We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 478 Hotels in Marrakech
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Dar Charkia is owned and run by Lisa from England and her partner Michael. Their welcome and detailed orientation (which includes where the clean loos are in the town!!) gives you a much needed confidence and sense of grounding in a city that is culturally an exotic assault on every one of your senses. They are available by phone at any time whilst there and are happy to help with anything. Also Sammy the house keeper and Siad the night watchman are both delightful, with excellent English and great personality. The place is idyllic and with such great staff it made our holiday. The Sahara room was plenty big enough for the two of us, plenty of other places to sit and chill out both inside and on the roof terrace. Location is excellent for the souks and main square - minutes away. Feels very safe walking around and the Moroccans are just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
159
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay with extended family, including 2 yr old and 8 month old and had a wonderful stay at the Riad Dar Charkia - it was an utter delight to walk through those doors from the chaos and noise of the Medina into such a stunning, tranquil setting. The location is very central and walk-able to all the popular sights whilst being relaxing and quiet while you are actually inside the Riad...even the beautiful rooftop terrace is peaceful. We booked out the whole Riad as we were a large group with small children, which was great value for money and meant we were able to feel very much at home there for the whole trip. We also got to see all of the suites, which were all beautifully decorated in a local style and were all en-suite and spacious.
The breakfasts were delicious, and some of our group had an evening meal at the Riad, which was a buffet of local Moroccan dishes and was fantastic.
Lisa, Michael and their friendly welcoming staff are incredible at making everything run so smoothly and efficiently, whilst making us feel like we were in our very own home from home. The initial welcome chat from Lisa was very informative and useful, as was all the help with restaurant and excursion bookings before we left the U.K. which made the whole trip easier to manage - their inside knowledge is invaluable.
We would definitely love to return one day!

Room Tip: all rooms lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dar Charkia is a wonderful and peaceful haven immersed in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech's city centre. It’s an ideal place to retreat to after a day of taking in the sights and sounds of the streets and haggling in the Souks. I recently spent four nights and can't recommend it more. The riad is delightful. The rooms are a good size, the courtyard is a great place to hang out and read and enjoy a cocktail, and the terrace is great for soaking up the sun. Lisa and Michael are the most helpful and informative of hosts. You really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Dar Chakia for a long weekend at the end of September. Dar Chakia is very well located, about 10 mins easy walk from near the medina and the same from the main square. Located down a quiet, classic little Marrakesh lane, this riad is a lovely, peaceful place. It is absolutely spotless, and tastefully decorated with all the rooms arranged around a beautiful old courtyard with lots of comfy seating and a plunge pool. Our room was very comfy, with aircon which was helpful even this late in the summer. Breakfast each day is delicious.

The owners, Michael and Lisa, are very personable and friendly without being over the top, and gave us a whole load of really useful information on places to shop, visit and eat. They even sorted out restaurant reservations for us before we turned up, at places that book up early. They, and all the staff, couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome.

All in all, Dar Chakia is a great spot that I would thoroughly recommend. The place itself is very pleasant, but the thing that makes it really work is the effort put in by the owners and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My son and I stayed at Dar Charkia for a long weekend at the end of September. The hotel is beautifully appointed, and a real haven from the hustle & bustle of outside Marrakech.
Both Lisa and Michael were charming hosts and extremely knowledgable and helpful, as were their staff.
I would highly recommend the hotel to anybody considering a visit to Marrakech, whether for a weekend like ourselves, or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was hands down one of the best stays we have had traveling - the owners greeted us immediately with drinks & spent time giving us many tips on our directions & purchases & set us up at delicious restaurants. They prepared maps for us with everything from good and cheap places to eat to banks with the best exchange rates to where there were clean bathrooms in the square. Each morning the owners visited at breakfast and went to all of their guests to ask how they slept and to make sure their needs were met. For a reasonable price they will cook you dinner and the food is fantastic! (and bought daily fresh from the market). the rooms were clean and wonderfully decorated. The staff was so friendly & accommodating- one did a henna tattoo for me at the hotel! The price is very reasonable for the high level,of service & extras included. the owner really loves their Riad. Highly highly recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wants top class service in beautiful surroundings. We had the largest of the rooms and it was lovely, though a peek at the other rooms showed that though smaller, they were equally lovely. It was handy being in the medina and within easy reach of the main square. Lisa and Michael were on hand to offer advice about anything and everything, and their excellent staff were always attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: I would say all of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.