We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous! Fabulous! Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Super 30% Discount
Ranked #4 of 473 Hotels in Marrakech
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous! Fabulous! Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I could not be more pleased and impressed with our experience at Dar Charkia. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights this July, and it was the perfect place to unwind after a hectic day in the city. However, the location also makes it a perfect place to call your home base as you venture out into the Medina. It is beautiful, with so many fabulous little details, and the service we received from Michael, Samira, and Siaid was exceptionally attentive, warm, and friendly. Also, they set out a luscious breakfast each day--unparalleled at any similar hotel/bed and breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend the riad to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Khmissa and loved it, but I think you'd have good luck with any choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
158
567
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a friends birthday, there was a party of 6 of us. The Riad is a stunning surrounding in which to stay! There is plenty of attention to detail every where you look. The three rooms we stayed in were all lovely with vibrant colours and an exclusive feel. The staff could not have been be more accommodating and catered to our every need, without being pushy. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Breakfast every day was lovely and on our last day we requested it up on the terrace which felt amazing!
Lisa helped make our break. She is so knowledgeable and gave us lots of recommendations for places to go, both in the day and at night as well as arranging taxi’s etc for us throughout out trip. None of her recommendations disappointed. Lisa's gives a great welcome talk on your first morning with plenty of information to help you out during your stay, a must if you are only staying for a few days and her map is a god send!
I would not hesitate at booking back at Dar Charkia.

Jayne A

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this fantastic Riad for four nights. Lisa and her team were very helpful, charming and the perfect hosts. We loved our room, the central location and the handy hints. Breakfast was a highlight, served at any time with something different every day. We would most definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here for my sisters 40th birthday so there was a party of 6 of us. The Riad is simply stunning, when we arrived it was all that we could do to not to spend the evening photographing the place. There is so much attention to detail every where you look. The three rooms I saw were all fabulous with their own characters and vibrant colours, it felt very exclusive. The staff well they couldn't be more attentive but not in your face. Nothing was too much trouble especially when I managed to lock myself out the safe!
Breakfast was lovely especially on our last day when we sat up on the terrace so relaxed. The staff really looked after us and even sprinkled 40 confetti over the breakfast table and put happy birthday banners up in my sisters room, lovely touch.
Not forgetting Lisa, who helped make our holiday what it was. Lisa is so knowledgeable that all her recommendations were fabulous. Due to our party size she booked restaurants for us and none of them disappointed. My favourite was Pepe Nero, such lovely scallop risotto. Lisa's welcoming talk is one not to miss, so much information which if you are only staying for a few days is a must, her map is a god send.
Already looking at flights to go back and wouldn't hesitate at booking back at Dar Charkia as simply loved it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed here in May.
Everything about the experience was perfect. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. The staff and owners are beyond friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights there in May. Great staff very helpful advice. Location is just right central to everything.Wonderful breakfast and food. Couldn't recommend highly enough.
Listen to all the advice Lisa and her staff have to offer....it will save you time,money and avoid some of the pit falls unsuspecting tourists can sometimes fall into.
Bill Dublin Ireland

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at Dar Charkia for a week during May 2014, and it was the perfect oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the medina. The riad is small enough (6 rooms) for a very personal service, with an opportunity to get to know the staff, but big enough, with lots of little corners and spaces to have some time out and enjoy some down time, whether that is on the roof terrace, or by the plunge pool.

A perfect location! 5 - 10 minute walk to the main square and to the souks, and even within walkable distance to the new town, a taxi only costs 30 - 50 dirhams, so it's nice to have the choice.

Michael's "induction", along with the annotated map and local knowledge made us feel much less apprehensive, and we got straight out and explored the medina. We had a free transfer from the airport, an endless supply of delicious Moroccan tea, and the BEST lychee lemonade. All the staff were fantastic and couldn't help enough, from recommending and booking restaurants and excursions to discreetly cleaning our room daily.

The perfect stay, and we'll definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.