We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% SPECIAL FALL OFFER
Ranked #4 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This Riad is really a home from home. Arriving through the streets of Marrakesh was like finding an oasis. It is extremely comfortable and the staff are outstanding., Nothing is too much trouble and they do everything that they can to make your stay enjoyable. It was our first visit to Marrakesh and we had no idea how to find our way around but Lisa & her team provided us with excellent tips on how to get around, change money and where to buy. We were given maps which had been annotated with all the information we needed to negotiate the souks.
The riad itself is a real find. There is a lovely roof terrace with lots of room to relax and chill together with sunbeds and cushions and shady areas. Within the riad there are also several different areas where you can get out of the sun or take meals. The food was excellent, with different choices at breakfast every day and wonderful terrines and salads for lunch and evening meals.
Our rooms were very comfortable and clean and your every need was catered for. The extra touches are there, like water and nuts together with scented candles and a basket to use when taking your things up to the roof terrace.
I can only say that if you are thinking of visiting Marrakesh and want to stay in a riad, then the Dar Charkia is a truly wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
149
552
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Five ladies, ages ranging from 24 to 63 have just returned from Dar Charkia. Lisa and Michael, the owners are so helpful with all the local information you could want. They arranged the transfers from the aiport and made sure we had help finding a restaurant one night sending a lad who worked at the riad as an escort for us. When we arrived at the riad we were so glad we had booked Dar Charkia as it was everything we had hoped for and more. I work in travel and have stayed at the best hotels around the world. We all wanted a true ethnic experience with all the comforts of a hotel,such as comfortable beds and good working showers. We had all this,the riad was so homely and at night candles lit up the courtyard creating a lovely ambiance. We were met by Samira when we arrived and she went over the very detailed map with directions of where to go, shops, restaurants, the souk etc., (detailed by Lisa) while we had a very welcomed cold drink. The staff are absolutely brilliant, nothing is too much for them, they looked after us so well, such as arranging for our breakfast to be taken on the roof as the weather was so nice, returning from our shopping or sightseeing in the afternoon and serving lunch and drinks on the roof. Samira and Maltilde made a point of making sure all was well each day and when we left we felt we had made friends, Thank you Lisa and Michael, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Charkia. The place is beautiful and well decorated. Rooms were very clean. We had lovely food which was one of our best meals. Staff were very friendly.
Location was perfect and just walking distance from the centre and souks.
I would strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Dar Charkia. I booked the whole riad for 12 of us and Lisa and Michael, together with their helpful and friendly staff made our stay a super experience. Nothing was too much trouble and the food, welcome and advice given to us was excellent. The riad rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated and there is a roof terrace for sunbathing and a shady courtyard for relaxing with friends. We did not want to leave and I can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Dar Charkia is hands down the nicest place I have ever stayed in and is situated in a perfect location for visiting the Souks and other main sites. It is beautifully decorated in a unique manner and it is evident that great attention to detail has been paid on every individual feature. The service was exceptional and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Lisa and Michael were absolutely fantastic and could not have been more accommodating - they really went out of their way to make sure we had the best experience possible, giving us great recommendations on everything ranging from places to visit to restaurants and how not to get ripped off with taxis etc! The first night we had dinner in the riad and the food was incredible. Lisa booked us in for a spa day on our final full day which included a transfer, massage and a 3 course meal for only 650 dirham. Would really recommend this to anyone! A massive thank you to Lisa, Michael and all of the staff for making it such an unforgettable holiday - a visit is highly recommended, I hope to return in the not too distant future!! Best wishes, Taeya

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked the whole riad for my birthday a few years ago and this year, I suggested to my best friend that she should do the same. Last week, I went to stay at Dar Charkia with two of my closest girl friends and this experience was really outstanding. I have stayed at Dar Charkia five times and I will continue to go back because I have quite literally fallen in love with the place. Lisa, Michael and the staff couldn't be more welcoming, the place couldn't be cleaner nor more charming and the food they offer is truly amazing! On our first night we ate in the riad, we were served a faultless, 3 course Moroccan menu- very generous portion sizes!! The following day, Lisa took us around the souks, taking us to places that offered great deals; it helps that Lisa knows a lot of people- we were treated very well and not ripped off. To ensure every client takes full advantage of the buzzing city that is Marrakech, Lisa offers many suggestions as to what is available- from sunbathing on their relaxing roof terrace, to adventurous journeys round the medina, or even visiting traditional Moroccan spas. The riad is beautiful and unique but also very comfortable, something that I particularly look for when I chose hotels. This riad is worth far more than any 5* hotel I have ever stayed in. This visit was one of my best experiences in Marrakech and I will definitely be returning again next year!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing, I have stayed at Dar Charkia on many occasions and occupied most of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can confidently say that this is the best, personalised service I have ever experienced. Not even the 6 star hotels in the Middle East can compete. Everybody makes you feel welcome and goes out of their way to accommodate your every wish.

As others have remarked, the outstanding customer care starts right from your booking. The owners sent us recommendations for things to do and places to see, and booked everything before our arrival. We enjoyed a delightful afternoon in a spa, a splendidly delicious dinner (if you order a dinner in the riad, make sure you do NOT eat all day, as the portions are rather generous!!), and had a guide for one morning who was absolutely brilliant.

The staff are unbelievably professional, friendly and accommodating. Mohammad, the night guard, went out of his way when my mother needed some remedies for a painful insect bite. I would like to thank everyone for a wonderful time! Michael and Lisa: please don't ever lose any of these fabulous people!!!

We also enjoyed a few Pimms on the roof terrace with swifts flying over our heads, and lots of bird song. Divine.

Lovely rooms, delicious breakfast and great cocktails!

Highly recommended. Go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.