We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Badsworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have just returned from our week's holiday in Morocco where we stayed at Dar Charkia - a special place and the worthy recommendation of an American friend. We have stayed in a variety of accommodation from first class hotels to 5* bed & breakfasts all over the world and Dar Charkia sits very nicely with the best of them.
Our transfer to the riad was efficient with our luggage being transported for us. As we walked into the riad a magical first impression awaited us with the riad being lit with tealights and atmospheric lighting giving a warm welcome and very Moroccan feeling. The riad is presented in a tasteful and stylish Morrocan design and showcases the owners, Lisa and Michael's, many talents - I really loved the artwork and Morrocan artefacts that had obviously been chosen and placed with such care.
After having a complimentary drink we were shown to our room which was the Khmissa Suite. It is accessed by its own staircase at the back of the riad making it very private and quiet. The suite itself was spacious, comfortable and dressed in Morrocan fabrics and accessories, there was everything you could want in the bathroom, a generous range of quality toiletries, robes, hairdryer etc. even rose petals in the shower!! All the suites had their own charm as we were able to take a peek at some of the others during our stay. The master suite was extra special and worth treating yourself to.
Breakfasts were ample and consisted of juice,fruit, yoghurt, croissants, crepes, French bread and maybe eggs, meat or tomatoes with as much tea and coffee as you wanted. We just had to buy some of the baby tagines that the preserves were served in !!
After breakfast on the first day we were given a very comprehensive and invaluable talk by LIsa based around an anotated map of Marrakesh which gave us advice on restaurants, shopping, places of interest and useful tips, all of which gave us more confidence to explore Marrakesh on our own. All Lisa and Michael's recommendations could be relied upon although the Lotus Privilege restaurant was not to our taste.
The staff at Dar Charkia do all they can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we are very grateful to them. It is the commitment and attention to detail that really makes Dar Charkia a special place Lisa and Michael and their staff care about the wellbeing of their guests and we had first hand experience of this when we had a problem with our flight back home. Lisa and Michael did all they could to resolve our problem going beyond what could be expected of them. Their personalities and vision are helping to make Dar Charkia the success it is.
We hope to make a return visit and can't recommend Dar Charkia too highly.

Room Tip: The Khmissa suite is probably the quietest and most spacious standard room. The Sa'ada suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Came back a fortnight ago from an incredible 3 night stay at Dar Charkia! First off the staff are an absolute credit to the lovely owners Lisa and Michael. Throughout our stay every single one of them went that extra mile to make sure that I had a fantastic experience of Marrakesh, with their warming and friendly faces giving the Riad such a pleasant atmosphere to relax and unwind in. I stayed in the Sahara Suite which is situated right beside the plunge pool (lucky me!) which was beautifully decorated with lovely homely touches such as complimentary nuts and shower things. The bed was extremely comfy with a really warm cosy duvet and their was plenty of storage with 2 large wardrobes and a fantastic bathroom with a great shower. On the first night we ate a lovely meal at the Riad which was freshly prepared for us that day and tasted delicious. I can highly recommend the Lemon chicken tagine and the chocolate mousse! On the second day we ventured into the Souks (which are situated within a 5 minute walk of the Riad) and the knowledge of both Lisa and Michael proved to be invaluable with them giving us great hints and tips to get the best bargains such as always offering the sellers half of their initial asking price (sounds crazy but it worked!). Throughout our stay they also gave us great recommendations on local sightseeing spots, restaurants, bars and clubs which all turned out to be great and really added to our stay. Overall I had an incredible stay and cannot thank Lisa, Michael and the team enough for making my first time in Morocco such a fantastic experience. You can tell as you explore the Riad that it has been decorated with so much love, care and attention to detail, it truly is a stunning retreat and a great escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. All the best, Elyssa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

me and my partner came in November 2012 and was the best trip ever.

We booked with Dar chakira firstly the price was good and LISA and Micheal was at hand on every email and quick to respond..

when we arrived - the rad was great we was on the bottom floor in a big room.

The breakfast was amazing and fresh and also the restaurants we went to recommended by Michael and Lisa was great,

We also did a hot air balloon for my bday which was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This Riad is really a home from home. Arriving through the streets of Marrakesh was like finding an oasis. It is extremely comfortable and the staff are outstanding., Nothing is too much trouble and they do everything that they can to make your stay enjoyable. It was our first visit to Marrakesh and we had no idea how to find our way around but Lisa & her team provided us with excellent tips on how to get around, change money and where to buy. We were given maps which had been annotated with all the information we needed to negotiate the souks.
The riad itself is a real find. There is a lovely roof terrace with lots of room to relax and chill together with sunbeds and cushions and shady areas. Within the riad there are also several different areas where you can get out of the sun or take meals. The food was excellent, with different choices at breakfast every day and wonderful terrines and salads for lunch and evening meals.
Our rooms were very comfortable and clean and your every need was catered for. The extra touches are there, like water and nuts together with scented candles and a basket to use when taking your things up to the roof terrace.
I can only say that if you are thinking of visiting Marrakesh and want to stay in a riad, then the Dar Charkia is a truly wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Five ladies, ages ranging from 24 to 63 have just returned from Dar Charkia. Lisa and Michael, the owners are so helpful with all the local information you could want. They arranged the transfers from the aiport and made sure we had help finding a restaurant one night sending a lad who worked at the riad as an escort for us. When we arrived at the riad we were so glad we had booked Dar Charkia as it was everything we had hoped for and more. I work in travel and have stayed at the best hotels around the world. We all wanted a true ethnic experience with all the comforts of a hotel,such as comfortable beds and good working showers. We had all this,the riad was so homely and at night candles lit up the courtyard creating a lovely ambiance. We were met by Samira when we arrived and she went over the very detailed map with directions of where to go, shops, restaurants, the souk etc., (detailed by Lisa) while we had a very welcomed cold drink. The staff are absolutely brilliant, nothing is too much for them, they looked after us so well, such as arranging for our breakfast to be taken on the roof as the weather was so nice, returning from our shopping or sightseeing in the afternoon and serving lunch and drinks on the roof. Samira and Maltilde made a point of making sure all was well each day and when we left we felt we had made friends, Thank you Lisa and Michael, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Charkia. The place is beautiful and well decorated. Rooms were very clean. We had lovely food which was one of our best meals. Staff were very friendly.
Location was perfect and just walking distance from the centre and souks.
I would strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Dar Charkia. I booked the whole riad for 12 of us and Lisa and Michael, together with their helpful and friendly staff made our stay a super experience. Nothing was too much trouble and the food, welcome and advice given to us was excellent. The riad rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated and there is a roof terrace for sunbathing and a shady courtyard for relaxing with friends. We did not want to leave and I can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.