We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent coaching about how to negotiate the town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value, excellent coaching about how to negotiate the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Listen to Lisa! She has years of experience and takes no bull___. You need her advice to figure out how to handle the town. The riad is restful, decorated with great love and attention to detail... Check out Samira, chief of staff -- personable, clued-in -- and her English so good you take her for an ex-pat Brit

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naxos, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Dar Chakia is a beautiful and restful riad on the edge of the markets and main square of Marrakech. My wife, 11 year old son and I have just finished a lovely four night stay with them,

We arrived late at night but were guided from our airport taxi (organised by the riad) by Rashid, who was the night manager. Rashid only speaks a little English - which Iwe loved as we were able to dust off our very shakey French. Rashid was a calming host, who generously walked us 10 minutes to our restaurant one night - we would never have found it without him - and then walked us back after our meal.

The dinner we pre-ordered our first night, and the daily breakfasts were delicious - especially the fresh orange juice.

The have a lovely plunge pool in the courtyard which was a great way to unwind after the day in the souks. And there were plenty of comfortable nooks to sit and read our check emails with th efree wi-fi. Lisa and Micheal own the riad and Lisa met us on our first morning and provided an invaluable annotated map and personal notes to help guide us through our days. Each of her recommendations were great - we were really pleased to have enjoyed four lovely nights with dinner out for three of them without suffering any health issues from our dining - thanks to the great recommendations.

I can't recommend Dar Chakia enough, it was a lovely stay, with lovely people.

Thanks from
Paul, Bridget and Josephh

Room Tip: Our room over the riad entrance was lovely, quiet and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My friend and I liked Dar Charkia so much we stayed there not once, but twice! We stayed for the first 3 nights of our Moroccan vacation. It was absolutely perfect. Airport pickup was smooth. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, perfectly clean, and the breakfasts are delicious! Lisa and Michael are wonderful and really took the time to help me get acquainted with the city which I never really considered as an important part of a hotel stay but it was very helpful. The staff is great.

After traipsing all over Morocco for the following several days we ended back up at Dar Charkia since our return flights were also out of Marrakech. We just loved the hotel, the location is great, and the hospitality is superb so instead of chancing it on another hotel we decided to stay again for a second time.

I highly recommend Dar Charkia. It is extremely daunting trying to find a place online, but you can't go wrong with this hotel! Save the headache and book with them today!

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Even before arriving, Dar Charkia was the right riad to have chosen in Marrakech. The owner Lisa sent extensive information to acclimate us the city before we even arrived. Once at the riad, the service was so personal. There was even a happy birthday sign in our room because I mentioned my friend and I were celebrating our birthdays. Breakfast was delicious. The location was great; not too far off the main road if we wanted a cab and close enough to the souks to walk there but not to stay in the madness. We loved Dar Charkia so much that we chose to spend our last three days there after traveling around the rest of Morocco. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dar Charkia earlier this month and were absolutely blown away with the accommodations and service. Lisa and Michael were so helpful during the booking process, providing a wealth of information and recommendations via email. Then upon arrival, Michael spent over an hour with us, mapping out an excellent itinerary to see Marrakech to the fullest. They provide guests with a hand-annotated map with great recommendations for the best places to eat, shop and even to find clean bathrooms. Their knowledge of Marrakech and their passion for guest service is evident in everything that they do.

The riad itself is pristine - beautifully decorated with friendly staff that takes its upkeep very seriously. Our room, the Khmissa Suite, offered very comfortable accommodations and great privacy. There is no wifi access in the rooms however the connection in the common area is excellent. The location of the riad is great, just a short 5-7 minute walk to the souks and about 15 minutes to the square.

Dar Charkia is truly an oasis in the bustling Marrakech medina and I think you would be hard-pressed to find a better riad with operators as committed to the guest experience as Michael, Lisa, and their staff.

Room Tip: The Khmissa Suite offered very comfortable accommodations and great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A really enjoyable week spent in a first class "home from home".

We booked quite late and Lisa was very helpful throughout the process, much more so than other options we looked at. We had used Tripadvisor to narrow our search and were very glad we had included Dar Charkia. We won't bother looking at other options next time.

Lisa and Michael, the owners, were extremely helpful and responsive throughout; from the initial contact to the farewell. Great hosts.

Once we confirmed, we received lots of helpful info on arriving at the airport, changing money, transfers, getting to the Riad, and suggestions for dining options, day trips, tours and spa treatments. They even pre-booked a couple of restaurant reservations which we could easily have cancelled had we wanted to - but happily did not. With the info provided by Lisa, it wasn't necessary to do much more research and we took on board many of her recommendations.

The Riad is superb, a beautiful example of maintaining the integrity of the building and its traditional elements whilst introducing modern facilities and a mix of modern and traditional furnishings, decorations and art work. The small pool was great for cooling off in the summer heat and the terrace was a great place to spend time in the sun or after dinner simply chilling out under the stars and moon with a bottle of wine. The lounge was equipped with a selection of books to read and tour guides to browse through.

We stayed in the Douiria Suite, which was lovely. We saw some of the other rooms and they were all nice. Because the rooms face into the courtyard and the Riad is not very near a mosque you do not get woken up by the call to prayer. Our room had a slightly Chinese character, having been furnished with some of the items collected on Lisa's travels.

Service throughout was always with a smile. On our first morning, Lisa gave us a great orientation as well as a map on which she has noted places to eat, shop and do some of the practicalities(e.g best exchange rates). Lisa and Michael are obviously well known at many places and mentioning them/Dar Charkia immediately received benefit, be it a welcoming complimentary cocktail or a better price.

The location of the Riad is superb. It is close enough to all the main sites and a short walk from the souks, but just far enough from the craziness to enable you to get away from it all. We walked to most places, even the new town, for dinner. On the occasions we wanted a taxi the nearest taxi point was a 2 min walk away.

The staff were all very friendly and happy to book restaurants, arrange trips, sort out queries, etc. They obviously enjoy working at the Dar Charkia, which gave it very much a feeling of a home rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Douiria Suite, which was lovely. We saw some of the other rooms and they were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited Dar Charkia for 4 nights this summer. Lisa and Michael ( the owners of the riad) were the most wonderful hosts tending to our every needs. All itinerary was pre arranged before we arrived, such as: restaurant bookings, day trips, spas and outings so we were totally relaxed not having to run around the city looking for places to go. You feel totally pampered!

On arrival Lisa gave us a run through of the insiders tips to Marrakech so we had a really clear understanding of what to pay whilst in the souks, taxi fares, places to each lunch and other sites to see whilst visiting the city.

Our room was wonderful. I highly recommend Saada, which when you look through the glass doors you have a view of the entire courtyard and you can literally step out into the cool plunge pool. Every part of the riad is unique. There is so much attention to detail that you want to explore the entire riad. (Great inspiration for design!)

We loved sitting up on the terrace enjoying a relaxing late breakfast overlooking the rugged roof tops of the city. It is so peaceful you would never know you are in the heart of the bustling medina! ( FYI - breakfast was amazing! Every day a different melange of fresh food, juice, tea and coffee!)

If you want a totally relaxing and 1st rate service this is the place to go. It is a must visit When in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Saada is a beautiful room. Overlooks the courtyard and plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.