We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous haven in a wonderfully crazy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% SPECIAL FALL OFFER
Ranked #4 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous haven in a wonderfully crazy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Some of our pals stayed in Dar Charkia earlier in the year so we knew we would like it, and Wow it was great!

Marrakech is a full-on, crazy busy shopping, haggling heaven...if you didn't have an oasis to retreat to I think you'd go loopy.

Behind the unassuming walls and wooded door of the riyadh lies a serene and tranquil paradise. A great blend of beautful interior design mixing traditional Marrakech and asian pieces in a very modern and calming style. Calm, cool, and hip.

We stayed in the Douiria suite - which is their largest room. It was gorgeous - well worth spending a little bit more for if you can stretch to it.

Lisa has a great eye which along with Michael and her advice on souks to go to, inspired our shopping all weekend....DHL were the main beneficiaries!

Definitely have lunch in the Kosy Bar, supper in the Jad Mahal and the women's cooperative restaurant (all recommendations from our gracious hosts).

I'd avoid spa treatments (they don't do service like asia/europe), and Lotus Privilege like the plague (very average food in a library atmosphere for lots of money).

Overall an awesome place to stay and Lisa and Michael really make the experience. We will definitely go back to Marrakech, and definitely stay at Dar Charkia again. Don't even hesitate - book it now!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
149
559
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HERTFORDSHIRE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

From the time we arrived till the time we left we could not have been treated better, this was our first experience of a riad and nothing was too much trouble, we would return
Mick & Irene Taplin

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

This was our first trip to Marrakech and it certainly won't be the last! The Dar Charkia was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay just a few minutes walk from the bustling Souks and some fabulous bars and restaurants.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded, our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had the best decor of any hotel room I have ever stayed in. Michael and Lisa where great hosts, answering any questions before and during our stay. Can definitely recommend having dinner in this Riad too the food was beautiful and the setting perfect.

I can't say enough good things about Dar Charkia, location, setting and hospitality are all faultless. I loved it here and I have already looked into flights so that I can come back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Before our stay i had been avidly reading the reviews on trip advisor, and was getting slightly worried that Dar Charkia would not live up to all the fantastic reviews.

However the Riad, owners and staff were every bit as wonderful as the reviews suggested. The evening meal we had on the first night was fantastic and the breakfasts were delicious and different each morning. The riad was beautifully decorated and we were made to feel like we should treat it as our home.

Michael, Lisa, Small Samina,Tall Samina,Abdu and all the staff could not have made our stay at Dar Charkia any more enjoyable.

Cant wait to come back

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Hidden away in the bustling medina, we arrived to the magnificent sanctuary of Dar Charkia to a warm welcome from the English speaking owners. An excellent dinner was enjoyed in the riad the first night and we also thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts served on the roof terrace in luxouriuos Moroccan style. We had the benefit of filling the whole riad with our group, and all the bed rooms/ en-suits were equiped & tastefully decorated to an excellent standard. The communal areas were stunning with charming touches, such as the orange tree in the courtyard, plus the pool.
We had booked a guided shopping trip with Lisa which was invaluable, she expertly guided us through the souks, taught us how to barter, & patiently waited while we had a go! Also great recommendations for restaurants, museums etc.
This riad is in a great location, very handy for a quick walk out to the main square, restaurants and of course the shopping. Three nights were not long enough to cover all that we wanted to do, so we will have to return. Looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at Dar Charkia for four nights mid-September. The riad is beautiful, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable - the various seating areas made it a lovely place to relax after a day sightseeing. Lisa and Michael were very welcoming; Lisa in particular was very helpful, always willing to take time to give recommendations and direction. The riad staff were also very friendly and accomodating. Lovely time, would defintely stay again if returning to Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Had a fantastic stay at the Dar Charkia.
The staff were so attentive to your every need. The owners were so welcoming and helpful, annotating a map to such a degree I'm amazed the pen had any ink left. Tips on haggling, restaurants, souks and ways to pass the day were very welcome and allowed us to make the most of our trip to Marrakesh. The hospitality was extended when the hostess Lisa, asked if my better half would like to join in on a belly dancing lesson she'd scheduled for her daughter and her friends.
There was only a short walk to the main square, literally 10 min tops!
Very close to a taxi point if you need to travel anywhere further afield.
Lisa recommended the most breathtaking restaurants, our favourite being the one with the belly dancers and live band (sorry the name escapes me).
But the best part of the Dar Charika is not the stunning decor or the helpful, friendly staff; it is indeed the gastronomic feast they call breakfast!! I’ve never been so happy to get out of bed.
All in all a brilliant time was had and I'd highly recommend Dar Charkia and Marrakesh to anyone and everyone
Paul
(of Paul and Amy)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.