We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Save Saved
You added Riad El Mansour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERS
Ranked #21 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham
1 review
“Paradise on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

5 out of 5 !!

We had been planning our trip to Marrakech for so long and had sent so many questions to Adess beforehand, and he was always so helpful and quick in his replies, we felt we knew him before we even met him!
Our senses were on overload when we arrived.
The amazing original artworks throughout the riad were beautiful, all painted by Moroccan artists.
The hallway is full of antique photos of the bygone years of Marrakech.
The Jacuzzi was a perfect cooling off place after spending time on the sun terrace. (I finished more books whilst relaxing on that terrace than normally I would in a year!)
Its been said here on tripadvisor many times about the service here, and I am yet another to say it is the best.. I have never encountered such service in all the hotels I stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    583
    52
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
402
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Above all at this establishment we found the service was second-to-none. Perfect for inexperienced travellers like us who really appreciated tips and guidance and recommendations in a world so different from our own. During our five days there we walked the streets of the new town and the medina day and night with no worries. We found the location just right for easy access to the town by foot but also very special in terms of being hidden away in the alleyways where locals live and work. The rhiad itself was comfortable, cool and serene and the catering freshly prepared and very welcome. We'd thoroughly recommend Rhiad El Mansour. In our opinion it enables travellers to gain maximum benefit from a short-break holiday in Marrakech and to retire in comfort from it's excesses. We look forward to an upgrade of the portable DVD player for our next visit!

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was extremely pleasant and the bed very comfortable. The airconditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

As it was our first time in Morrocco,we took fellow reviewers advice and booked a 2 night stay at Riad El Mansour. Their driver picked us up from the Novotel and as we were the only two staying that night , upgraded to a larger double room. The Riad is as it says on the box small but perfectly formed, clean, stylish and with award winning staff, Wadi Abdesh and Saffa. They took time to show me the way twice how to get from the Riad back to the main street and even rescued us when lost. And that was the problem, it's located down some back alleys, where few foreigners go, in the northern Medina and so a long hot walk or Taxi ride to get anywhere. Some previous comments said this Riad is 'off the beaten track' but to my teenage daughter and l, it felt like isolation and we felt vunerable in this area. Having previously been to Egypt, Thailand, China and India etc l was suprised by our reaction! So, would we return back to the Riad El Mansour? NO . Would we reccomend this Riad? YES if you want an authentic experience and happy to 'get down' with the locals, l'm sure the staff will make your stay a pleasure. As for us should we ever return to Marrakech we will stick to the tree lined avenues and fountains of the Hivernage.

Room Tip: Room 4, fab shower, toilteries, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobes but no kettle or fridge just bottle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

A long overdue review for a stupendous riad. We where in Marrakech in April, meaning to write a review for a while now as I promised them I would considering that Riad El Mansour is a great place to put one's head down at night. The room is very cosy and spectacularly clean, although on the small side (although bit larger than a ship's cabin), it had every amenity one can think of including a complimentary shoe shining service and in room WiFI access.
We booked through a travel agency which included their own airport transfers and guides so we did not use the riads services except for taxi and restaurant reservations, although we did use the manager's Mustapha's great knowledge of the city to explore on our own one day. His love of 'his' city certainly came across as he told us not so much what to see as our guide had done that, but why and how things are and his enthusiasm and knowledge was wonderful and obviously very informative.
We did not eat dinner at the riad, but if breakfast's are anything to go by, I am sure they would have been great. We really wanted to check out some of the restaurants that we heard so much about. The breakfasts were very good and very filling. It more or less carried us through to dinner.
I wanted to have a hamman as we were in Morocco and thought we should experience it, but unfortunately we did not notify the riad in advance (apparently they have to heat it up and this takes a couple of hours) so I settled for a massage only.
It is wonderful to have a massage before going upstairs to your room to get ready for dinner.
I could have get used to this very easily just as easily as I could get used to Riad El Mansour!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Partner and I spent four days at this wonderful riad. Our room was very clean and well stocked with many things that I would normally have to pay for (but more often than not, do not ) at other hotels such as mineral water and shoeshine service. The water came in handy, the shoeshine, not really, but we did use it once just because we could.

Marrakech is very hot in July and so we were very pleased to had the central plunge pool to cool in after trekking through the souks and sites. Marrakech is a fascinating place, although at times it can be a bit inundating so it was nice to return to a tranquil place where we enjoyed just lazing about. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly. They were there to assist us whenever assistance was required. The riad was nicely furnished and impeccably clean with very attentive staff which is what we really want when travelling, especially when we are in unfamiliar territory.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Tube fare to Heathrow: £3
Air fare to Marrakech: £96
Hotel transfer: Free
Riad El Mansour: PRICELESS

What a find, the reviews are correct, this is the place to go to.
It is hard to say what has not been said many times already here.

Staff Amazing
Riad so beautiful
Food the best we had in Marrakech (but too much!)
Peaceful and such a great place to relax after a hard days bargaining!

We are coming back here to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

In all fairness, The best service award for this Riad is deserved by Abdess and Wadi, they were very pleasant and obliging. However, the Riad is owned by a very rude and unreasonable man based in the UK.
Firstly, Riads are not hotels, but rather, guest houses in the old medina, right in the thick of the action. This Riad is not luxurious and have few or no facilities, it is also not cheap. That being said, if you know what to expect then you won't be disappointed. We booked in August which is the off season, some Riads actually close for Ramadan is it so quiet, so like most Riads, Riad El Mansour was not fully booked, only 3 of the 6 rooms were occupied. August is also the hottest month. Our twin room was tiny with tiny beds. The 1st night we had the pre-ordered dinner, as this Riad has not got a restaurant, just a kitchen. The tagine was a huge let down, just a roasted chicken in a tagine!!! The air-conditioning in our room struggled all night and we had a very uncomfortable hot night, the room and the Riad was dusty and dirty generally and the next morning our room was not serviced, since the cook is also the cleaner. Note also, the breakfast is very basic.
Having spent our first morning in the souqs, we returned to the Riad after 1.30pm to escape the hottest part of the day, we would dearly have loved to dip into the plunge pool on our return, except it was dirty! We didn't pre order lunch or drinks, so eating and drinking was not an option so we retired to our tiny room (unserviced) to read. It was then that the airconditiong decided to spew water all over our belongings and stop working all together! We then decided to check out of the Riad and check into a real hotel with comfortable, cool, clean rooms with facilities like, pool, restaurant, bar etc.
We were booked to stay 3 nights at this Riad and had paid a fifty percent deposit so at this point of departure, we had paid for more than the 1st night. The Manager, Abdess offered to move us to another room, however according to their website they only had one twin room and we didn't wish to share a bed, and we were not happy generally speaking with our experience thus far, so we elected to leave. As we were leaving we paid for the terrible previous night's meal in cash and then discovered they were insisting we pay for the 3 nights accom regardless! Now let me just say here, I acknowledge the Riad has only 6 rooms, so therefore if it was fully booked, I say fair enough to pay, but it was not fully booked and we were not happy! That's when I had the pleasure (not) of speaking to the owner who wouldn't hear of it and tried to insist we stay in a better room!! A better room??? If there was such a thing and they were not fully booked wouldn't you think they would have put us in that room In the first instance? The man's attitude was appalling! We obviously left most unhappy and of course the terrible man has subsequently debited my credit card for the total amount (unauthorized). We spent the 2 next nights in the Sofitel, which at least had decent sized clean rooms, cool aircon, and BIG twin beds, a swimming pool etc etc. This hotel and others are still within walking distance to the Medina and souqs etc

Room Tip: Rooms are Tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
This review is filled with many inaccuracies.

We expected this review as the reviewer told us that if we insisted on adhering to our cancellation policy, which by the way she signed and acknowledged, a very unflattering review would be forthcoming.

The reviewer booked to stay with us for three nights, but decided to leave after the first night because as she clearly stated coming in August is the hottest month in Marrakech and she decided she wanted a swimming pool, which we do not have.

This reviewer booked via our website so she knew the size of our rooms and what amenities we offer.

Having received and signed our credit card authorization form which clearly states our cancellation policy, the reviewer still demanded that she be exempted from paying us. I even told her that in the event, although it is unlikely, we were able to do sell the room that same day, we would offer her a refund.

The reviewer claims that we are not luxurious and are not cheap with few amenities.

Firstly this reviewer received our Summer Special 40% discount for which she chose our least expensive room and even though, she paid 90€ for two persons, she still received complimentary airport transfers, complimentary drinks upon arrival, in room complimentary bottled water, fresh flowers, dried and fresh fruit, Moroccan pastries, a map, twice daily maid service, by one of our three maids, NOT the cook as the reviewer mentioned.

All rooms are serviced in the morning while the guest is having breakfast or when they are out, and then later in the evening while the guest is at dinner. Why this reviewer has chosen to say that her room was not serviced is not accurate.

The reviewer also mentioned that we had small twin beds, but was happy at another hotel with big twin beds, a pool etc.

I would like to know that the difference is between a big twin bed and our small twin bed.

Why this reviewer expected an automatic upgrade just because we were not full is a mystery to me. If she wanted a more spacious room she should have perhaps paid for it.

Just because we have availability, does not in itself automatically mean a free upgrade.

After complaining in mid-afternoon (why not first thing in the morning?) about a faulty air conditioner (which worked perfectly fine once you turned it on with the remote control).

However, at this point, we offered her a complimentary upgrade, but apparently she had already booked other accommodation.

The reviewer did not choose another riad, but a large, modern, chain hotel situated outside the Medina

The reviewer is correct, we are not a restaurant, but a small hotel who does indeed have a kitchen where we prepare all of our meals, I am not sure where the reviewer thinks meals should be prepared if not in a kitchen.

After dinner the reviewer’s companion complimented the cook, as had many of our previous guests.

Dinners have to be pre ordered because all of our ingredients are fresh, but the reviewer mentions that our breakfasts and drinks also have to be pre-ordered, this is totally incorrect.

We have over 380 reviews that mention the great quality and delicious food, so maybe it all these past diners who have got it wrong?

The reviewer mentions that I am based in the UK, rude, unreasonable and appalling because I would not agree to allow her to leave without paying what is owed. I am not based in the UK, which is of no consequence in any instance.

The reviewer is correct that we are not a large hotel but a small one with only six bedrooms and that is why we, like all riads and hotels, have cancellation policies.

I am sorry that the reviewer felt this way and she should consider booking larger chain hotels in all future holidays who may have the facilities to please her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Hotel
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad El Mansour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.