We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, great service and a super team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
“Welcoming, great service and a super team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Warmly welcomed on our arrival, everyone at Dar Charkia could not have been more helpful during our magical stay in Marrakech. This incredably romantic hotel was in heart of the Medina, easy to find yet an oasis of peace. I was so taken with its staff and ambience it was tempting never to venture out! Unusually for a hotel the owners tooks great care to explain to newcomers not only the interesting sites and acitvities but also some key tips on dos and don'ts. You will be in safe hands and Dar Chakia and have a lot of fun too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfareal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Dar Charkia Riad really is an oasis of calm within a city that is bright and effervescent. Lisa and her staff were very welcoming and provided everything we needed. Lisa put a lot of effort into helping our party to plan a fantastic itinerary- tailor made for us. The bedrooms were beautiful and each had a character of its own. I loved the small touches such as tealights around the riad, candles in the tree, petals and flowers. The pool was a welcome relief after the heat of the Morrocan day!
I particularly enjoyed spending time on the roof- breakfast in the tented area, sun bathing and chilling out in the evenings. A wonderful location for a Morrocan break.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

First impressions.....it took our breath away! A hidden treasure. Tastefully decorated to a very high stanndard. Above and beyond all expectations! Lovely staff, great service, and the owner Lisa couldn't have done enough for us. Would recommend Dar Charkia to EVERYONE! So central and two minutes walk from the top end of the souks.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Wow Factor throughout our stay, we were treated like Royalty, nothing too much trouble and left alone to enjoy the surroundings, including the Atlas Mountains Trek!
The food and hospitality second to none Lisa and her staff fantastic
Thankyou all very much Magical!

Sarah & Chris Burford Denbury Devon

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burfats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Dar charkia was absolutely stunning,and extremely welcoming. Each room had its own personality and was furnished with such detail and the most beautiful furniture. The riad was perfect, the staff were lovely and the food was great. I would definately recommend Dar Charkia to anyone, family and friends. My stay was superb, and i hope to revisit soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gharrison92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Lisa and Michael not only own the most immaculate riad, but they organised the most amazing few days for me and my friends, for my birthday. Lisa's personal shopping tour is a once in a lifetime experience. Her knowledge of the souks and the friendliness that we were received with whilst shopping was truly delightful.
The staff are all so helpful and friendly, which makes all the difference when you don't speak the language and need help! Breakfast was amazing and the fact that it is served anytime makes all the difference in the world after a late night out.
This has been my third stay and Dar Charkia and it gets even more beautiful every time, I really had the best stay/party ever! Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv_Dem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

After each and every one of your senses are thrown into confusion as you arrive in the city from the airport, you are dropped off at the end of a small road and walked down tiny alleyways to a large wooden door. Stepping over the threshold it was like walking into a tiny piece of heaven - utterly breathtaking. The decor, staff and the location are perfect. Lisa was the most wonderful host and her all of her staff couldn't have been more attentive. The riad is beautifully decorated and each and every room was divine. I will never forget sitting on the roof terrace listening to the buzz of the medina as the sun went down. Lisa couldn't have been more helpful in settling us into Marrakech-the advice and organisation that went into making our stay the best it could have been was outstanding. We cannot wait to return to Marrakech and cannot recommend this Riad highly enough. Go see this litle piece of heaven for yourself.....you will be overwhelmed I promise you!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamleyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing