We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm, perfect for exploring the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“An oasis of calm, perfect for exploring the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Just spent a long weekend here with my mother.. yes we do like to get away together once in a while. This place was lovely; it is a beautiful, traditional Moroccan Riad with a slight twist of the modern. Modern enough to have everything we softies expect: air conditioning (or heating), clean and comfortable whilst still being just that bit special. The owners go out of the way to make you feel at ease .. a free map with lots of good advice gives you that bit of confidence to get completely lost in the city and just not worry. Oh yes and we LOVED the breakfasts which were very tasty, not your standard hotel fayre and slightly different each day. We ate each morning on the roof terrace. There are also sun loungers on the roof and a plunge pool in the courtyard. I'd very much like to go back with my other half for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,015
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
140
538
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Lisa & Michael were very welcoming and made our stay very memorable. Restaurant and bar recommendations were excellent and the personal shopping tour of the souk bagged us some excellent bargains! Staff were great. We will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I've already recomended this exquisite riad to friends for their honeymoon, i loved every minute of it. The welcome was always warm and genuine, the rooms beautiful and the most fantastic shopping two minutes from it's tranquil doors.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

The Dar Charkia is run on a daily basis by the owners Lisa and Michael and they make sure that the service received is of the highest quality. They have achieved this with their staff also, and staying in the riad is a joy because everyone is so cheerful. The rooms are exactly as described, the food is excellent and I cannot find anything to find fault with. The position of the riad is just right with all areas of the city within touching distance. It is very close to taxi ranks etc and no long hikes are required. It is also in a very secure area and well lit at night. In a city such as Marrakech it is essential to have a haven to retreat to, where you can relax and recharge the batteries. The 'Dar Charkia' ticks all the boxes. Just a word of warning girls, my missus saw Abdu first!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

This is an amazing place to stay, if and when we return to Marrakech we will book at Dar Charkia again. I haven't uploaded any pictures, because unusually the pictures on the www.darcharkia.com web site are exactly as it is.

Dar Charkia is run by Lisa (English) and Michael (German). Two more helful and nicer people you could not meet. They are not permantly based at the Riad leaving an excellent team of locals to look after you which clearly helps you feel you're in Morocco. All the staff are very friendly and heplful , nothing is too much trouble.

The Riad has a contemporary/boutique feel, but you do get the Riad experience. We opted to eat in on the first night and it was the best Tagine we ate during our stayed. The Riad is 5 mins from the Soukes and main square and easy to find your way back to.

The atmosphere in the Riad is very very relaxed, come and go as you please and use the facilties as you please. We usually ate breakfast on the roof terrace in a tented canopy. Breakfast can be served any time you wish, even late afternoon - honeymooners. You can spread out where you like and do as you wish. It really felt like home and we certainly chilled out a lot.

Lisa and Michael genuinely want you to have a great time. Although not based in the Riad, they frequently call by and happy to receive phone calls or emails for advice and recommendations. Their recommendations are based on their own experiences which were very helpful on a short stay holiday as we felt we didn't have time to experiement.

Dar Charia is run by Michael and Lisa more as a hobby, but don't take this as being any indication of lower standards. What they offer is in many areas above 5 stars. They are not motivated by making money out of their guests and really do take a close interest in your holiday. It is a hobby they want to do well at and from our experience they certainly surpassed all my expectations. From our first enquiry we were met with prompt responses and clear advice. I immediately knew we had made the right choice. This followed throughout our break. When we arrived Lisa spent time with us learning what we wanted to do and see and then highlighted appropriate places on a map. This really was a great help. Lisa also took my wife to some local shops which she trusted - not so good. Lisa can also organise transport to/from the airport.

We found the people of Marrakech very polite and helpful. When we looked lost in the Soukes locals would offer advice and not expect anything for it. We were hardly hassled until some of the shop owners saw we had bought items, but even then a brief 'non, merci' saw them back away. The worst hassling was in the main square at night from the food vendors who set up mini restaurants all brought in each day on a trolley. It is an amazing atmosphere and a sight to see. If you pick a stall where the locals are eating you can't go to wrong. It is also great to have a Nuss Nuss coffee from one of the many roof top terrace cafes around the square and watch Marrakech go about its business - 4 pm is the time to watch the main square trolley cafes set up.

Getting there - the worst bit for us. We went via Ryan Air meaning a 6 am flight out and 3 departure from home. Ryan Air have a weight allowance based on each bag of 16 kgs and not the number of people travelling, so we had to pay excess both going out and back. Although they make no secret of the additional charges, when it came to it this left a bitter taste. Using Ryan Air meant that in the end the flights weren't really any cheaper than the other cariers. Easy Jet have a higher weight limit and more flexible approach. However, for the shoppers out there, Lisa recommends Iberia. although the plane stops in Madrid for up to an hour, you have allocated seating, not treated like cattle, better flight times and importanly a substantially higher baggage allowance. I would go this route in the future, but may even mix and macth carriers for the journey out and back to best meet our needs.

In the soukes you can get great deals on all manner of stuff from throws, cushions covers, leather goods, shoes, lamps etc etc. I would recommend taking a spare bag to bring stuff back in (seriously). Also follow Lisa's advice.

Alcohol is expensive and watch out for street traders who try to swap pound coins for 10 dirhams. The coins are nickel fakes and are worthless.

I really can't speak highy enough of Lisa and Michael and their team at Dar Charkia. It was sad leaving them all yesterday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I have recently returned from our 2nd trip to Dar Charkia. We feel so lucky to have found this oasis of calm in the madness of the Medina.
Dar Charkia will woo you with its exquisite beauty and tranquility, its friendly and warm welcome and wonderful food.
I celebrated my 40th birthday here with a few friends and felt so spoilt. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels but the experience at Dar Charkia is much more intimate and special.
Lisa and Micheal, your hosts, are unique in that they spend time with each guest telling them of the best places to eat or visit or shop. They are amazing hosts and leave you feeling as if you are staying with friends. Other riads that we have stayed in felt cold and unfriendly in comparison. Lisa's Personal shopping trip is a must and great fun. It takes the stress out of haggling and yet you still feel like you've come away with a bargain. If you love shopping then Lisa's your gal!
You must try Dar Charkia for yourselves. You certainly won't be disapointed and its extremely reasonable for the quality of accomodation and service you will receive.
Thanks Dar Charkia for an amazing and memorable birthday, we will be back again soon.!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Just spent a wonderful 4 days in Marrakech and can't rate this riad highly enough. All previous reviews say it all - it really is that good. The riad is beautifully decorated and gives off an air of serenity - after a busy day haggling in the souks it was a delight to come back to. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. Our hosts Lisa and Michael were very welcoming and made it feel it more like staying in their home than a hotel - nothing was too much trouble for them.

If you are thinking of going to Marrkech then definitely stay at this Riad - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Hotel
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list