We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We returned here following a stay which we had very much enjoyed a few years previously, and were delighted to find it unchanged.
The staff, without exception, are delightful and nothing is too much for them to want to do for you. They seem to manage this whilst at the same time leaving you as much space as you need and never being obtrusive. Lisa and Michael are very experienced in the breadth of their knowledge of Marrakech, and their advice as to where to go and what to see is valuable information. They can also arrange trips and outings for you, should you wish.
We had dinner one night at the Riad, and the cooking was some of the best we had in Marrakech. Had we had longer, we would have chosen to eat in again.
Altogether, a real pleasure. We will return again!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet and well appointed and with plenty of space. We have now tried three of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
160
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. From the moment we arrived we were treated like one of the family. We were well prepared with detailed maps provided by Michael and Lisa, as well as given great information by Michael on where to go for good quality goods in the Souks, how to handle ourselves in the main square and where was good to eat. All the other staff that work in the Riad are kind, friendly and helpfull! This Riad is a little oasis in amongst the craziness of the Medina! Breakfast was provided every morning it was delicious and fresh and provided us with a great start to the day. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just had the best weekend, the owners Michael and Lisa were full of fantastic advice which meant we didn't waste a second, the Riad was an oasis in the middle of a busy Marrakech, nothing was too much trouble even midnight snacks! - Lisa's resturant advise was great and meant that we sampled traditional and modern cusine. Great weather this time of year too all in all a great weekend i will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here as part of a large group, we hired the whole Riad for 4 days. From the beginning there was nothing that was too much trouble. Lisa and Michael, the owners, were extremely helpful before/during/after the trip, organising regular drivers to take us about the sights, arranging a lovely group dinner in the Riad one night when we didn't want to venture out, even pointing out the best cafes with the cleanest loos in the Souk! The staff are also lovely and helpful - breakfast on the Terrace, or by the pool, never a problem.

I know there are tons of places to stay in Marrakech and it's difficult to make a decision, but you won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Dar Charkia for 3 nights for a girls weekend at the end of May 2013 and hired the Riad exclusively for our use; which was just a wonderful option. Lisa, her husband and their excellent team could not have done more to ensure we made the most of our time in Marrakech. The service was impeccable, the food delicious, the styling superb and the hospitality beyond what we could have hoped for! This is a "must-stay" Riad, well located in the Medina and one which I have already started recommending to my family and friends. Thanks so much to all at Dar Charkia once again for a brilliant mini-break.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the suite really is a super option if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were a party of 8 visiting Morocco for the 1st time. Dar Charkia was a fantastic experience. The owners Lisa and Michael are simply impeccable hosts. They made us feel so welcome even before we set foot in Marrakesh. They had patiently answered all our questions through email prior to our trip. The team working for them is equally warm and go all out of their way to make guests feel at home. Special thanks to Sami for her care throughout our stay.

The Riad is within walking distance to the famous souks, a must see to immerse in Marrakesh. Lisa had provided us detailed maps on arrival, highlighting places of interests, restaurants, quick facts, tips on tipping, bargaining etc.

At the entrance of the Riad , i recall reading a signage that holds so true.....Enter as strangers; leave as Friends. Lisa & Michael, heartfelt thanks for making our stay in Marrakesh a memorable and wonderful one. Look forward to seeing you in Singapore for Chilli crabs and chilled Tiger beer!

Ruv Alwis

Room Tip: Rooms are tastefully decorated. Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friends and I found this Riad from Tripadvisor. We were only a holiday in Spain and decided to pop by Morocco for a few days. 8 of us shared 3 rooms which were spacious and comfortable. Location of the Riad is excellent and it is just walking distance from the Souks and eateries in the town area. The Riad is also a perfect getaway from the heat and hustle and bustle of the streets. Once inside, one feels safe and peaceful. Best of all, it feels so cool and relaxed once you step inside.

As none of us had ever been to Morocco, the hosts, Lisa, Michael and Sami gave us lots of tips on shopping and eating around Marrakech. They also shared many stories and history about Marrakech and it made us understand more about the culture and the people there. Despite our numerous and endless questions, they were always at hand to tend to our queries. Their patience and help made our stay so pleasant and enjoyable. We liked their breakfast so much that we decided to have our dinner at the Riads on our last night and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and meal. Our 4 days stay at Marrakech and at Dar Charkia had been perfect. The atmosphere inside the Riad always felt cosy and clean that you don't feel like stepping outside into the heat. We highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wants to visit Marrakech. Lisa had been prompt and helpful with all our enquiries before our trip there. Thus do not hesitate to ask her anything if you have any doubts :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.