We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Dar Charkia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Loved Dar Charkia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

I booked this Riad based on the reviews I read on trip advisor. We got the flavour of how helpful & friendly our hosts would be ahead of our arrival - there was an event taking place during our stay that could have resulted in us having difficulty getting into our preferred restaurants. Lisa sent us a list of restaurant recommendations which had details of the cuisine & price & booked those we preferred. She couldn't get us into 1 of them but suggested another similar one. All the recommendations were excellent. This is an extremely helpful, friendly & comfortable Riad where the owners go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Approachable, friendly & customer centri
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We wander down a narrow alley late at night wondering what on earth we’d booked, suddenly we went through a solid wooden door and there we were in an oasis ~ The fabulous Da Chakia.

Lisa is an A-Z of knowledge to the best bits of Marrakech; her love for Marrakech and what she does really did shine out. She booked us into amazing restaurants that we wouldn’t of come across on our own and gave excellent shopping tips as well as a personal shopping experience. Lisa and her team were always on hand to help us to find what every we were looking for.

The Dar Chakia itself is lovely; everything about it was super, with all mod cons (free internet access etc) hidden amongst traditional morocco style. Lisa’s team ensured everything ran smoothly, breakfast was fab plenty of choice.

You were made to feel totally at home after a long day out and about in the hustle and bustle, getting back to the Da Chakia for a beer or a cup of tea was great.

Lisa and her team made our stay in Marrakech. The personal touches and outstanding service really did make our short break for my birthday surprise a special memory. Thank you also to Hip Morocco.

  • Liked — The Personal Service And Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed at Dar Charkia as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary travel throughout Morocco. It fully lived up to our expectations. Lisa and Michael provided us first class service and advice, including making restaurant reservations. The staff were also extremely courteous and helpful, and genuinely wanted to ensure all our needs were met. We were nearly the only guests staying in this Riad during this time of year, and we really got the feeling that we were being spoiled. Highly recommended to couples who want a romantic getaway that is close to all the attractions in Marrakech.

  • Liked — Service.
  • Disliked — Satellite television system.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

I can't say enough about my experience at Dar Chakia. When a friend and I decided to go to Morocco we started doing some research on the many riads in Marrakech, thankfully we were referred to Dar Charkia from a friend, who had stayed there and had a wonderful time. Everything from the moment we arrived was superb, Lisa, Michael and all the staff were so helpful and accomodating in everyway. The actual riad is beautiful, it was so nice to come back in the afternoon and relax in our room and have a cup of tea. Thank God for Lisa and her shopping trip, I saved so much money I am terrible at bartering just can't do it. I actually think that our Marrakech experience would have been totally different if we had not stayed at Dar Chakia. Lisa, Michael and the staff, were fantastic. It was my birthday while we were there and I was given a lovely bottle of Moroccon wine before we headed out to dinner, which Lisa had booked for us before we even arrived. If I lived in ther UK and not Australia I would go back to Dar Charkia in a couple of months if I could.

  • Liked — The relaxed and enjoyable experience
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Lisa and Michael make this Riad an absolute pleasure to stay in
I went with 3 friends for Lady Alis 40th in Oct 2008.
Marrakech is mad and fun and unlike any place you are likely to go to again.
The Dar Charkia was an oasis of calm and the hospitality extended to us and others staying there was second to none. In fact, I am so loathe to stay in large chain hotels now as I would feel that I was missing out on the personal touches and invaluable information that was meted out by the bucket load at the Dar Charkia!
The rooms are exquisitely decorated and the small but important touches such as the sweets in the room and the smellies in the bathroom do not go unnoticed.The roof top terrace is a must for breakfast in the morning and then sip Pimms in the evening as the sun sets over Marrakech- what more do you want?
Lisa gives you fantastic information about Marrakech, the best places to eat/visit and the cleanest loos! The prior booking of meals and excursions again arranged by Lisa is a MUST as it allows you to fully appreciate the beauty and diversity of Marrakech even in only 3 days!
The trip to the Atlas Mountains- awesome and the walk up to the waterfalls with our able Berber guide was a fantastic experience. Watching the Berber women washing their clohes on the road, passing through the villages on market day, climbing the vertical mountain side with burly Berbers assisting (!) ,visiting the Argan oil factory on the way back home to the Riad are all memories that we will treasure.
Lizzie bought a beautiful bracelet from a jeweller that Lisa had recommended.I bought a belly dancer skirt which has been source of great fun since it came back to Manchester. The Souks were amazing if not mad but as Lisa had given us tips on how to haggle we were very at ease with it all.
Resting our weary feet in the plunge pool at the end of the day was very welcome, the meal we had in the Riad that night was gorgeous, the trip to the Jad Mahal was exellent.
What can I say- just go and please stay at the Dar Charkia and experience the tranquillity and beauty of this gorgeous Riad.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — when it rained-it spoiled sitting in the quad of the Riad
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Booked solely on the basis of Tripadvisor, this riad ticked all the boxes, and did not disappoint in any way.
I will not repeat the previous details about the initial briefing, the lovely breakfasts, the attention to detail etc. All true basically,
On a new subject, I would say that the location is perfect (a 5-10 minute stroll from Jemna al Fna - either by easy road or through souks) in a smarter district of Marrakesh. Always felt safe - walked everywhere.
The recommendations from Lisa for food were spot on -particularly Chez Pascal for a true French bistro experience when you are tired of Tajine. Great food and atmosphere for about £15 per head inc fair wine. Cheap too for the quality- Marrakesh has many restaurants that are effectively equivalent in Western prices, and sometimes of variable quality.
It was lovely not to have someone "try it on" by adding extra dishes, short changing etc - an unfortunate but very real side to an otherwise great place and people.
Be wary of shambolic Morrocan organisation (esp. passport control) at the airport -check in early!
Day trip with Mustapha driving (recommended by Lisa) was excellent to Imlil and Ourika valley. Safe driving and not pushy - he did not try to take you to his uncle's carpet shop etc.

It is rare to have one's expectations exceeded these days, especially having been lucky enough to have travelled almost solidly for the last 20 years. This place is right up there.
Enjoy.

  • Liked — Interior design
  • Disliked — cold initailly (time of year!) - resolved with heater
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderfully relaxing 6 night stay at the Riad. We spent the first 3 nights at another Riad as Dar Charkia was fully booked, and whilst we had no issues with the first riad it was the outstanding personal service we received from Michael and Lisa, the owners, and their staff which really distinguishes this riad from others. The riad is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lots of nice little touches throughout the riad from decor to presentation of drinks and meals. There is heating in the bedroom and bathroom which you can control yourself in the winter months. The lack of heating at the previous riad was a problem. The courtyard is a wonderful place to relax and unwind, you can borrow a book from the libary. The delicous breakfast is served at any time of day!

Lisa and Michael were extremely helpful in arranging tours, restaurant bookings and providing lots of useful information on where to go for shopping, eating and how much you should expect to pay for items. They were happy to assist with any part of our stay. They also kindly arranged for a doctor to visit when I became ill during my stay. I can't thank them enough for the chicken soup and TLC. The staff also were extremely helpful and were attentive to our needs. I should also mention that Dar Charkia is ideally located to the souks and the main square. Taxis are easily available for nearby Dar El Bacha, which saves you having to walk far through winding alleyways on a night out.

Overall, it was a very relaxed and homely feeling staying at Dar Charkia. Michael, Lisa and all the staff will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay in Marrakech. I would love to return to Dar Charkia someday.

  • Liked — Location, decor, food, staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.