We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Perfect escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Even before arriving, Dar Charkia was the right riad to have chosen in Marrakech. The owner Lisa sent extensive information to acclimate us the city before we even arrived. Once at the riad, the service was so personal. There was even a happy birthday sign in our room because I mentioned my friend and I were celebrating our birthdays. Breakfast was delicious. The location was great; not too far off the main road if we wanted a cab and close enough to the souks to walk there but not to stay in the madness. We loved Dar Charkia so much that we chose to spend our last three days there after traveling around the rest of Morocco. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
159
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dar Charkia earlier this month and were absolutely blown away with the accommodations and service. Lisa and Michael were so helpful during the booking process, providing a wealth of information and recommendations via email. Then upon arrival, Michael spent over an hour with us, mapping out an excellent itinerary to see Marrakech to the fullest. They provide guests with a hand-annotated map with great recommendations for the best places to eat, shop and even to find clean bathrooms. Their knowledge of Marrakech and their passion for guest service is evident in everything that they do.

The riad itself is pristine - beautifully decorated with friendly staff that takes its upkeep very seriously. Our room, the Khmissa Suite, offered very comfortable accommodations and great privacy. There is no wifi access in the rooms however the connection in the common area is excellent. The location of the riad is great, just a short 5-7 minute walk to the souks and about 15 minutes to the square.

Dar Charkia is truly an oasis in the bustling Marrakech medina and I think you would be hard-pressed to find a better riad with operators as committed to the guest experience as Michael, Lisa, and their staff.

Room Tip: The Khmissa Suite offered very comfortable accommodations and great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A really enjoyable week spent in a first class "home from home".

We booked quite late and Lisa was very helpful throughout the process, much more so than other options we looked at. We had used Tripadvisor to narrow our search and were very glad we had included Dar Charkia. We won't bother looking at other options next time.

Lisa and Michael, the owners, were extremely helpful and responsive throughout; from the initial contact to the farewell. Great hosts.

Once we confirmed, we received lots of helpful info on arriving at the airport, changing money, transfers, getting to the Riad, and suggestions for dining options, day trips, tours and spa treatments. They even pre-booked a couple of restaurant reservations which we could easily have cancelled had we wanted to - but happily did not. With the info provided by Lisa, it wasn't necessary to do much more research and we took on board many of her recommendations.

The Riad is superb, a beautiful example of maintaining the integrity of the building and its traditional elements whilst introducing modern facilities and a mix of modern and traditional furnishings, decorations and art work. The small pool was great for cooling off in the summer heat and the terrace was a great place to spend time in the sun or after dinner simply chilling out under the stars and moon with a bottle of wine. The lounge was equipped with a selection of books to read and tour guides to browse through.

We stayed in the Douiria Suite, which was lovely. We saw some of the other rooms and they were all nice. Because the rooms face into the courtyard and the Riad is not very near a mosque you do not get woken up by the call to prayer. Our room had a slightly Chinese character, having been furnished with some of the items collected on Lisa's travels.

Service throughout was always with a smile. On our first morning, Lisa gave us a great orientation as well as a map on which she has noted places to eat, shop and do some of the practicalities(e.g best exchange rates). Lisa and Michael are obviously well known at many places and mentioning them/Dar Charkia immediately received benefit, be it a welcoming complimentary cocktail or a better price.

The location of the Riad is superb. It is close enough to all the main sites and a short walk from the souks, but just far enough from the craziness to enable you to get away from it all. We walked to most places, even the new town, for dinner. On the occasions we wanted a taxi the nearest taxi point was a 2 min walk away.

The staff were all very friendly and happy to book restaurants, arrange trips, sort out queries, etc. They obviously enjoy working at the Dar Charkia, which gave it very much a feeling of a home rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Douiria Suite, which was lovely. We saw some of the other rooms and they were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited Dar Charkia for 4 nights this summer. Lisa and Michael ( the owners of the riad) were the most wonderful hosts tending to our every needs. All itinerary was pre arranged before we arrived, such as: restaurant bookings, day trips, spas and outings so we were totally relaxed not having to run around the city looking for places to go. You feel totally pampered!

On arrival Lisa gave us a run through of the insiders tips to Marrakech so we had a really clear understanding of what to pay whilst in the souks, taxi fares, places to each lunch and other sites to see whilst visiting the city.

Our room was wonderful. I highly recommend Saada, which when you look through the glass doors you have a view of the entire courtyard and you can literally step out into the cool plunge pool. Every part of the riad is unique. There is so much attention to detail that you want to explore the entire riad. (Great inspiration for design!)

We loved sitting up on the terrace enjoying a relaxing late breakfast overlooking the rugged roof tops of the city. It is so peaceful you would never know you are in the heart of the bustling medina! ( FYI - breakfast was amazing! Every day a different melange of fresh food, juice, tea and coffee!)

If you want a totally relaxing and 1st rate service this is the place to go. It is a must visit When in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Saada is a beautiful room. Overlooks the courtyard and plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

One of the best place to stay with perfect hosts .very homely place and amazing services.location is good close to medina .hosts give you a medina map with all touristic places marked all restaurants identified as well as shopping made easy . Map is of great help .overall a great experience

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A friend and I spent 4 amazing nights at Dar Charkia in late May. (I spent an additional fifth night on my own.) Our stay was part of a larger 16 day trip. With 400 plus riad options in a Marrakesh alone, the task of sorting through the choices was daunting. After much research, we used Tripadvisor to whittle down our top finalists.

Dar Charkia had over 900 reviews, glowing comments and high scores. From our very first contact with the Riad, we could see why.

The owners, Lisa and Michael were incredibly helpful and responsive. Their love for their adopted city is apparent in their enthusiasm. No matter when we wrote and we were writing from our home base in NYC a full month prior as well as throughout our travels from a wide variety of time zones, we always received an incredibly prompt and thoughtful reply. Whether it was to vet a tour we wanted to take, provide an opinion or suggestion on a restaurant, or even help coordinating with my friend's US based bank after she left home without her credit card, Lisa and Michael were enthusiastic and available.

On room confirmation, they sent us a tip-filled note with helpful info on getting to the Riad as well as suggestions for dining options at every price point, day trips, tours, etc. They also encouraged us have them pre-book reservations which we happily took them up on.

The Riad is stunning. They have done a beautiful job of keeping the integrity of the building and its traditional elements but the furnishings, decorations and art have a fun, modern touch and a light airy vibe. Our room was beautiful and the mattress was one of the more comfortable ones we slept on during our travels through Morocco.

The warm and hospitable service we experienced during the booking process only grew on arrival. On our first morning after a delicious breakfast, Lisa gave us a great orientation as well as an incredible map she has made packed with insider spots. (On a side note, it was amazing how many times we would enter a shop or get a cabbie whom upon hearing we were staying at Dar Charkia would rave about its owners and their team.)

We were also very pleased with the location of the Riad. Dar Charkia is close enough to all the main sites and a short walk from the souks but just far enough from the craziness to allow for a restful night. We felt very safe walking to and from the Riad even late at night. Though the staff always helpfully arranged for a staff member to walk us to dinner as we ate at a number of delicious out of the way spots.

My final solo night I opted to eat dinner at the Riad and the meal was delicious.

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed at on the second level where quiet and had spacious bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this cutest Riad end of May, 2013.
Michael and Lisa, the owners, were very friendly and kind. Lisa made a great map of Marrakech where we should go, see, and eat ! This map was REALLY helpful. She wrote all the name of the places where we should try to eat, where to buy souvenirs, what to see in the neighbor by hand-writing one by one. It must be a lot of work...and they do for every customer. I was really impressed.
The Riad was very cute and clean. Everything there - the cushions, tapestries, furniture, artworks, etc etc were a piece of art. You'll be amazed by these collections.
Staff at the Dar Charkia were also kind and friendly as well. They were always there for you so you'll be comfortable and safe all the time.
On the last day of our tripe, Michael made an itinerary for us. AHHHH, this itinerary ! - we'll never come up these ideas. Michael who knows the places very well made just for us. We had a great time and found really nice souvenirs that we never found in the regular souk....
WE want to go back this place for sure !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.