We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary in medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
40% DISCOUNT
Ranked #21 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A sanctuary in medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a lovely place to stay in medina...absolute retreat. The hospitality started the minute we booked the place as the hotel contacted us by email and asked if we have any special request so they can accommodate it and also arranged our pick up from the airport ( which was money well spent). They also assured us they can guide us with all our sightseeing ( which we saved money with) or arrange for a guide if we would like to. The Riad is very clean, nicely decorated and really charming. The staff made sure when we arrived the we receive a full tour of the Riad, handed us a fully marked map of the medina with how and where to get there. Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the terrace that was included in the price and we also enjoyed few home cooked meals in the Riad prepared by the staff. I highly recommend the Riad as your vacation destination.
Manhal T.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
Many of our guests find our hotel through tripadvisor and don't take the time to leave a review after, and so it is much appreciated!
We always email our guests for any special needs or requests they may have and inviting them for dinner on their day of arrival.
We also arrange airport transfers to the riad if required.
We serve breakfasts as and when and where required.. our only rule at Riad El Mansour is to relax and enjoy your holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    54
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
418
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this Riad due to the reviews here on Trip Advisor and were not dissapointed. Abdess met us and walked us to the Riad, showed us around and over a complementary drink showed us the best routes to get around the Maze that is Marrakech. The Riad is a hidden gem of relaxation and luxury amid the madness of the Medina. It is only a 10 minute walk from the square and the new town is also only a 20 minute walk or short cab ride. The Riad will arange all taxis for you so there is no worry about language or being over charged.

The attention to detail and helpfulness of the staff made us feel like royalty and the advice given made Marrakech much easier than if we had done it completely alone.

Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. Whilst we didn't eat an evening meal there, I have no doubt that the homecooked cuisine would have been delicious.

All in all if you are heading to Marrakech this Riad is worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
Many of our guests find our hotel through tripadvisor and don't take the time to leave a review after, and so it is much appreciated!
We take much pride in our customer service and our guests are always made to feel at home.
We do arrange all taxis if the guests require them to take them to a restaurant for example. the driver will come to the Riad and then escort you to the car and then when you are ready to leave the restaurant the driver will be waiting for you outside to escort you back to the front door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet in Marrakesh, then the Riad El Mansour is a good choice. It's tucked away at the end of a side street at one edge of the Medina - but is still central enough to be able to walk fairly easily to all of the major attractions. In fact, it is so well hidden that you need to make sure you get a very good map before you arrive - or ask the Riad to arrange a taxi to pick you up from the airport or station.

The Riad is beautifully furnished throughout and bedrooms, each individually styled, are lovely - and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are great too - very welcoming and very helpful. the Riad El Mansour is an excellent choice if you are looking for somewhere a bit special in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking time out after your holiday with us.

As you rightly mention, we are not on a major road, and when you arrive for the first time our driver will carry your luggage and walk you to the Riad, and then one of our staff will give you a complimentary map and answer any questions you may have about Marrakech!

Our beds and in fact all of our furniture is made by local artisans.

Thank you for calling us 'special' and we hope that you will return back to us should your travels bring you back to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, opting for the Amber Suite. While the suite is more expensive than the other rooms I think it is money well spent as you get more space, including a proper seating area in your room. That said, the raid has plenty of communal seating areaas on the ground floor, first floor and roof so there's no shortage of room to sit and relax. Abdess, Wadi and the ladies in the riad couldn't do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble. The riad is on the edge of the medina, but not too far away from the main square as to be a problem at all - it is situated in a more local neighbourhood which is fun if somewhat frentic on occasion. All in all I'd throroughly recommend the riad as a great place to say.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we very much appreciate it, and so do other guests thinking of coming to stay with us.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Amber Suite.
As you mention, the area in which Riad El Mansour is based, is not in the thick of the tourist traps, and indeed in a quiet dead end street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Riad El Mansour is a hidden gem in the medina. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. Wadi, Abdess and Mustafa on the front desk made us feel really special and well looked after. They were the perfect hosts. They responded to our every request courteously and without fuss.

The Riad is beautifully furnished and feels very luxurious, easily comparable to most 5* hotels, but also has the unique feel of a boutique hotel. It is walking distance to most places in the medina and also to the new city too. A great base to explore Marrakech! I would definitely return and recommend to friends and family too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amber suite.. was very spacious and is probably worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Than you for taking time to leave us a review, we love to hear our guests feedback as I am sure the readers of tripadvisor do to help them choose their hotel to stay in.

We certainly try not to be a bland faceless corporate hotel and enjoy getting to know our guests and making them feel relaxed and welcome at all times.

Our Riad is not in the touristy area where people are bombarded with touts outside the door, but in a quite residential area close to the Majorelle Gardens and other famous sights, and close by is the local market where we obtain our fresh produce for dinners at the Riad.

Thank you for recommending your friends and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great Riad and holiday from the very start. We were warmly greeted at the airport by the driver from the Riad, Mustafa, who took us to the Raid and sightseeing. I highly recommend the driver at least for the ride to the airport and back. It is worth every cent. When we arrived, the staff warmly greeted us. We were given a detailed tour of the Riad and given a map of Marrakech and of the souks with an explanation of what to expect there. Also, we had the honor of being greeted by one of the owners, Robert, who is a gregarious and helpful. He ensured that we enjoyed our meals, room and stay. Riad El Mansour is a beautiful, impeccably restored Riad. It is a beautiful oasis after a busy day of shopping and sightseeing. The friendly staff was extremely helpful with any reservations, tour or special sightseeing requests. The Riad was extremely clean and the delicious home- made Moroccan food was freshly cooked to order. I recommend that you eat at least one dinner there besides your complementary breakfasts which are a must. Overall, it was and is an excellent choice for a Moroccan holiday. Matthew K.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you Matthew for taking the time for leaving a positive review for us.

I am very happy that you found the staff warm, helpful and friendly which is what we pride ourselves in providing to all of our guests.

Latifa our cook, will be happy to hear that you enjoyed her cooking as will Mustapha be regarding your transport, all of our staff enjoyed to heari that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We spent a fabulous week in September at this Riad, the team could not do enough to help us. We will return, but perhaps as more of a weekend break next time. Trust Abdess's restaurant recommendations, we ate in some amazing places. The Mai Thai was amazing.

Warning....if you do the horse riding trip be aware that the half day option involves 3 hours of solid riding and does not include lunch at a Berber village as detailed. The ranch where we were taken had no English speaking guides or staff. Funnily enough, no matter how slowly and loudly they spoke we could still not understand them. If you like trekking through waste land for a gruelling 3 hours straight and at one point tracking a wild boar that our guide spotted maybe this trip is for you. Well give it a miss next time.

Visit the Artisans before braving the souks, and then try and get it cheaper. It will give you a real idea of what you should be paying.

We did miss having a swimming pool throughout our stay but spent the day at the Beldi County Club which was relaxing although the food was a little disappointing.

We also visited the Ozude Cascade which was a little more exercise than I had anticipated but was totally worth the effort. If you have trouble navigating down steep hillside or climbing countless steps maybe this isn't for you.

Make sure you get the airport mega early when departing. The ques are crazy and we made it to the gate with 3 mins to spare, with no time to raid duty free dispite arriving at the airport 2 and a half hours before departing. They do not care if you miss your flight either so just be prepared. You cannot spend your local currency when you go through security apart from buying snacks.

All in all we had an amazing stay and can't recommend the Riad highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to leave such a fully detailed review!

As you mentioned, perhaps a whole week in Marrakech is too much, many of our guests find 4 or 5 days time to explore Marrakech and all it has to explore, many guests do spend a few days in Marrakech and then move on to other areas of Morocco.
A good point that you mentioned going to the local artisan store to get an idea of prices before venturing out to the souks to haggle! It certainly does give you an idea of what to pay!

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to perhaps see you back in Marrakech again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.