We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic El Mansour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
40% DISCOUNT
Ranked #22 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic El Mansour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We spent a fabulous week in September at this Riad, the team could not do enough to help us. We will return, but perhaps as more of a weekend break next time. Trust Abdess's restaurant recommendations, we ate in some amazing places. The Mai Thai was amazing.

Warning....if you do the horse riding trip be aware that the half day option involves 3 hours of solid riding and does not include lunch at a Berber village as detailed. The ranch where we were taken had no English speaking guides or staff. Funnily enough, no matter how slowly and loudly they spoke we could still not understand them. If you like trekking through waste land for a gruelling 3 hours straight and at one point tracking a wild boar that our guide spotted maybe this trip is for you. Well give it a miss next time.

Visit the Artisans before braving the souks, and then try and get it cheaper. It will give you a real idea of what you should be paying.

We did miss having a swimming pool throughout our stay but spent the day at the Beldi County Club which was relaxing although the food was a little disappointing.

We also visited the Ozude Cascade which was a little more exercise than I had anticipated but was totally worth the effort. If you have trouble navigating down steep hillside or climbing countless steps maybe this isn't for you.

Make sure you get the airport mega early when departing. The ques are crazy and we made it to the gate with 3 mins to spare, with no time to raid duty free dispite arriving at the airport 2 and a half hours before departing. They do not care if you miss your flight either so just be prepared. You cannot spend your local currency when you go through security apart from buying snacks.

All in all we had an amazing stay and can't recommend the Riad highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to leave such a fully detailed review!

As you mentioned, perhaps a whole week in Marrakech is too much, many of our guests find 4 or 5 days time to explore Marrakech and all it has to explore, many guests do spend a few days in Marrakech and then move on to other areas of Morocco.
A good point that you mentioned going to the local artisan store to get an idea of prices before venturing out to the souks to haggle! It certainly does give you an idea of what to pay!

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to perhaps see you back in Marrakech again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    55
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
413
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riad during a visit to Marrakech in September 2012. The Riad has a real authentic feel with lots of original features in our room. We both enjoyed the hospitality and the wonderful atmosphere, including opulent breakfasts in our room. The staff was always very helpful and made the whole experience a very memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we managed to make it a memorable stay for you both.

Breakfasts are served wherever and whenever you want.. we have no rules or regulations here other than to relax and enjoy your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is THE place to stay in Marrakech. The team at Riad El Mansour are warm, professional and ensure they do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in September 2012 and the service from the time of booking right til our final farewells was first class. Make sure you stay at this riad if you're after:

- A traditional, authentically Morrocan-styled riad: the riad itself is beautifully appointed and furnished and had the nice cosy feel to it, compared to some of the bigger hotel chains.

- The best hospitality: the entire team at the riad were kind, helpful and were eager to please. Abdess, the manager, had arranged an airport transfer for us and were welcomed at the airport by Mustafa and his big smile! When we arrived at the riad, we were treated to mint tea and the most delicious biscuits and pastries. We arrived pretty early in the morning and the team made sure our room was ready as soon as possible, as they guessed that we had been up quite early to make our flight. After being shown to our room, Abdess gave us a tour of the riad and also provided us with a map of the city and highlighted all the major sites and points of interest, and was super helpful in answering all our questions.

- Beautiful rooms: we stayed in the Jonquil room on the first floor, which I think is one of the least expensive and perhaps smaller (?) rooms, but it was the perfect size for two. The room had fresh flowers, a fruit basket, pastries and dried nuts on arrival. It also had the modern comforts of an air conditioner and and iPod dock, which was useful as there was no TV (but to be honest, there's really no need for a TV in the room when there are so many other places to relax in the riad, ie the rooftop terrace or their courtyard). I adored the toiletries - beautiful soaps, shower gels and fragrant shampoo etc. The room also had a safe, which is always important to us when travelling. The Jonquil room was a great place to come back to after a long day out.

- Good location: the riad is located within the Medina and is about a 20 minute walk from the main square. A taxi can take you up to a 3-minute walk away from the riad (so definitely book a taxi to the riad when you first arrive). Abdess' map made it easy for us to know where we were going and how to get back. The riad is at a quiet end of the street and there were always many locals about, even during the night. Some locals tried to trick us to tell us that we were heading the wrong way when we were returning to the riad at night, but luckily Abdess' map and detailed instructions and tips served us well! The riad is also nowhere near a mosque, which is very important if you want a good night's sleep (as I believe the call to prayer can sometimes start as early as 5am in the morning)!

- The most amazing Moroccan meals: breakfasts were always filling and they always made fresh Moroccan pastries. We also did a cooking class with Latifa was great. It was more of a demonstration, which was just as well - I don't know if the meal would have been as delicious if we had cooked it ourselves. It was an honour for us to watch Latifa at work and we loved the chicken lemon and olive tagine dish. It was our favourite meal during our time in Morocco!

- Other extras: we also used had the hammam and massage, which was so relaxing; we took a trip to the Atlas Mountains with one of their drivers Hassan, who was warm, spoke fantastic English, and stopped at any time that we requested for that perfect photo opportunity; the team also organised door to door taxis for restaurant bookings to take all the stress out of trying to find a taxi at night and bargaining a fair price.

All in all, our stay at Riad El Mansour was truly memorable and we'd definitely recommend this charming riad to anyone who is considering visiting Marrakech. You'll be in great hands.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a long and detailed review for us at Riad El Mansour!

We always strive to make out guests happy and if a room is available we do let our guests check in early or in the evening if it a late departure at no extra cost of course!

All of our rooms have safes and fresh fruit etc, its part of the service.
We do not have televisions in our smaller rooms such as Jonquil, the room you stayed in, as we find that most of our guests don't have time to watch TV, they want to explore Marrakech or soak up the sun!

As you mentioned, we are down a quite street away from the noise and the close proximity of the mosques which can wake up guests due to the early morning call to prayer.

We offer all of our guests the door to door taxi service to and from restaurants, many guests appreciate this service and use it.
The taxi driver will be outside to meet our guests and take them back to Riad El Mansour when they are ready.

Thank you for choosing us and we are pleased you will have many happy memories of Marrakech!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

For my 36th Birthday I travelled to Marrakesh,
Stayed at Riad El Mansour which was simply the best,
The staff were so helpful, friendly and kind,
So willing to offer advice and their time,
Treasured memories of a four night stay,
The crazy square both at night and day,
Many sights to see and places to go,
Marrakesh, I thank you, I'll miss you so.

Thank you Latima, Moustafa, Wadi, Abdess and Robert and everyone else who made this a fantastic city break. Perfect in everyway. Shokran. Sarah and Richard

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Riad El Mansour did it’s bit.
We are glad we were a hit.

Thank you for the lovely review,
We do certainly remember you.
Collecting cards and taking many a note
Sarah and Richard, you were both perfect to host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am currently staying at this riad after booking a last minute trip to Marrakech from Spain where we were on holiday vising family.

I want to write this while still fresh in my mind.
We booked a 3 night stay in Jasmine room for my husband and myself after to be honest, our first choice was not available, I am now very glad that it was not.

The riad is very lovely and well furnished, but what I really like about this place iand which prompted me to write this first review is the fantastic personalized service that that staff give. Compliments to both Abdess and Wadi the day and night managers who run a very tight ship. Shortly after you are comfortably settled into your room, you are given a short tour of the riad and talk about what to expect in Marrakech. They are able to make reservations at recommended restaurants and guided tours. For the first time out of the front door into the mazed medina where this riad is situated, Abdess showed us personally how to navigate our way to the main square and Museum of Marrakech.
Upon our return it was also very refreshing to be offered cold drinks, which we took on the roof while we contemplated dinner. We did not eat at the riad although some guests surely were as the aroma permeated throughout and made our mouths salivate.

Because of our short stay, we did not avail ourselves of the spa or dinner as previoulsy mentioned so I cannot comment. Breakfast was very good and extremely filling, setting you up for the rest of the day.

Our room was clean and well maintained, comfortable size and bight and airy but this should be expected. The rates are not cheap in my estimation, but then again I feel that they are justified considering that personalized service these days is almost as extinct as dinosaurs except here where it reminds me of a bygone era and very, very much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Jayne,

Thank you for the great review you took the time to leave us.

As always I am very happy you enjoyed the service we provide, and we are proud and happy you found this.

As you mentioned, perhaps there are less expensive places to stay, but we honestly think that we offer great value for both the quality of products we have and as you say, the service we offer, and the extras we provide as standard such as twice daily turndown service, bathrobes, slippers, flowers, fresh and dried fruit, moroccan pastries in your room etc etc etc!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/ Chennai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment we were met by Mustafa at the airport, all the arrangements went to plan. We'd pre-ordered dinner, which was excellent. Abdess and Wadi were very helpful and the riad is very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Much better than staying in one of the corporate chains. Located about 20 minutes walk from the main square, it really is an oasis of calm tucked away down a back streeet.
Thank you to Abdess, Wadi and all of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for the time to do us a review on tripadvisor.
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate that you chose Riad El Mansour from the large choice of riads that are available.
A riad is a part of Marrakech and is good to experience part of the culture rather than stay in a corporate chain hotel!
We are in a cul de sac, away from the noise and mayhem that is Marrakech.
Yes a 15 to 20 minute walk to Jemaa El Fna square, and a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Yves St Laurent gardens.
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

There were so many special touches that make the Riad special.
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and got that ‘bland and clinical corporate feel’ Riad El Mansour is nothing like this, they genuinely know you and genuinely want to help you enjoy your stay.
Abdess and Wadi the managers were always on hand to help us and advise us.
Latifa the cook was superb, I did not have a meal to match the quality and amount that I had at the riad.
The room we stayed in was on the 1st floor, it was spacious and furnished well. The shower was huge and the toiletries provided were truly marvellous. This is the very height of civilised decadence - we felt really spoilt the entire stay!
I would recommend Riad El Mansour again without a doubt.

Room Tip: I saw a couple of other rooms as they were being cleaned, and it is difficult to imagine there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for the review.

We do like to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay in a riad rather than a faceless and bland hotel, it is good that guests get to feel the real Marrakech.

We purchase all of our toiletries (shower gel, body gel, shampoo, soap and black soap) from local artisans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.