We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Lincolnshire
1 review
“A hidden paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Absolutely amazing stay. The Riad is a complete relaxing and beautiful place to stay. Its very close to the markets and city center (5mins walk max). The owners are full of knowledge and advise on how to get the most out of marrakesh on your holiday even if its a short stay. The nightlife is cultural and entertaining with the belly dancing and shesha. The Riad is perfect in every way, the food and service are excellent. The rooms are comfortable and spacious as well as the bathrooms, which are all decorated in a modern shic morrocon style. It is a stay I will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,041
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
147
549
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The riad, hidden in a picturesque side-street is exquisitely decorated, elegant but homely. The staff make you feel as part of a family. The owner Lisa helps you out with every aspect of your trip to Marrakech.
The food is the best I had in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Marrakesh was a town of mixing cultures before it became a style trend.
Mixing cultures or more accurately the design signatures of different cultures is exactly what Dar Charkia projects.
Staying here is not just getting a room. As a guest you'll have the most memorable experience. Each room is wonderfully decorated with such a unique taste and the Moroccan traditional style has not been forgotten. Every corner in the Riad has its aesthetic character. All of this together with an extraordinary cuisine, impeccable service and such friendly owners and staff are the right ingredients for the perfect holiday recipe ... an Arabian Nights tale come true. You'll be amazed!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed for four nights, and had the most amazing time. The riad is perfectly placed for excursions to the Suks, and with the brilliant hospitality and relaxed environment, I felt so at home. It was the perfect place to stay to set off a fantastic and very memorable trip. Thank you so much to everyone at Dar Charkia!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Just returned from our two week holiday in Morocco and this hotel was one of the best things about it! It's brilliantly located in the centre of the old town with all its noise and mayhem, but as soon as you shut the doors behind you - you are in a completely diffrent place, peaceful and calm. The design of the riad has been done absolutely beautifully by Lisa, one of the owners. Her husband Michael was really helpful with tips and information on Morocco, they even organised our transfer from Marrakesh to Agadir (4.5 hours!!) and a great trip to the Atlas mountains (and helped with getting real bargains at the souks). A special thank you to the staff at the riad, they couldn't do enough for you. Oh, and the breakfast was fantastic!
In short, I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Marrakesh, especially first-timers like ourselves

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We had an amazing time at Dar Charkia. My fiancé and I stayed at the Riad during our visit to Morocco in July. As soon as we entered the hotel, we were greeted by the owner (Michael) as well as a cold glass of water and orange juice. Michael was extremely helpful. He sat down with us and immediately mapped out our entire stay. He gave us advice as to where we should go, which shops were the most interesting, and what there was to do in the Medina. The amount of personal attention at Dar Charkia is beyond what I would have imagined. The staff was there to help us anytime we needed. Daily breakfast was served fresh from the market every morning.

In terms of the rooms, they were very beautifully decorated. Each room had AC (which is a necessity in Morocco), as well as a travel adaptor, robes, and etc… For those travelers that need internet, there is wireless internet provided in the hotel. Michael let us know that if we needed, he would provide us with his personal laptop!! Furthermore, the common areas were gorgeous. The attention to detail with decorative pillows, a library, and a wonderful pool were all fantastic!

I would strongly recommend Dar Charkia to any traveler that is interested in staying in the Medina and having an unforgettable experience in Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

Marrakech is one loud, busy , in your face town but enter the door into Dar Charkia and be transported to another world, just as the perfect Riad should be. Fantastic place, great people. Owners were on hand every day to give personal advise and help to make your visit a wondrous experience. Forget the larger, conglomerate owned riads and get personal, you will love it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.