We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm inside a bustling and vibrant city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
“An oasis of calm inside a bustling and vibrant city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My friend and I have just got back from a 4 night stay at Dar Charkia where we were treated like family. The attention to detail in the riad is second to none, with beautiful decoration, lovely cool spacious rooms and a beautiful little courtyard to sit and enjoy a moment of calm after returning from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff could not have been friendlier and were always helpful with any needs we had. Lisa and Michael know a great deal about the city and happily imparted their wisdom onto us to ensure we didn't miss anything! Overall, a fabulous four days in a beautiful riad; one that we certainly will be returning to. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
159
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I loved every minute of Dar Charkia. The Riad is beautiful and very close to the main road. The room we had was amazing. The best part about Dar Charkia was the people. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Lisa but Michael was amazing. We were fortunate to have dinner with Michael both nights we were in Marrakesh. He is an amazing person who helped us every step of the way to navigate Marrakesh. I can't say enough about Said, the night manager. What a great person! Big Samira and Zahira were amazing as well. The breakfast was amazing and the henna that Big Samira did on my hands was beautiful. Abdullah was also an amazing driver and tour guide. Danny and I appreciate everything you all did. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you are currently researching the numerous Riads in Marrakech, then please look no further, this is the place to stay!! I spent many hours looking into places to stay to cater for a group of 6 friends to celebrate a special birthday, I was not disappointed. In fact this place exceeded all my expectations, with wonderful owners Lisa and Michael and all their fantastic staff. They helped me to take care of the restaurant bookings prior to our arrival (of which there recommendations were spot on). The rooms and breakfast are as all other reviews and pictures show, which are both fantastic, but the thought and little personal details were the highlight for me. They had put some lovely birthday bunting in our room, a slice of cake with a candle for breakfast and freshly made mint tea when arriving back from a busy day out. The annotated map and chat from Lisa is invaluable. The Dar Chakria made my special birthday even more special and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I could not be more pleased and impressed with our experience at Dar Charkia. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights this July, and it was the perfect place to unwind after a hectic day in the city. However, the location also makes it a perfect place to call your home base as you venture out into the Medina. It is beautiful, with so many fabulous little details, and the service we received from Michael, Samira, and Siaid was exceptionally attentive, warm, and friendly. Also, they set out a luscious breakfast each day--unparalleled at any similar hotel/bed and breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend the riad to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Khmissa and loved it, but I think you'd have good luck with any choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a friends birthday, there was a party of 6 of us. The Riad is a stunning surrounding in which to stay! There is plenty of attention to detail every where you look. The three rooms we stayed in were all lovely with vibrant colours and an exclusive feel. The staff could not have been be more accommodating and catered to our every need, without being pushy. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Breakfast every day was lovely and on our last day we requested it up on the terrace which felt amazing!
Lisa helped make our break. She is so knowledgeable and gave us lots of recommendations for places to go, both in the day and at night as well as arranging taxi’s etc for us throughout out trip. None of her recommendations disappointed. Lisa's gives a great welcome talk on your first morning with plenty of information to help you out during your stay, a must if you are only staying for a few days and her map is a god send!
I would not hesitate at booking back at Dar Charkia.

Jayne A

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this fantastic Riad for four nights. Lisa and her team were very helpful, charming and the perfect hosts. We loved our room, the central location and the handy hints. Breakfast was a highlight, served at any time with something different every day. We would most definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here for my sisters 40th birthday so there was a party of 6 of us. The Riad is simply stunning, when we arrived it was all that we could do to not to spend the evening photographing the place. There is so much attention to detail every where you look. The three rooms I saw were all fabulous with their own characters and vibrant colours, it felt very exclusive. The staff well they couldn't be more attentive but not in your face. Nothing was too much trouble especially when I managed to lock myself out the safe!
Breakfast was lovely especially on our last day when we sat up on the terrace so relaxed. The staff really looked after us and even sprinkled 40 confetti over the breakfast table and put happy birthday banners up in my sisters room, lovely touch.
Not forgetting Lisa, who helped make our holiday what it was. Lisa is so knowledgeable that all her recommendations were fabulous. Due to our party size she booked restaurants for us and none of them disappointed. My favourite was Pepe Nero, such lovely scallop risotto. Lisa's welcoming talk is one not to miss, so much information which if you are only staying for a few days is a must, her map is a god send.
Already looking at flights to go back and wouldn't hesitate at booking back at Dar Charkia as simply loved it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.