We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned and loved it again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
St Albans England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Returned and loved it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We came back a couple of years after our original trip and loved it again! And recommended to friends who also loved it. Hopefully one day we will all come back as a group and take the place over with our families for a week or so. Truly great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Existential_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you expect 5 star then this is not for you. But if you, like the Martin family, want a riad full of character and charm, supported by friendly hospitality of its staff, located in the inner ancient city with it's fascinating history and mystique, as well as within vey close walking distance to the Main Square and its Souks, at a very reasonable rate then do not hesitate but book now. The rooms are small but very clean surrounding a charming inner court yard with a small pool and there is a delightful roof top terrace. All the staff went out of their way to make us very welcome and helped plan our visits including a day trip to the mountains. They organised a delicious feast at our request for our party of 9 on our last night during which Abdul introduced us to Berber music and dancing with great passion. It was a perfect way to finish our 4 day stay. Overall it was excellent value and Well done to the Riad La Croix team for making our first visit to Morocco such fun and so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukurai n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were unlucky enough to be in Marrakesh during a rare period of wind and cold so we spent a lot of time at the Riad. The staff were all really helpful and made the trip much more enjoyable than it would have otherwise been.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all of the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloydPinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked up late but Lisa was very helpful and replied to all enquiries. She organised us a transfer on the night before and the guy who collected us we very helpful. The owners weren't there during our stay and the staff who looked after us really made us welcome and helped us with our stay. As others mention the Riads are havens in Marrakech and Dar Charkia is no exception. Breakfast are beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webstea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

this was my 2nd time staying at this great place, and it was just as beautiful as i remember from last year. the service was as excellent and although we didn't have an evening meal, we did have breakfast, which was as superb. the rooms here are amazing, along with the decor of the whole Riad. nothing was to much trouble for the staff and of course Michael and Lisa were as friendly as ever. i'm so pleased that Dar Charkia have made it to number 12 in the top hotels in the trip advisor list. thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shebe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Dar Charkia provided a great venue for an 8 person girls weekend. The rooms were beautiful and the service was excellent. Michael was incredibly helpful when we arrived, as was Lisa on email before our visit. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night when we arrived and breakfast each day was superb, especially the yoghurt & strawberry compote on Sunday! Overall a wonderful weekend in luscious, relaxing surroundings.

Room Tip: I stayed in Dourira which is the larger suite and it was spacious, beautifully decorated and very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were a group of eight women who took over the whole Riad for the weekend and we could not have chosen better. Michael and his staff could not do enough for us (from suggesting cookery schools, restaurants and shops to providing directions to off-the-beaten track bars). The food on the first night was exceptional and the breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were large and full of beautiful items (in fact Michael showed us to the shop where they bought the soap dishes so we could buy our own they were so beautiful). All in all a sublime weekend!

Room Tip: All are different but the ones at the front seem to be less exposed to the early morning prayer call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing