We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A beautiful hidden gem in the midst of Marrakech's hustle and bustle, very close to the major sights and attractions, but once inside a haven of peace and tranquility. Lisa, Michael and their wonderful team make one feel very welcome from the minute you step inside the unpreposessing wooden door and the interior of the riad is revealed in all it's beauty - the website really does not do it justice. The whole of our stay was made so pleasant and relaxing by the unobtrusive attention to our every need by dedicated staff, nothing was too much trouble. Lisa and Michael are fountains of knowledge and their recommendations of what to do and where to eat were invaluable and helped us to appreciate all that Marrakech and the surrounding area has to offer. They made arrangements for everything, from trips to the Atlas mountains and luxury spas to reservations at local restaurants and walking tours with our own personal guides. We visited and looked inside other lovely riads but none that we would rather have stayed at. alAll in all, just wonderful!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

just got back from a four night stay in Dar Chakia and I must say myself and all of my travelling companions were overwhelmed with the quality of all aspects of this riad. it surpasses all others, for location, quality of the interior and décor, staff helpfulness and friendliness. We looked at several other more expensive Riads and non came close. on top of a great location, the level of help from Lisa in choosing places to go and see/eat was amazing, she could make a business out of this alone. I would say our experience at the hands of Lisa and her staff, whilst staying in Dar Chakia is unsurpassed for an all round wonderful experience. well done Lisa and Michael, you will certainly see us again, and I think the same is true for my 8 traveling companions.
the peace and tranquillity of the riad has to be experienced to be appreciated. Well done it was fab fab fab

Room Tip: don't worry all of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at Dar Charkia. We will echo the multiple positive reviews. The highlights:

Lisa was very helpful before we arrived and made all the arrangements for airport pickup and restaurant reservations (al fassia and pepe nero - both very good).

Upon arrival, Samira gave us the tour and a great map of the city. Lisa had figured out that we were recently married and our room was all decked out in honeymoon decorations. She also arranged for a cake at Pepe Nero, which was very nice.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the Riad is perfectly located close to both the souks and the new town (we took taxis but it could be walked in ~25 - 30 mins).

Overall the team at Dar Charkia helped make our trip fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Most gems are hidden in Marrakech but this one is worth finding. Nothing is too much trouble for Liz and Michael not to mention their hand picked party of helpers who made our stay feel very homely despite been in the unfamiliar environment of Marrakech. Their recommendation on everything from amazing restaurants to where to find clean toilets and how to barter for trinkets is second to none. Marrakech is a fabulous must particularly in the oasis of Riad Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Dar Charkia was one of the most beautiful, well loved and best run hotels I have been to in a long time. Lisa and Michael own a beautiful riad, found down a couple of winding tiny Moroccan streets a short walking distance from central hub of the Jemaa el Fna square. The attention to detail in this establishment is unrivalled, and appreciated by both staff and guests alike. From the beautiful tea lights hanging in the peaceful courtyard, to the soft tones of jazz playing in the lounge area to the luxurious roof top tent - you can tell the moment you arrive that you are in safe hands and cared for by wonderful hosts. The home cooking both morning and evening is divine, and the staff during the day and throughout the night are attentive, patient and extremely friendly. Lisa's hand annotated map that is provided - and talked through on the first morning- was our saving grace and her hints and tips for handling the haggling in the souks and her recommendations for restaurants, nightlife and top sights, meant that our trip was a massive success. I would like to thank them for a wonderful time, and me and my boyfriend would not hesitate for a moment in coming back again should we find ourselves back in Marrakech. Andy had a brilliant 25th birthday, and Lisa saw to his big day being all the more special - even going so far as to tell our restaurant that evening to arrange a birthday cake! Thank you Dar Charkia, to both housekeepers the Seemera's and to our favourite night watchman Rasheed for a wonderful time. If you are contemplating where to stay in Marrakech, please choose Dar Charkia - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Dar Charkia is owned and run by Lisa from England and her partner Michael. Their welcome and detailed orientation (which includes where the clean loos are in the town!!) gives you a much needed confidence and sense of grounding in a city that is culturally an exotic assault on every one of your senses. They are available by phone at any time whilst there and are happy to help with anything. Also Sammy the house keeper and Siad the night watchman are both delightful, with excellent English and great personality. The place is idyllic and with such great staff it made our holiday. The Sahara room was plenty big enough for the two of us, plenty of other places to sit and chill out both inside and on the roof terrace. Location is excellent for the souks and main square - minutes away. Feels very safe walking around and the Moroccans are just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay with extended family, including 2 yr old and 8 month old and had a wonderful stay at the Riad Dar Charkia - it was an utter delight to walk through those doors from the chaos and noise of the Medina into such a stunning, tranquil setting. The location is very central and walk-able to all the popular sights whilst being relaxing and quiet while you are actually inside the Riad...even the beautiful rooftop terrace is peaceful. We booked out the whole Riad as we were a large group with small children, which was great value for money and meant we were able to feel very much at home there for the whole trip. We also got to see all of the suites, which were all beautifully decorated in a local style and were all en-suite and spacious.
The breakfasts were delicious, and some of our group had an evening meal at the Riad, which was a buffet of local Moroccan dishes and was fantastic.
Lisa, Michael and their friendly welcoming staff are incredible at making everything run so smoothly and efficiently, whilst making us feel like we were in our very own home from home. The initial welcome chat from Lisa was very informative and useful, as was all the help with restaurant and excursion bookings before we left the U.K. which made the whole trip easier to manage - their inside knowledge is invaluable.
We would definitely love to return one day!

Room Tip: all rooms lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.