We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind Closed Doors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #23 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Napa Valley, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Behind Closed Doors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

This was our first trip to Morocco, our first experience with a riad, and Stephen and Robert were wizards at deciphering our needs. They arranged everything, from guides and drivers to changing money to restaurant reservations: even magically producing a gin and tonic at the end of an exhausting day and dealing with our dirty laundry. Their eye for detail (deliciously fresh and plump towels at every turn), passion for design, anticipation of a disoriented traveler's needs (fresh bottles of water in our room each day) and cheerful staff and conversation made our return "home" each night a huge relief. We took advantage of the Hammam offerings and wish, in retrospect, that we had taken greater advantage of the lovely little public rooms that are sprinkled around the house. For English speakers, this is a particular oasis in a chaotic and perplexing city. Our question on our next visit to Morocco will be to riad or not to riad, since any riad requires sure-footedness and certain stamina. But if we return to Marrakech, we would return to Robert and Stephen's open arms and hearts in a heartbeat. This riad is a little treasure behind closed doors.

  • Liked — The hosts, the staff
  • Disliked — access
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    54
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
424
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

My girlfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Riad El Mansour. The place itself is amazing and feels very cozy, the food was excellent - the best we had in Marrakech (despite trips to some highly recommended restaurants) but best of all was the hospitality. In a place which is confusing and chaotic, the Riad was an oasis of calm and collection. Rob was excellent - he organised everything for us, gave us advice on where to go, what to do and how to get there (v important!).

Like the vast majority of people who have commented, we had a lovely stay and would definitely go back there.

And in case it helps, November is a great time of year to be in Marrakech.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the plunge pool not being open
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

I stayed at the Riad El Mansour January 3-5, 2008 as part of my 1 week "Get Lost" trip in Morocco. Robert and his staff were extremely helpful in answering questions about the Riad and the area before and after I booked my stay.

Robert and Steve had all sorts of ideas on things and places I could do, and lined me up with a fantastic horse-back journey outside the city and a hot air balloon excursion to the mountains. At my request Steve ecommended a great restaurant downtown called "La Comptoir", which was top notch.

They catered to my wishes from the minute I entered the door. You could not feel more welcome, and they take a genuine, personal interest in their guests.

I stayed in Room 1, which was fantastic. The food, staff, and the Riad as a whole were just a delight. The wireless access was nice too so I could upload videos of my trip from my laptop, though the signal was not very strong in the room.

I only wish I could have stayed longer, and would highly recommend the Riad to others looking for a great "get away" from it all.

Many thanks to Steve and Robert for making every effort to
ensure I had a great stay and a great trip.

- Russ
Orange, California USA

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We were fortunate to stay at this brilliant riad over the New Year and what a find!!! It is a haven of peace and tranquility expertly and discreetly run by Steven and Robert who are wonderful hosts and also have the most lovely and happy staff that really makes this place a true cut above. You will not find the peronal touches and pampering in any 5* hotel. Here everything you could want will be provided or found if possible. The lads hosted a great New Years Eve party and the cooking from Latifah is wonderful, everything from the lovely breakfasts, home cooked evening meals and the wonderful banquet on New Years Eve was just a delight to eat. The rooms are very comfortable with huge fluffy towels, fab toiletries, fresh fruit nuts and roses. Guides can be provided for that 1st trip round the Medina, massages booked (which were pretty good), restaurants recommended (fantastic) and taxis booked for you. We would highly recommend this gorgeous riad and cannot wait to return. Congratulations and well done guys, this is how it should be done and we look forward to returning.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

It is difficult to find fault with this wonderful riad right in the heart of Marrakech's medina. From the moment we walked in the door, to the moment we left Robert, Stephen and all the staff were friendly welcoming and helpful. We were grateful for all the advice and smooth pick up from the airport. The riad is beautiful and our room, despite being the smallest was just perfect for our five day break. Little touches like the flowers, fruit and water in your room, not to mention beautiful toiletries and soft towels made it all the more special.

Breakfast on the roof top terrace was lovely - the orange juice was a particular highlight. We ate at the riad one night and the food was excellent - and beautifully served. We were also staying over new year and Robert and Stephen held a fantastic party on New Year's Eve with musicians, more wonderful food and great company.

We would very much recommend this riad to those wanting to be well looked after whilst staying right in the heart of this exciting (and often slightly crazy!) city.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing but rooms can be a little drak
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

If you want to see Morrocan roses and sunshine in winter head to the Riad El Mansour in Marrakech. At Riad el Mansour you can sunbathe on the terrace, where roses grow in beautiful earthen ware pots even in December.
The rose is the symbol of the Riad and all the linens from napkins to duvet covers and pillow cases have a rose embroidered on them.
No detail has been forgotten at this Riad, the decor is beautiful and in very good taste - it should be photographed by Interiors magazine. The rooms are stocked with fruit, flowers, nuts, bubble bath, fluffy towels and soaps and the cuisine is excellent.
It is highly recommended that you eat in rather than navigating the streets of Marrakech to find a restaurant, because the cook is has to be one of the best in town. Breakfast is included in the tariff for the room you can enjoy it in full sunshine on the terrace. There are special breads, jams, chopped fruit, muesli, Morrocan orange juice, coffee or tea.
Lunch is very good value and at dinner time the portions are very generous. Everything is served meticulously and carefully on elegant china and the stunning, large spherical glasses are perfect for serving the delicious red Morrocan Guerrouane wine.
For starters at dinner time try the harira soup served with an accompaniment of dates or the assortment of Morrocan vegetables of 'salad's'. The main courses include tagines and couscous with the freshest meat and vegetables, all served in the authentic large earthenware dishes with conical lids.
If it is a little cold in the Winter evenings you can enjoy dinner by the fire in the dining room which proffers a statue of a windswept man once owned by Elton John and a number of interesting books on Morrocan cooking and interior design.
That's not all the riad offers, there is a steam room or 'hammam' and beauty treatment or massage room. A number of day trips can also be organised through the riad including trips to the sea, the mountains and balloon rides over the foothills of the Atlas Mountains.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Riad el Mansour who are very kind and attentive as are the owners Robert and Stephen who should be congratulated on the first class job they have done in restoring the riad to such a high standard.
Life at the Rial El Mansour really is a bed of roses, and you will like it so much will probably want to make a return visit.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

We recently visited The Riad El Mansour as a surprise birthday treat for my wife. We were promptly met by a smiling Mustafa at the airport and swifly transported to the Riad.
My wife had no idea where we were going so the approach to the Riad through narrow unmarked lanes was rather daunting, as were the hordes of mopeds and donkey carts.
Any worries were quickly dispelled as the heavy dark door opened to reveal the courtyard of the Riad, the property is a haven of style and peace and beautifully restored.
It is very obvious that the owners Richard and Stephen have taken great care in the presentation of the property and this attention to detail is also evident in the staff who are unfailingly friendly and efficient.
Marrakesh is a frantic, full on experience and the Riad is the ideal place to retreat to at the end of the day with a Hamman and Spa facilities available.
Richard and Stephen should be justifiably proud of what they have created here and I would thoroughly recommend the Riad to anyone visiting this fascinating city.

  • Liked — Style, service,
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.