We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Riad , amazing service! We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Riad , amazing service! We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the riad for 4 nights in May, and really enjoyed it. The riad is beautiful decorated, the rooms are very nice but our favourite was the central courtyard - perfect for relaxing in the afternoon and evening with a drink. The service was excellent, all staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Lisa and Michael's help and recommendations made our stay unforgettable. I loved Lisa's shopping tips:-) Many thanks again for your great hospitality, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
147
550
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The riad is lovely; a central courtyard in which we were welcomed with the ubiquitous Moroccan mint tea, pleasant shaded spots for reading or talking, a tree, a dipping pool... Our room was lovely, with plenty of water, and, unusually for Morocco, a hair dryer and a safe...all our needs were carefully looked after. For example, one of the women on staff gave me the exactly correct kind of tea to settle a queasy stomach. The owners, Michael and Lisa, speak French and English fluently, and were very helpful in recommending places to eat (their food happens to be excellent as well), to shop, to see...Should I go back to Marrakesh I would certainly want to stay at Dar Charkia again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were recommended Dar Charkia mostly because of Michael and Lisa and their expert knowledge and help of what to do and where to go in Marrakesh so we didn't have huge expectations of the Riad itself, but it was absolutely perfect. So pretty and calm and beautifully decorated. After exploring the hustle and bustle of the souks what a treat is was to come back to the Riad - the staff could not have been lovelier. Fantastic breakfasts always with something new and interesting. We stayed with our three teenage daughters and had such a wonderful time. Spent days exploring and then back to relax on the roof terrace in the sun and pop down occasionally to the pool to cool down and have mint tea. Had a brilliant morning tour of Marrakesh and a wonderful spa day at Le Clos des Oliviers. Day trek was a lot of driving but interesting and got our came ride in (all organised by Lisa) Definitely will return to Riad Charkia and already recommending it to everyone. Take Lisa and Michael's advice and book everything in advance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

An absolute gem! There were high expectations after reading various editorials and Tripadvisor reviews, it’s safe to say that they were exceeded.

Lisa was quick to respond to any emails pre-arrival and sent a comprehensive guide with recommendations to help us plan our trip as well as organised transfers and any bookings. Our room was decorated with a birthday banner and confetti as we were celebrating a birthday during our stay which was a lovely touch, Lisa also help to arrange for a cake when we went out for dinner at Pepe Nero.

Upon arrival for our six night stay, we were given an extensive but much appreciated overview of the area together with the legendary annotated map which enabled us to navigate around the city, find clean toilets and the best places to eat and shop! The riad is perfectly located between Gueliz and Jemaa el Fna providing a great base from which to explore the city.

Our very spacious room and the public areas were well appointed and every detail had been thought of. So often, public areas are rarely used and feel cold but we made good use of these and felt at home. Breakfasts were fantastic and it was lovely not to be restricted to a set time period. We booked dinner for our last night and it was the best meal we’d had during our two week stay in Morocco, highly recommended!

We were caught short a little on our last day after a tour in the Atlas Mountains taken with another operator meant that we returned to Marrakech far earlier than anticipated with several hours to wait before our return flight, a quick call to Dar Charkia turned our potentially long wait at the airport into a far more pleasurable afternoon spent in Marrakech, they even organised our transfer to the airport and gave us a recommendation for lunch (great fish restaurant)! Their warm welcome made it feel like coming home!

The right amount of attentiveness and a ‘nothing is too much trouble’ attitude mean that Lisa, Michael and their staff team offer the best customer service either of us have ever experienced. We’ll definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The accomodation was excellent coupled with comprehensive advice on shopping in the souk and in the modern part of town.

We had a relaxing spa day nearby and advice on best restaurants in the area was well appreciated and enjoyed.

The food was excellent both outside and within Dar Charkia but you have to plan ahead for both as bookings are essential. A healthy breakfast, provided at the hotel, was a good start to the day.

A stress free holiday was had by all due to the efficient organization of maps, with detailed notes provided by Lisa and Michael May, owners of "Dar Charkia".

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our second trip to Marrakech and so we knew what to look for in accomodation. Dar Charkia provided an oasis of calm within the bustling market area of the city and was, in all aspects. a superior Riad. We were close to the markets and local restaurants and were provided with 'insider' tips on the best places to shop and dine (they were extensive and well researched) which added a lot to the overall enjoyment and experience. The owners and the staff were attentive at all times and clearly went out of their way to ensure that we felt very much at home and that all of our needs were met so that we could leave Marrakech with some very happy memories - which we did!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great friendly staff with heaps of relevant local knowledge.

Good sized room and every effort made to ensure we had a great stay.

Food was also good, if you take the Atlas Mountains day trip pack good shoes the hike to the waterfall is steep and you have to climb in parts.

Great food and shopping guidance.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.