We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at Dar Charkia with my girlfriend for five nights (three nights in the suite and two nights in one of the "regular" rooms). The experience was nothing short of amazing. The owners, Lisa and Michael, are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about Marrakesh and its surroundings. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on (do yourself a favor and go to El Fassia - you will not regret it!). Oh, and I did mention that they are both really, really nice people?

The riad itself is just perfect, a real oasis of peace and tranquility in the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The rooms are nice and clean but the courtyard was my favorite part of the riad - I loved sitting at one of the little tables at night and drinking tea or wine. The breakfasts are great too - everything is very fresh and tasty. The staff is awesome as well - especially the night guard Mohammed who always greeted us with a big smile on his face and made sure we had everything we needed.

All in all, I would totally recommend Dar Charkia if you are thinking about going to Marrakesh (don't think too long, just do it!). It totally felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
160
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved this riad! What truly made it special were Lisa, Michael, Mohammed (night staff), and the rest of the staff. Excellent service all around. Every morning when we woke up it was very serene and calm, the perfect way to start a crazy and hectic day in Marrakech. Simlarly, Dar Charkia becomes a home a way from home, my boyfriend and I looked forward to spending our late evenings just relaxing by the pool with a late night drink. Mohammed will take good care of you and will even prepare a hookah.

The rooms are very lovely and there were rose petals in the bathtub on our first night, it was the small attention to details that made Dar Charkia so special. Stay here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this perfectly located riad within short walking distance of the Place Jemaa-el-Fna. The welcome was friendly and the briefing to orientate us was really useful. We also thought their recommendations for places to eat where first-rate. The riad is wonderfully decorated and most relaxing. We particularly enjoyed the water features. We were on the ground floor with access into the central courtyard. The bathroom with its wonderful rain-bath shower was a particular pleasure. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Keeping a group of 12 ladies happy, there for a 50th birthday can't be easy but Lisa, Michael and the especially the staff were amazing. The rooms were comfortable and individually decorated. The breakfast service perfect and tea when ever I wanted. Not a single complaint. I would recommend staying at this riad to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our stay at this Riad cannot be described in any other way but I can honestly and simply say that our time spent at Dar Charkia will remain with us forever. From the moment we set foot in the Riad, we were welcomed by the owners Lisa and Michael and taken care of. The service was excellent - the staff were very friendly and ready and willing to assist you with your every need. We were a group of 13 girlfriends celebrating our friend's 50th. Everything was so well organized by Lisa who explained every detail of our stay and where to go and what to do etc... The rooms at the Riad were exquisite and very comfortable. As I always read reviews before traveling to a country I've never been before, I thought I'd take the time to share my experience. It is located in the center where you can get the real feel of Marrakech.The Dar Charkia is a definitely 10/10 stay! I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Marrakech!! Personally, I would never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We had booked all the rooms in the Riad as we were a group of 13 friends. Each and every room had it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

the best riad in Marrakech - simply because I've not stayed anywhere else.... but it has to be on your shortlist and I will explain why.

Many have commented how Lisa and Michael are the perfect hosts. Marrakech is at the same time mad, frenetic, vibrant, fast moving, challenging, ugly, beautiful, real (as in very real), noisy, tranquil, perhaps frightening. Once we had booked Lisa arranged transfers to the Riad and was helpful in making suggestions about trips out and places to eat. All of this and a welcome talk at breakfast was a perfect introduction so that we could make the most of the city.

For returning visitors it is worth mentioning the Riad has a great location in Dar el Bacha, a minute walk from the road and only 5 minutes from the souk.

The riad itself is beautiful, the rooms are a good size and attractively furnished. The "lounge" area has little nooks - perfect for sitting down with a glass of wine. There is a small plunge pool too - though no one used it while we were there.

There is very little to criticise - I perhaps would have dispensed with the piped music in the lounge, and the goose down quilt felt a bit heavy (for me) but that hardly counts as a problem does it! Being a courtyard it can sound a bit echoey around breakfast - but this will be a feature of all riads.

We ate in the Riad on the first night and the food was delicious. We also took lunch there on our last day - and that was even better (in particular the Moroccan tapas).

I hope to put other reviews up about things we did - but Michael and Lisas personal recommendations could not be faulted - and nor could their Riad. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I arranged my 50th Birthday for 13 women, and Dar Charkia was reccomended to us. The instant response by Lisa, her attention to detail and organisational skills were second to none. The Riad became home from home for us all, we had the best food in town in the amazing court yard and terrace. The fact that we booked the whole Riad for 4 nights made it even more special
Their staff, were very very helpful and always available. The boys during the evenings looked after us beyond our expectations, and they even became our personnal DJs
Lisa made all our reservations, arranged all the drivers and even provided us with an Itinerary, with daily reminders of pick up points, times etc. We couldn't fault any of it.
The location is meters away from the Sukes, next to the Palace so shopping for us was easy. Lisa provided us all with maps, clearly outlined with landmarks, suggestions and shopping hot spots.... what else can a woman ask for!!!!
Without a doubt, we fell in love with the Riad, and without a doubt we will be going back. The most beautiful of Riads without a doubt

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.