We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parfait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Parfait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

just got back from a four night stay in Dar Charkia;
it surpasses all others, for location, quality of the interior and décor, staff helpfulness and friendliness.Upon arrival, Samira gave us the tour and a great map of the city. Lisa had figured out that we were recently married and our room was all decked out in honeymoon decorations. She also arranged for a cake at Pepe Nero, which was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at Dar Charkia for a week at the beginning of May. It was mine and my sister's first time in Marrakech and we chose Dar Charkia after reading the fantastic reviews - we were not disappointed! Lisa and Michael were so lovely and helpful - we were a little nervous when we arrived but Lisa's map and advice were so great and we were soon very comfortable finding our way around. All the staff at the riad were fantastic, so friendly and welcoming and made us feel very much at home. They booked us tables at recommended restaurants and also 2 day trips outside of Marrakech which were both fab. We hope to be going back very soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sahara room and it was beautiful with a lovely shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at Dar Charkia for 6 nights.The Riad is beautiful.The courtyard is nice, cosy and perfect for relaxation( trees, dipping pool, birds that " visit the place ")., Rooms are nice, well decorated and the toilets are very clean.It's ideally located, you can walk to go to the restaurants, the souks and that is very important, to the famous place "Jamaa-el-Fna "in the evening.But what make Dar Charkia unforgettable is Lisa and Michael the owners and their staff.They take particular care of their customers. We really appreciated that the breakfast is " whenever you want ".They wrote somewhere in their Riad "arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend " it's true.they are helpful and nothing was too much trouble. THANKS YOU TOO MUCH.
We hope to be back with the whole family

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Dar Charkia is a beautiful ,elegant Riad ideally situated in the old town close to the souks,restaurants and shops.But what makes it very special is the exceptional hospitality of its staff and English/German owners Michael and Lisa. For first timers in Marrakech, as we were ,Michael's expert advice helped us get the very best from our all too short stay. From the personalized maps in every room to the reassurance that breakfast is "whenever you want it" , nothing was too much trouble..Meet and greet at the airport, pre-booked restaurants, and tours were all organized and reorganized to suit our whims. If it is your first time in Marrakech Dar Charkia is the perfect introduction and the ONLY place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the riad for 4 nights in May, and really enjoyed it. The riad is beautiful decorated, the rooms are very nice but our favourite was the central courtyard - perfect for relaxing in the afternoon and evening with a drink. The service was excellent, all staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Lisa and Michael's help and recommendations made our stay unforgettable. I loved Lisa's shopping tips:-) Many thanks again for your great hospitality, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The riad is lovely; a central courtyard in which we were welcomed with the ubiquitous Moroccan mint tea, pleasant shaded spots for reading or talking, a tree, a dipping pool... Our room was lovely, with plenty of water, and, unusually for Morocco, a hair dryer and a safe...all our needs were carefully looked after. For example, one of the women on staff gave me the exactly correct kind of tea to settle a queasy stomach. The owners, Michael and Lisa, speak French and English fluently, and were very helpful in recommending places to eat (their food happens to be excellent as well), to shop, to see...Should I go back to Marrakesh I would certainly want to stay at Dar Charkia again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were recommended Dar Charkia mostly because of Michael and Lisa and their expert knowledge and help of what to do and where to go in Marrakesh so we didn't have huge expectations of the Riad itself, but it was absolutely perfect. So pretty and calm and beautifully decorated. After exploring the hustle and bustle of the souks what a treat is was to come back to the Riad - the staff could not have been lovelier. Fantastic breakfasts always with something new and interesting. We stayed with our three teenage daughters and had such a wonderful time. Spent days exploring and then back to relax on the roof terrace in the sun and pop down occasionally to the pool to cool down and have mint tea. Had a brilliant morning tour of Marrakesh and a wonderful spa day at Le Clos des Oliviers. Day trek was a lot of driving but interesting and got our came ride in (all organised by Lisa) Definitely will return to Riad Charkia and already recommending it to everyone. Take Lisa and Michael's advice and book everything in advance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.