We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

After reading all the reviews, we did expect Riad El Mansour to be very good...Well, it was not just 'very good' it was 'PERFECT'!
We were very pleased with our booking at Riad Mansour, from our first email, we thought it was going very well. We had many questions about staying in Marrakesh, and our questions were answered wihin minutes sometimes by the manager Abdess via email.
The day before our arrival Abdess confirmed our airport transfer and asked if we wished to have dinner on the evening of our arrival. We chose to do this as we were not arriving until early evening, and wanted to accustom ourself with the locality first.
The riad is not in the toursity part of Marrakech, but still in a good area close to the bus station and the local market, it is down a dead end street and very quiet.
Dinner was the best we had in Marrakech, and we did find the restaurants very expensive in Marrakech, and the riads was the best and freshest food we had in our stay.
Our room was on the ground floor and outside was the jaccuzi which we dipped into a couple of times as it was very hot when we were there.
We did not use the hammam but had a lovely massage and my girlfriend had a pedicure.
The outside area was lovely and a real trap for the sun. We had breakfast on the terrrace. What a wonderful way to start the day.
A memory I shall never forget was hearing the call to prayer at dusk with a drink on the terrace.
I so wish i was back there now.
Thank you Mustapha, Wodi and Abdess.. you made it special for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Beautiful place, excellent service, great food! Everything was outstanding in this riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We are very happy to have stayed at this hotel well we were very well received by Wadi the Manager.
We had arranged beforehand a dinner at the riad on the first night, but as our plane was late we did not arrive at the hotel until 1.00am, but Wadi had saved it for us till the next day, and he made us a light sandwich instead for our arrival. It must however be noted that the driver was still waiting for us at this time with a lovely smile and greeting!
Our room was on the 2nd floor and was spacious, the bathroom had black soap which was a novelty for us, we discovered that this thick black gooey soap is also used in the hammam, which we treated ourselves too during our stay.
On our first full day in Marrakech we arranged before hand via emails with Abdess a city tour with an English speaking guide which was highly informative and gave us our bearings of the wonderful City of Marrakech.
It is a much overused phrase I have seen on tripadvisor for Riad El Mansour, but it is true.... their staff there really do make it such a magical place.
We have stayed in many 5 class hotels throughout the world for 10 times the price of staying hereand they really could learn a trick or two from this lovely retreat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We picked Riad El Mansour based on tripadvisor reviews and could not be happier with our stay. Abdess, Wadi and the rest of the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. Upon arrival, we were provided a detailed map with suggestions of what to see/do, which proved to be a lifeline. Our room was beautiful and peaceful and breakfast was provided daily. The staff did a great job making us feel as comfortable and happy as possible. After a chaotic day on the streets of the Medina, it was a pleasure to return to a calming, beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelStar404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had hoped to stay here for 6 nights but unfortunatley they were fully booked for 2 of the nights we wanted.
However as we read so many goor reviews on tripadvisor we decided to break up our stay with two days in Essaouria, and 4 days at the Riad El Mansour.
A lovely stay was acheived! We were so looked after and although there were 5 other rooms, the staff treated us so specially. Abdess was very proud of his riad and showed us around and advisied of the places to see and was honest to advise us of the places to avoid. We took his advice and were pleased in hindsight that we did not go to the leather tanning area. We heard such bad things about it from other guests.
Our guide we used from the Riad showed us the Jewish section of Marrakech which was very intersting to us. We saw the old Synagogue and Cemetery. The Moroccans seemed very proud of their Jewish history.
Breakast set us up for the day and we ate twice in the hotel, once for lunch and once for dinner. The riad catered for our dietary needs.
The rooms were well furnished and there is a lovely sun tearrace to while away the hours with a glass of Orange Juice and a good book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riad El Mansour for 6 wonderful nights. While we were there, Abdes and his staff made sure that we were taken care of. This included setting us up with drivers for excursions into the High Atlas, laying a detailed map of the town with hand written notes on "to-do" or "to-see" places, setting up the in-house hammam/massage, and generally keeping tabs on our whereabouts to make sure we were taking in the city and being safe. The riad was a refuge amid the chaos in Marrakech and we were always happy turning down the narrow alleys to arrive at last at the doorway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights at the end of April 2012.

Location: the hotel is located in the north part of Medina. You can reach the souk in 10 minutes and El Fnaa square in 15-20 minutes walking. The hotel is in a quite and safe location, but as it is at the end of a blind loop, I'd recommend to ask the riad to arrange the pick up from airport on your first day.

Staff: Very kind and collaborative. There's always a man attending the hall 24 hours a day who speaks English. You can ask him to book the dinner or an excursion or a taxi or simply a suggestion for a city sightseen.

Room: The riad have only 6 rooms. We stayed at first floor in Verbena room. The room is not very big but embellished with a lot of Moroccan details and equipped with all the items you may need. On the right hand side there's a comfortable queen size bed, on the left hand side a sofa and an ancient wardrobe followed by the bathroom (bigger than one would expect from the room size). A fireplace is in front of the door and create a sort of separation between bed and sofa. The hotel provides fresh and dry fruit and a bottle of water every day. You'll also find slippers, bathrobes and local shampoo and body oils. There's also a phon (and seems-I haven't experienced it- a serious one, not the small one for travellers).

Breakfast: you may have it where you prefer: on the upper terrace, on your room or at ground floor. It's good and homemade. You can choose between: local or English tea, coffee, fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, jam and two kind of pastries.

Meals: you can have dinner in the riad but you have to reserve and choose your meal in advance as ingredients are buyed daily on a need base. We had the first dinner there and
everything was really good. Portions are very generous. Even the wine was good (not easy in a place where local people don't drink alchool) and the service was impeccable or, in any case, better in respect of other high level restaurants we experienced in Marrakech.

Pool/hammam/massage room: there is a little pool with Jacuzzi with four places to sit in the central patio, a small hammam and a small massage room. We haven't tried the pool neither the hammam but everything seemed really painstaking in all the details. If you'd like to use the hammam, you should communicate it 3 hours in advance to properly heat it up.

Excursion: we made one day tour to Ourika valley organized by the hotel (aprox. 80€). The experience was very positive. We had a driver that firstly accompanied us to a local weekly market (we also saw bargaining of animals - mules, donkeys and sheep); then we visited some cooperatives of local handicraftsman and finally we climbed up to the falls. To visit the falls we had another guide (additional 20€) that guided us through the trails. Visiting the falls requires 45 minutes walking each way. You need sports shoes as you will climb some wetted rocks. Finally we visited the village next to the beginning of the falls trail. The driver has been always kind and ready to deviate the street upon our requests; he never insisted on handcraft purchasing or local shops to be visited but offered diferent intersting options. We could easily speak English both with the driver and with the local guide.

In conclusion, if you want a full Moroccan experience sleeping inside the Medina but you don't want to renounce to quite and luxury, I strongly reccomand this hotel. You'll turn into typical crowded and narrow street of medina and at the end of one blinded loop, you'll find a main door: inside you'll find a beautiful ancient palace with six quite room faced on an internal patio and a staff ready to attend you. Warning: if you don't like small spaces or simply you can't do high and uncomfortable steps, this is not the correct place in fact it is on a walking street inside an old building. Not sue you can find something better inside the Medina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#17 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#36 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#40 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#67 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing