We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Customer Satisfaction!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% DISCOUNT FOR SEPTEMBER!
Ranked #46 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“100% Customer Satisfaction!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have just arrived home from a 4 night stay at this riad and only have positive things to say about Riad El Mansour and it's staff . We were on the last leg of our honeymoon and had booked this place via a hotel search website.

The staff are totally concerned about your satisfaction and customer service here leaves us british somewhat embarrassed about our standrads at home! The bar is set - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace is delicious, the in house hammam is a must and the selection of books, dvds and board games is great if you want to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of the medina. The staff even posted my postcards!!! A lovely extra touch was a bunch of flowers and wedding candle and note in the room on arrival, as the staff knew that we were on our honeymoon!

Located in the medina, this riad is a great location - it is a 15 minute walk from 'The Square' Jamma-El-Fna, which is perfect to be near enough to the bust Marrakesh streets and magic, but far enough away to feel like you aren't constantly 'in-it'. The staff ib duty came to meet us on arrival to ensure that we found the riad as it is not on a main street (perfect for quieter night sleep!)

It is within walking distance of all main tourist spots and is a 5 minute walk from the bus station & Jardin Majorelle. Also within walking distance from Gueliz where we found a number of excellent restaurants and cafe bars, plus bars if you do fancy a tipple.

The room was exquisite, with a fantastic shower, constant supply of mineral water and fruit and a very comfy 4 poster bed! Also, a tv with digibox & DVD player as above, plus an ipod docking station and free wi-fi. Very tastefully decorated and with a handy guide. The hotel gave us on arrival a tour of the riad, and a (much appreciated, especially with the additional souks section map!) map with highlighted recomendations around the city. The whole riad is a real gem and gives you a real feel of Marrakesh.

All staff were fantastic and we would like to thank them again for making our stay totally perfect! we hope to return soon!

Room Tip: we stayed in the suite which was really roomy, but all other rooms seemed to be really spacious too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    61
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
467
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights at the El Mansour on our first trip to Marrakrech. Our arrival was on the actual day of my wife's Birthday so we were hoping for a good reception as this was a last minute surprise trip. The taxi driver meeting us at the airport, all arranged at reasonable cost by the Riad, was excellent and gave us a very warm welcome. We were greeted at the El Mansour by Abdess who was absolutely charming and made us very welcome.Birthday flowers, snacks and fruit were provided in our lovely room and at Dinner that evening a further surprise in the form of a lovely Birthday cake was presented at no extra cost. Nothing was too much trouble for these people and a number of five star hotels, particularly in the UK could learn a lot from them.
The next morning with no time pressure we breakfasted on the roof terrace of the Riad under a clear blue sky. The food, in particular the omelettes, home made yoghourt, and fresh orange juice were all first class as was the service from an ever smiling Abdess. We were also introduced to the Manager Wadi who provide extremely valuable local information on where to go and what to avoid.
Every courtesy was extended to us throughout our short stay and even the taxi driver who ferried us back to the airport at the end of our stay was absolutely charming; again all arranged without fuss by the Riad.
Both my wife and I have experience of this type of business in the UK having run a small hotel in the UK for eighteen years, so we know just how difficult it can be to keep up tjhis standard of facility and service.Without hesitation we considered our experience of Riad El Mansour as one of the best we have ever had, and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 on the ground floor which was lovely and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I took my three teenage children for a pre-Christmas break. We had a wonderful time and we could not fault the El Mansour in any way. Service was superb...food fantastic, and rooms extremely comfortable and clean. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Amazing service+wonderful location+beautiful riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

A wonderful riad in the heart of the Medina. Excellent service, very comfortable rooms and beautifully decorated. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Arriving to Marrakech's Medina for the first time can be overwhelming. Luckily Riad El Mansour sent us a timely airport transfer that helped us navigate through the labyrinth of narrow streets. Your first impressions can be deceiving as the driver drops you at a busy marketplace with stalls selling everything from motorcycles to cow heads! Then he leads you into more quiet and residential dirt packed alleys. Just as you approach a dead end and start to wonder where the heck you have gotten yourself into you see the large welcoming entrance of the Riad and behind it, a beautiful and peaceful oasis that you'll be happy to escape back to when the busy Medina gets too much.

The staff were all wonderful, and Abdess was very attentive, just what you'd expect of the famed Moroccan hospitality. Upon arrival he sits down with wide-eyed guests who like us are wondering how they will ever find their way on their own, with a well-annotated map and a cup of mint tea to instruct them calmly before setting them free in the wild arenas of the town. Armed with that knowledge you won't feel that lost anymore and soon come to enjoy the walk home through the quiet alleys at the end of a busy day. We were two young women travelling together and we never felt unsafe when walking back to the Riad.

The Riad and its rooms are beautiful and decorated with taste. Online I had read reviews about common issues in Marrakech such as lack of heating or hot water, no toiletries in the rooms and so on. Rest assured, El Mansour is not one of those places: there was more than enough heating to keep us warm on cold nights, with even a radiator in the bathroom encouraging us to jump into a warm morning shower. There was no tv in our room (Room 4), but there is no need for one in Marrakech with so much to see and do- I actually prefer it that way- and there are plenty of nice cozy lounges in the Riad where you can hide away with a book. Breakfast was absolutely delicious: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad and homemade yogurt were my favourite goodies enjoyed on the sunny terrace of the hotel.

We also tried the in-house hamman for the full-on treatment and were very happy with the service. One night we dined at the Riad, and although it might seem more expensive than some other places, the quality (and enormous quantity) of the homemade food are all worth it- especially for those lazy days when you don’t want to go out for dinner. Although for us perhaps it was a bit too much food, we noticed it's a Moroccan thing to have big meals. As for distance to main sites, the Riad is about a 15 min walk to the main plaza, and even closer to the souks. When in the Medina your best bet is to walk everywhere since the narrow alleys, already overcrowded with motorcycles, bicycles, people, donkeys and horses, struggle to fit anything else – just make sure you don’t forget your map! And if it comes to worse, you’ll always find someone ready to help you out (but don’t forget to tip).

El Mansour’s best quality is probably the service – the smiling, welcoming and friendly attitude of the staff makes you feel that whatever you may need, you can rely on them to help you. One such incident involved my watch which was accidentally broken (missing piece) while taking one of the treatments. Abdess offered without me needing to ask to have it fixed while we enjoyed the day. At our return my once again perfect watch was waiting for me. To conclude this long story, I will only say that this Riad deserves the great reviews it has gotten.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Riad El Mansour for three nights at the end of January. They had arranged a taxi transfer for us and we were met with a smile and a handshake by the riad's charming driver. On arrival, the hubbub of the Medina was left behind as we stepped through the heavy old wooden door of the riad and warmly greeted by Abdess who straight away made us feel at home. After showing us our room and the facilities we took mint tea with him and had a chat about our plans with him of which he had recommendations for us. (Take his advice is my advice!). Fruit ,nuts and bottled water were put in our rooms daily and the room was tidied twice daily. The interior is fabulous, and with just six rooms, the staff had time to make us feel special. A generous breakfast every day on the lovely roof terrace set us up for several hours. All the staff without exception were friendly ,helpful, courteous and discreet. The atmosphere too is perfect for your Marrakech encounter.
Don't hesitate, book it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#24 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#7 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#17 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.