful and friendly throughout our entire stay. The food in the hotel is fabulous if you don't fancy eating out! Overall I would thoroughly recommend the Riad and you can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome from Abdess, Wadi and the rest if the staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you Michelle for leaving a great review for us, we realise that many of our guests look at trip advisor to compare hotels, and we really appreciate it when guests do leave a review, as we are aware that in reality only a small percentage that say they will leave a review actually do!
We do pride ourselves on our Mangers Abdess and Wadi and are pleased to have them from our very first day of opening.
We do arrange trips to outside MArrakech with English speaking drivers who are always willing to stop for photo shoots along the way!
Our food is freshly prepared from food purchased on a daily basis from the local market.
Thank you for your recommendation for other guests to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fantastic Riad which I would highly recommend, Abdess and Wadi and the other staff were great. The Amber suite is beautiful and tranquillity of the Riad was welcome break from the craziness of the meandering streets and alleyways. On arrival we were given a map with loads of hand written notes, without which there is no doubt we would have we got lost. I would strongly recommend taking a compass, because all the streets look very similar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sally,
Thank you for making time to leave us a good review!
Marrakech and the souks certainly are a maze to get lost in, a complete warren of wonderful gifts!
We do not supply compasses (but a good idea!) I think the days of technology has moved on and people have mobile phones with compasses built in!
We do supply a mobile phone for our guests should they require it, and if they get lost, we will come and meet them, but to be honest in the 6 years we have owned Riad El Mansour, only one guest ever got herself totally lost!
We do supply a map, and our Managers will give you directions to your required destination, and also we supply a taxi service where the drivers will meet you at our front door and take you to your destination and then wait for you and walk you back to our front door if you should require.
We find many of our guests use this service when going out for dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

To experience Marrakech then you will not do better than staying in a Riad inside the Medina, the old walled town. For me, the El Mansour was better than I hoped for. Located in a busy part of the north-east area of the Medina, it was down back alley (which they helped us to find our way about at first - no lost guests!). Although it was good walk to the main square, this meant it was also a short walk into the European-style town - the delightful Majorelle gardens were just 20 mins away, so we could benefit from both aspects of the town. Even though we were inside the Medina, it was a tranquil haven detached from the bustle outside; the only noise from outside was the dawn chorus from the birds (finches and house bustards), and the call to prayer. But above all, the staff made it a delight - they kept it spotless and well-run, with fantastic hospitality and charm, and were very attentive without being intrusive. They also got reliable drivers who could speak good English, and provided good advice. I had warned them in advance that one of us has special dietary needs, and they went out of their way to work with us on this, which was a great relief. They provided a great breakfast that set you up for the day, and very generous evening meals. The top floor was also a great place to eat or settle down and read or plan the day, basking in the warm December sun.
I don't know what more we could have asked for...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.
Once we have received a booking, we always ask our guests if they have any special requirements, or needs, or wishes, and were pleased that you informed us of your special dietary needs, and we were very pleased to have been able to cater to your needs. As you know Morocco is not well versed in this particular need and so I am very pleased that you were well looked after and did not go hungry.
Sun and warmth is rare in UK in December and pleased you took some rays for the return of snow and Ice and rain and wind, and perhaps you will come again in those bleak mid winters you have in London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visited Marrakech for a few nights in December and decided to stay at the El Mansour after reading good reviews from previous guests. Everything about my stay was excellent: the friendly and reliable transport to and from the airport, the warm welcome from the staff, the delicious meal specially prepared for my arrival, the advice on what to see and how to get there, the cleanliness and quality of the room, the peaceful nature of the Riad (an island of tranquility amidst a hectic and bustling city) and the terrace (perfect for chilling out in the warm winter sun after breakfast).
Nothing was too much trouble for Abdess and the evening manager whose name I didnt catch. The Riad is set within the Medina to the north west, about 15 - 20 min walk from the main square. Its easy to lose yourself in the area, but part of the experience visiting the old city, and in this part of the town, you're never far from friendly and helpful locals who will smile and point you in the right direction (closer to the tourist hotspots you need to be more careful a few comical hustlers ...dont believe them when they tell you the Palaces are closed!)

In short, if I visit Marrakech again, or Morocco, I will make sure i drop by this place again for another night or two

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a good review.
We do arrange airport transfers for all of our guests, of course, should a guest wish, they can always arrange their own transport, but as Riad El Mansour is in a cul de sac, and there are 100's of Riads in Marrakech, not all taxi drivers will know our hotel.
Our driver Mustapha will meet our guests at the airport and then bring them back to the hotel directly.
Marrakech is a lovely place to visit at this time of year, as mentioned, Winter SUN !!! Still lovely and warm during the day, but chilly at nights.
We give all of our guests a complimentary map and are happy to offer and point out any attractions that they may wish to see.
Please drop by next time you are in Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have just returned from a short break to Marrakech.
It took a bit of time reading through Tripadvisor reviews before we decided on the Riad el Mansour. This riad seemed to fulfil all our requirements and we are very pleased that we decided on Riad el Mansour.
Though the riad seems to be a bit hidden, it was within easy walking distance from the centre of the old city and an oasis of calm and tranquillity amongst the seeming chaos of Marrakech.
Nothing seemed like too much trouble for either Abdess or Wadi, who were so helpful in suggesting very good restaurants, arranging transport and organising a trip to the mountains for us.
We had dinner at the riad the first night, and it was exceptionally good. We felt guilty having to leave so much food in our plates due to the size of the portions.
The restaurants we visited the following 2 nights, were equally good, thanks to Abdess' recommendation.

Mustafa was the driver who took us to a village high up is the mountains. Not only is he a friendly, helpful and safe driver but also a very knowledgeable guide. Definitely, a trip to be recommended.

Since our flight left late in the afternoon, Abdess kindly offered us continued use of our room until it was time to leave for the airport. What a pleasant end to our Marrakech break.
I cannot recommend the Riad el Mansour higher. The staff turned our short break into an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for the review.
Yes we admit Riad El Mansour is a bit hidden as are almost all of the Riads in the ancient medina, but we are pleased that we are in a quite area, and not too close to any Mosques that wake guests up with the early call to prayer and we are away from the noise of the mopeds and cars and donkeys!
As mentioned we easy walking distance to the attractions and less than a 10 minute walk to the Beautiful Yves St Laurent gardens.
Our guests are pleased to have a little sanctuary away from the madness that is Marrakech!
We would always let our guests stay to use their room later than the normal required midday departure, and of course with no extra charge.
Marrakech is an unforgettable experience, and everyone should at least give it one chance to say they have been there, and fall in love with the magical City, and perhaps return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I have traveled extensively, all around the world over the years, and Riad El Mansour is by far one of the top places we have stayed. Robert and his staff spare NO effort in making sure that their guests have the very best care while under their roof. From when the room was first booked, we were contacted by email (and telephone!) regarding train station transfers and meal selections. When we arrived in Marrakech we were met by Mustafa and taken to the riad. As cliche as it may sound, we really felt like we were greeted by an old friend instead of someone we'd never laid eyes on.It only got better after that. The riad itself is absloutely impeccable. A true oasis of clean and calm in the center of the bustling old city. Beautiful appointments throughout with amazing attention to detail You can't help but be impressed. The food and drink were superb. Moroccan specialties cooked to perfection presented with polite, courteous, and efficient service. The room was very comfortable and deftly appointed. Water, snacks, robes, slippers, soaps and lotions all contribute to the overall relaxing effect. And it doesn't end there! The staff, with particular mention of Abdess, really went out of their way to ensure that we had the best possible experience not only in the riad, but in Marrakech and Morocco as a whole. When we hit a glitch in our ongoing travel plans due to the Eid el Adha holiday, Abdess and Mustafa went the extra mile to sort us out with phone calls, taxis, bus tickets, and accomodation all on a holiday when not much was getting done. I have blood relatives who wouldn't take care of me as well!!
All in all, our stay at Riad El Mansour is definitely one we will never forget.This place is much, much more than a hotel or guest house! Inshallah, we will visit our friends in Marrakech again someday soon. When that time comes, we'll feel like we're going home. Highly recommended on all levels!!!

Room Tip: In Marrakech, don't look any further!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the long, informative and very positive review!
We are pleased you chose Riad El Mansour, and seems you were pleased too.
We always try to do little things to make each stay more personal and it seems very much appreciated by all of our guests.
We treat all of our guests with the attention and care which is needed for them to enjoy a much deserved holiday.
Things do occasionally go wrong on someones holiday and our staff will always do the utmost to help in any way they can.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Marrakech again shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.