We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% SPECIAL FALL OFFER
Ranked #4 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The riad is charming. Spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated. Lisa, Michael and their staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The location is great for exploring the city and Lisa is a font of info on all things retail! Lisa organised and booked for us a fantastic birthday dinner and a spa day, both of which were top class and extremely reasonably priced. We hope to go back and see some more of marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
149
559
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Dar Charkia. What a beautiful Riad. Truly, we could not have asked for more. Michael was a fantastic host - informative, so knowledgeable and friendly. That applies to all of the staff - wonderful service - polite, charming and so helpful. Sayid deserves a special mention! The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, and the Riad is perfectly located - we walked everywhere! The old town, the medina, is vibrant, colourful, busy and bustling which we loved. So to be able to come back to the peaceful tranquillity of Dar Charkia was perfect. We would recommend this Riad without question, and would love to go back. A memorable stay, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thank you for make our stay in Marrakech such a suksess. Your hospitality and your Riads charm are great. Our first night in the Riad with dinner and our new kraftas will we never forget. Next time in Marrakech we will choose Dar Charkia! 5 Norwegian couples

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

When staying at Dar Charkia its pretty much like you have found a long lost relative and they have invited you to stay at their house. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Behind the doors that lead to the mayhem that makes up Marrakech you have the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. The in-house food was wonderful, lamb and almond tagine was scrum! Breakfast was perfect in the courtyard, with the birds chirping away. All the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Love the fact that at anytime you can request tea, coffee, mint tea, all served with nice local biscuits, very refreshing and welcome after battling the souks. Lisa sat down with us first morning and gave us an overview, told us where to go, where to avoid and by and large all was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The excellent customer service starts even before you arrive at this wonderful Riad in the support and advice provided by Lisa and Michael in their correspondence with you around the booking and subsequent recommendations on trips, food, restaurants, night life etc etc. (they even advise which exchange gives the best rate at the airport!)

We stayed for four days and nights and just wish it could have been longer.

All the staff and the recommended drivers, guides etc. provided excellent service and couldn't do enough for you.

The location itself, as stated in numerous reviews, is a wonderful place and you feel as if you have been invited in to share someone's stylish large home in the middle of the hectic location that is Marrakech.

We will be recommending this holiday destination to our friends and family, which I hope demonstrates how confident we are in people having an excellent time.

Don't delay, book now, you WILL love it.

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor by the plunge pool which was excellent, with the added benefit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four days during the October half term. The Riad is beautiful, quiet and charming. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful (I'll also add a mention for Sahid the night porter - lovely guy, studying English Lit and great fun to talk to).

Lisa and Michael, our hosts, made us feel very welcome and Lisa's annotated map proved to be worth its weight in gold.

The location is perfect - it's a 10 minute walk to the main square and about the same to get up to the New Town. We ate out every night at a selection of restaurants and really enjoyed ourselves. As has been said before - this place is booked solid - but really worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There's really no reason to look to stay anywhere other than Dar Charkia in Marrekech! While there are many choices for nice lodging in town, I still can't imagine a better place to be - especially when i found myself in a jam! What started out as a very troubling situation for me in Morocco (a lost passport and visa) that forced me (a woman, now left alone by trip-mates) to be stuck in Marrakech for an extra week turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I have to credit Dar Charkia for this - my trip got even better! Amazing owners Lisa and Michael and their incredible staff went the extra mile for me on all fronts! Calls were made to embassies on my behalf, excellent transportation was arranged, and as always, all advice is delivered with great warmth, a smile, and even a few jokes to lighten any dark mood. I thoroughly enjoyed my extra days. The place itself, decorated by Lisa, is absolutely beautiful and inviting. It's super clean with gorgeous appointments everywhere the eye can see. The location is superb, right in the Medina, very close to the great shopping at Mustafa Blaoui and very easy walking distance to all the wonderful craziness of the souks, Jmaa el Fna and other great neighborhoods that border. And let's not forget the FOOD! No joke, the home cooked dinners prepared by Zahira for the riad were far better than my fancy dining experiences at El Fassia and La Mamounia! Every single member of the staff is exceptional! Perfect English, French, Arabic, German, Hebrew and probably more are spoken and their attentiveness and guidance can not be underestimated. I've never felt more cared for, safe, and comfortable - I didn't want to leave, and for sure will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.