We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, great service and a super team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL SUMMER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Welcoming, great service and a super team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Warmly welcomed on our arrival, everyone at Dar Charkia could not have been more helpful during our magical stay in Marrakech. This incredably romantic hotel was in heart of the Medina, easy to find yet an oasis of peace. I was so taken with its staff and ambience it was tempting never to venture out! Unusually for a hotel the owners tooks great care to explain to newcomers not only the interesting sites and acitvities but also some key tips on dos and don'ts. You will be in safe hands and Dar Chakia and have a lot of fun too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,034
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
147
547
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Dar Charkia Riad really is an oasis of calm within a city that is bright and effervescent. Lisa and her staff were very welcoming and provided everything we needed. Lisa put a lot of effort into helping our party to plan a fantastic itinerary- tailor made for us. The bedrooms were beautiful and each had a character of its own. I loved the small touches such as tealights around the riad, candles in the tree, petals and flowers. The pool was a welcome relief after the heat of the Morrocan day!
I particularly enjoyed spending time on the roof- breakfast in the tented area, sun bathing and chilling out in the evenings. A wonderful location for a Morrocan break.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

First impressions.....it took our breath away! A hidden treasure. Tastefully decorated to a very high stanndard. Above and beyond all expectations! Lovely staff, great service, and the owner Lisa couldn't have done enough for us. Would recommend Dar Charkia to EVERYONE! So central and two minutes walk from the top end of the souks.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Wow Factor throughout our stay, we were treated like Royalty, nothing too much trouble and left alone to enjoy the surroundings, including the Atlas Mountains Trek!
The food and hospitality second to none Lisa and her staff fantastic
Thankyou all very much Magical!

Sarah & Chris Burford Denbury Devon

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Dar charkia was absolutely stunning,and extremely welcoming. Each room had its own personality and was furnished with such detail and the most beautiful furniture. The riad was perfect, the staff were lovely and the food was great. I would definately recommend Dar Charkia to anyone, family and friends. My stay was superb, and i hope to revisit soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Lisa and Michael not only own the most immaculate riad, but they organised the most amazing few days for me and my friends, for my birthday. Lisa's personal shopping tour is a once in a lifetime experience. Her knowledge of the souks and the friendliness that we were received with whilst shopping was truly delightful.
The staff are all so helpful and friendly, which makes all the difference when you don't speak the language and need help! Breakfast was amazing and the fact that it is served anytime makes all the difference in the world after a late night out.
This has been my third stay and Dar Charkia and it gets even more beautiful every time, I really had the best stay/party ever! Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

After each and every one of your senses are thrown into confusion as you arrive in the city from the airport, you are dropped off at the end of a small road and walked down tiny alleyways to a large wooden door. Stepping over the threshold it was like walking into a tiny piece of heaven - utterly breathtaking. The decor, staff and the location are perfect. Lisa was the most wonderful host and her all of her staff couldn't have been more attentive. The riad is beautifully decorated and each and every room was divine. I will never forget sitting on the roof terrace listening to the buzz of the medina as the sun went down. Lisa couldn't have been more helpful in settling us into Marrakech-the advice and organisation that went into making our stay the best it could have been was outstanding. We cannot wait to return to Marrakech and cannot recommend this Riad highly enough. Go see this litle piece of heaven for yourself.....you will be overwhelmed I promise you!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list