We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great space in a hot spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL SUMMER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great space in a hot spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Riad owners, Lisa and Michael are, as many other reviews say, welcoming, very helpful, and knowledgeable. The riad is beautiful, as are the bedrooms and the attention to detail in the choice of furnishings, soap, lotions etc, is lovely. There's a small library with lots of travel guides, a splash pool (outside a guest bedroom, but that was OK for us) and a fantastic roof garden to lounge around and have a beer. The staff are very helpful when Lisa and Michael are off-site (my husband got a stomach bug on a Sunday. One fantastic staff member rode her moped to another part of town to fetch us pills from the only open pharmacy.)
We found the location great - just outside the warrens of the medina, and next to one of the most interesting, lively, and real (as opposed to touristy) streets we came across - Bab Doukkala.
The only question mark was over a minor thing; the hotel offers dinner. We took it because we were new to Marrakech, but it was expensive, and given that there are so many good restaurants in the city, and they're easier enough to get to at night, I wouldn't do that again. That said, we were on a really tight budget (four kids, first trip without them, pushed the boat out on the hotel etc.) so perhaps we were just being tight. Otherwise, it's a great hotel and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
147
548
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This riad was exquisite! The staff and owners were fantastic. We were provided more information then you could ever need upon our arrival. The breakfast provided with the room was delicious. The roof top terrace is wonderful for breakfast. We highly recommend you have dinner at the riad at least one time as the food was fantastic. Every recommendation made for food, shopping and a guide by the riad was great. The location was perfect. We did a lot of research prior to choosing where to stay and it turned out perfect. If you are still deciding where to stay in Marrakech, look no further this place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

In the neighbourhood of Dar el Basha is a little bit of paradise. A Riad called Dar Charkia. Although the approach seems a bit chaotic, you walk through a small, old wooden door into a stunningly beautiful place. The courtyard is cool and beautifully decorated in traditional style. With small alcoves that you can have a meal or drink in. There is also a small splash pool. We didn't use it as it was early winter, but I can see what it would be like to sit in it drinking a cold beer or a glass of White Wine. The Riad has six rooms, a fine roof top terrace where you can also have meals and drinks, or just sit or lay in the sun, most days in a year. The team, kitchen, night porter, cleanering are happy, polite and extremely friendly and natural. Their welcome is from the heart. Breakfasts are a surprise everyday, you only have to choose tea or coffee. They are super and different every day. Lisa and Michael are fountains of local knowledge which they will share with you willingly and thoroughly. The information shared before you is invaluable and plentiful. They will organise transport to and from the Airport, day trips, restaurant bookings/recommendations, advice on bargaining, tips etc. This is a different culture, so the advice is invaluable. Dinner can be taken in the raid, and I would advise it, at least on the first night. It can be, Morrocan or European.
If you want a classy holiday in Marrakesh, this is the place for you. If you are a backpacker, it is most certainly not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

This is our second visit to Dar Charkia. It was wonderful to come back knowing what awaited us and we were once again delighted with everything. Our first stay last year was with friends for a big birthday and this year with our family for an even bigger birthday! The welcome we received from Lisa and Michael and their staff was wonderful.

The interior of the riad is stunning and an incredible contrast to the street outside! There are so many areas to sit and relax, all furnished with beautiful coloured fabrics, furniture, artwork and artefacts. Each room is individually decorated and has all the extras of a luxury hotel with robes, refreshments etc and a comfortable bed.
I would recommend dining at the riad itself. The cuisine described as 'moroccan with a twist' is superb and the breakfasts have to be the amongst the best I have eaten anywhere and eaten on the roof terrace under a tented awning definitely the most memorable. The staff are charming and service excellent.

The riad is within walking distance of the medina, grand square, souks and museums as well as some great eating places.

Lisa knows the city so well and gave us personally annotated maps and explained valuable details about all the shopping and sightseeing opportunities, cafes and restaurants, comfort stops etc as well as vital guidance about haggling! She will suggest and arrange any trips that you wish for. Our party also went in taxis to the Atlas mountains for lunch and the energetic members had a game of golf on the stunning golf course.

I highly recommend this riad- a stunning place, stunning food but most important of all a couple who truly care about their guests and helping them to get the most out of this amazing city. We will be back for a third visit!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I travelled to Marrakech for my first time with my sister. We're young and didn't want to spend an outrageous amount of money. Dar Charkia was absolutely perfect. The staff and owners were friendly but not overbearing - and we were given so much information we hardly needed to plan anything on our own. We were set up with day trips, shopping discounts and recommendations. Our trip was made easy because of them!! Location is outstanding, not too much noise and still central. Not to mention, the Sa'ada room we stayed in was so lovely.. Moroccan touches without being dark or full of intense scents that we couldn't stand - we endured this in the next riad we visited. Bathroom was beautiful and everything in it was great quality - from the water pressure to the hairdryer! Having stayed in a terrible riad afterward, Dar Charkia is really outstanding. I plan to go back soon and revisit the perfect getaway riad!! Incredible quality for a reasonable price, you simply can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

A really lovely riad - a real oasis in a bustling and frenetic city. Beautifully furnished, full of charm with an amazingly helpful staff. The owners, Lisa and Michael, were full of valuable information and advice. A fantastic place for my mother's milestone birthday celebration.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I spent our 1st wedding anniversary in Marrakech, and absolutely loved our stay in Dar Charkia.
In total we spent 9 days in Morocco, and Dar Charkia was the best Riad we stayed in, by far!
The owners Lisa and Michael made us both feel very welcome and comfortable and the staff were simply wonderful, very friendly and always willing to be of assistance.
Lisa took the time to explain the souk to us, and recommended some fabulous shops, it felt as though we had known her for years! Her warmth really shone through, and she really did make us feel like we were 'home away from home'.
The riad it's self is beautiful, and the rooms are very spacious, and we had a very comfortable stay indeed!
We are looking forward to returning to Morocco in the near future, and will not give any other riad a second look!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list