We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have just returned home after staying 3 wonderful days in this most beautiful riad.What a special treat ,the perfect place from which to visit Marrakech with great advice and information from Michael and Lisa The riad is so beautifully decorated and furnishedwith the bedrooms being just gorgeous.Michael and Lisa arranged our day in the Atlas mountains and recommended 2 fabulous restaurants.We really were very comfortable, lovely breakfasts,delicious dinner on arrival and such charming , gracious staff,and all in the beautifully aesthetic riad.We just could not have wanted or expected more.So a huge thank you to Dar Charkia.

Room Tip: all the rooms were comfortable with lovely bathrooms,great showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
147
549
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked this Riad after reading excellent reviews and having never been to Marrakech it sounded ideal. Michael provided us with a through talk about the area on our arrival that helped greatly and enabled us to get out exploring right away! The Riad is beautiful and excellently located with quality service provided by the friendly and helpful staff that made the stay a pleasure. We stayed in the Khmissa room, which was beautiful, spacious and quiet. Breakfast we found to be adequate and varied slightly each day.

After lots of recommendations provided by Lisa & Michael prior to our arrival we arranged to eat at Pepe Nero our first night and had an excellent meal in very nice surroundings. After we had got our bearings we arranged to eat at another two of their recommended restaurants, which were also excellent.

We had a a day trip arranged to Lalla Takarkouste Lake & Imlil valley with lunch at Kasbah Angor and a camel ride in the afternoon! This was a brilliant day out and we got to experience life outside the city and the spectacular scenery. We also arranged to have a hamman, massage & lunch at Palais el Miria, which was a great way to end our 6 night stay.

Thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Marrakech and Dar Charkia and its staff made our stay all the more special. A special thanks to Siaid the night watchman who was absolutely lovely and very interesting to talk to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The riad is charming. Spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated. Lisa, Michael and their staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The location is great for exploring the city and Lisa is a font of info on all things retail! Lisa organised and booked for us a fantastic birthday dinner and a spa day, both of which were top class and extremely reasonably priced. We hope to go back and see some more of marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Dar Charkia. What a beautiful Riad. Truly, we could not have asked for more. Michael was a fantastic host - informative, so knowledgeable and friendly. That applies to all of the staff - wonderful service - polite, charming and so helpful. Sayid deserves a special mention! The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, and the Riad is perfectly located - we walked everywhere! The old town, the medina, is vibrant, colourful, busy and bustling which we loved. So to be able to come back to the peaceful tranquillity of Dar Charkia was perfect. We would recommend this Riad without question, and would love to go back. A memorable stay, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thank you for make our stay in Marrakech such a suksess. Your hospitality and your Riads charm are great. Our first night in the Riad with dinner and our new kraftas will we never forget. Next time in Marrakech we will choose Dar Charkia! 5 Norwegian couples

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

When staying at Dar Charkia its pretty much like you have found a long lost relative and they have invited you to stay at their house. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Behind the doors that lead to the mayhem that makes up Marrakech you have the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. The in-house food was wonderful, lamb and almond tagine was scrum! Breakfast was perfect in the courtyard, with the birds chirping away. All the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Love the fact that at anytime you can request tea, coffee, mint tea, all served with nice local biscuits, very refreshing and welcome after battling the souks. Lisa sat down with us first morning and gave us an overview, told us where to go, where to avoid and by and large all was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The excellent customer service starts even before you arrive at this wonderful Riad in the support and advice provided by Lisa and Michael in their correspondence with you around the booking and subsequent recommendations on trips, food, restaurants, night life etc etc. (they even advise which exchange gives the best rate at the airport!)

We stayed for four days and nights and just wish it could have been longer.

All the staff and the recommended drivers, guides etc. provided excellent service and couldn't do enough for you.

The location itself, as stated in numerous reviews, is a wonderful place and you feel as if you have been invited in to share someone's stylish large home in the middle of the hectic location that is Marrakech.

We will be recommending this holiday destination to our friends and family, which I hope demonstrates how confident we are in people having an excellent time.

Don't delay, book now, you WILL love it.

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor by the plunge pool which was excellent, with the added benefit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.