We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad, lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Just returned from 4 nights in the Dar Charkia riad and can honestly say we loved every minute. We stayed in the Khmissa suite which was beautiful and there are nice, thoughtful touches like the white towelling robes, UK plug adapter, free mineral water and nuts/sweets, nice toiletries, a safe, pretty padded coat hangers, original paintings on the walls... The room - indeed, the whole riad - was decorated beautifully. It's also in a good location, not too far to walk to most places. It's hard to add anything original from the other comments really: the place is just beautiful and Lisa, Michael and their staff are so friendly, helpful and obliging. Lisa was also very helpful prior to our arrival and sent me, promptly, many emails answering my questions, as well as arranging transfer from/to the airport, recommending restaurants and days out. We ate in the Riad on our first night and I can highly recommend this - food was lovely (there were 2 veggies in our party of 5, this was no problem at all, and you didn't feel like you were being fed poor, lazy substitute dishes) and we ate in the beautiful courtyard. Lisa also booked us into a few restaurants we might not otherwise have found by ourselves (including the Lotus Privilege, which was just lovely and highly recommended for a special treat). We also had a spa afternoon at the Jardins de la Koutoubia hotel - another treat which I would highly recommend. As first time visitors to Morocco, we appreciated Lisa's advice and just wish we had stayed longer so we could have done more things!

The Riad has enough nooks and crannies and comfy outdoor seating areas so that you can find your own space, even when there are other guests present. You never feel like you're on top of each other, there's plenty of room to find a cosy spot to read, sip a drink and chill out.

Service was wonderful - all the staff were lovely without being in your face, yet were on hand should you need them. Breakfast is also worthy of a mention - freshly prepared, different things each day so you didn't get sick of the same thing, and you could eat anywhere in the riad - as Lisa said, you're on holiday so you can do what you want.

I would definitely stay here again and can't recommend Dar Charkia highly enough. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Comfort; lovely staff; food; location; decor.
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
161
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
weybridge, england
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We spent our last night in Marrakech at Dar Charkia and we wish we had found it sooner. What sets this riad a part are the owners Michael and Lisa, who are expert at helping visitors navigate the often
complicated commercial and cultural realities of Marrakech. As full time residents and owners (unlike many riads) they are able to provide a customized experience that ensures each guest experiences the very best of Marrakech.

The owners have done an incredible job decorating this stately riad, it is sophisticated, hip and homey all at once. We would love to come back and rent the whole place out for a week of friends and family.
Well done.

Mark, Deborah and Harry Canon

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

Staying at Dar Charkia for our first experience of Marrakech was perfect, memorable and thoroughly enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Lisa and Michael. Restaurants were recommended, customs of Morrocco explained, helpful suggestions provided; hammans and spa treatments booked. Basically you were helped out when you wanted it and left to your own devices when you didn't. And thats the kind of hosts I like!
The Riad itself was geat too - decor was stylish, the staff were friendly and attentive; the food was good too. Most of all it was relaxing - like a home from home. I would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Just about everything
  • Disliked — The shower was a bit tempramental
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Booked via Hip Marrakesh but you can go direct via Riads own web site.
I was celebrating my partner’s birthday and wanted this holiday to be special... it was indeed. The owners offer a very personal touch, very friendly and are happy to assist with anything that you require.
This Riad is well located and very comfortable/ designer decorated and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our breakfast was also something to get up for.
Like most Raids in the centre of Marrakesh it is tucked away and nothing from the outside. But once you stepped through the entrance you knew you have chosen well. If I return to Marrakesh I will stay here again.
I would recommend this Raid to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.
http://www.darcharkia.com/

  • Liked — design
  • Disliked — it was raining, but not the Riads fault.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

I booked this Riad based on the reviews I read on trip advisor. We got the flavour of how helpful & friendly our hosts would be ahead of our arrival - there was an event taking place during our stay that could have resulted in us having difficulty getting into our preferred restaurants. Lisa sent us a list of restaurant recommendations which had details of the cuisine & price & booked those we preferred. She couldn't get us into 1 of them but suggested another similar one. All the recommendations were excellent. This is an extremely helpful, friendly & comfortable Riad where the owners go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Approachable, friendly & customer centri
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We wander down a narrow alley late at night wondering what on earth we’d booked, suddenly we went through a solid wooden door and there we were in an oasis ~ The fabulous Da Chakia.

Lisa is an A-Z of knowledge to the best bits of Marrakech; her love for Marrakech and what she does really did shine out. She booked us into amazing restaurants that we wouldn’t of come across on our own and gave excellent shopping tips as well as a personal shopping experience. Lisa and her team were always on hand to help us to find what every we were looking for.

The Dar Chakia itself is lovely; everything about it was super, with all mod cons (free internet access etc) hidden amongst traditional morocco style. Lisa’s team ensured everything ran smoothly, breakfast was fab plenty of choice.

You were made to feel totally at home after a long day out and about in the hustle and bustle, getting back to the Da Chakia for a beer or a cup of tea was great.

Lisa and her team made our stay in Marrakech. The personal touches and outstanding service really did make our short break for my birthday surprise a special memory. Thank you also to Hip Morocco.

  • Liked — The Personal Service And Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed at Dar Charkia as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary travel throughout Morocco. It fully lived up to our expectations. Lisa and Michael provided us first class service and advice, including making restaurant reservations. The staff were also extremely courteous and helpful, and genuinely wanted to ensure all our needs were met. We were nearly the only guests staying in this Riad during this time of year, and we really got the feeling that we were being spoiled. Highly recommended to couples who want a romantic getaway that is close to all the attractions in Marrakech.

  • Liked — Service.
  • Disliked — Satellite television system.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.